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Alaska Statutes.
Title 28. Motor Vehicles
Chapter 33. Commercial Motor Vehicles
Section 100. License to Drive Commercial Motor Vehicle.

previous: Section 33. Presumptions and Chemical Analysis of Breath or Blood.
next: Section 110. Notification Requirements For Drivers of Commercial Motor Vehicles.

AS 28.33.100. License to Drive Commercial
Motor Vehicle.

(a) A person may not drive a commercial motor vehicle until the person applies for and is issued a
license for that purpose under AS 28.15.041. The department may not issue a license to drive a
commercial motor vehicle unless the applicant

(1) is at least 19 years of age, to operate in intrastate commerce, or at least 21 years of age, to
operate in interstate commerce;

(2) has held a valid driver's license at least one year before the date of application or meets the
experience qualifications established by the department;

(3) has successfully completed all required driving tests and written and physical examinations;

(4) either does not have a driver's license issued by another jurisdiction or surrenders all
driver's licenses issued by other jurisdictions; and

(5) is domiciled in this state.

(b) In addition to the information required under AS 28.15.111 , a commercial driver's license shall
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include information determined by the United States Secretary of Transportation to be appropriate to
identify the licensee.

(c) A person who has been a state resident for 30 days or longer may not drive a commercial motor
vehicle under the authority of a commercial driver's license issued by another jurisdiction.

(d) The licensing requirements of this section are in addition to the requirements imposed on a school
bus driver under AS 28.15.046 .

(e) The department shall disqualify a person for a period of 60 consecutive days, and shall reevaluate
the person's application or license to drive a commercial motor vehicle, if the department determines
that the person knowingly provided false information required under

(1) this section or AS 28.15 in an application to the department for a commercial driver's
license; or

{(2) AS 28.33.110 (c) in an application for empioyment.
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COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE (CDL)

Endorsements | Medical / Vision | Transferring a CDL | Type

You must be domiciled in the State of Alaska in order to obtain or renew an Alaska CDL. (Domicile = ALASKA MUST be your true, fixed
and permanent home, and principal residence to which you intend to return whenever you are absent.)

If you live in RURAL Alaska, please CLICK HERE for additional information.

Transportation Worker Identification Credentials (TWIC) are issued by the Department of Homeland Security and are not available
through DMV.

@ Commercial Driver Manual
ORIGINAL ALASKA COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE (CDL)

A background check is required if you wish to obtain a hazardous materials endorsement or renew a CDL with a hazardous
materials endorsement.

A commercial driver license (CDL) is required for a resident of Alaska who is driving a vehicle intrastate (19 & above) or interstate (21 &
above) with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,001 pounds or more. If you will be driving a vehicle designed to carry 16 or
more passengers, or transporting hazardous materials, regardless of the GVWR, a CDL is required. A commercial driver may have only
one license and that license must be issued by their home state, Those exempted from the commercial driver licensing requirements
include drivers of recreational, military and emergency vehicles. Farm vehicles are exempt if controlled and pperated by a farmer, used
to transport agricultural products or machinery to and from a farm, not used in for-hire or contract carrier operations, and if driven no
further than 150 miles from the farm.

~ Your social security number is required to obtain a CDL. The commercial driver license fee is $100.00. There is a $25.00 non-
refundable fee for those requiring a road test. Road test appointments may be scheduled in any State DMV office or using our Online
Services. In the Municipality of Anchorage, commercial tests are administered by the Center for Employment Education (CEE). Call
279-8451 for an appointment. Outside the Municipality of Anchorage, please contact your local DMV, schedule your road test online or
click HERE for additional 3rd Party Testers.

An applicant must be at least twenty-one years of age at the time of application and must have held a valid driver license for at least
one year. For an intrastate license, the applicant must be at least ninsteen years of age. An applicant must pass the road, vision and
written test prior to issuance of the CDL. For further information about obtaining a commercial driver license, please address your
questions to: E-mail ALASKA DMV

TRANSFERRING A CDL. FROM ANOTHER STATE

Welcome to Alaskal Please be sure to obtain an Alaska license within 30 days of your arrival if you intend to make Alaska your home.
If you do not have any intention of becoming a resident of Alaska (Seasonal worker, etc.) you must have a valid CDL from your home
state in order to drive a Commercial Motor Vehicle in Alaska.

To transfer a CDL from another state to Alaska, you must:

« Complete an Application for Alaska Driver License, Permit or State Identification (Form 413) and an Application for
Commercial Driver License (Form 415).

« Provide proof of the following: Date of birth, legal name, social security number and your physical address IN ALASKA.

« Surrender your valid license from another state. (Cannot be expired for over 1 year.)

« Pass the written "Rules of the Road" test to convert to an Alaska license.
(20 questions)

« Pass the "Hazardous Materials" test if you have that endorsement and wish to keep it.

Effective January 31, 2005, you are required to pass a background check in order to obtain or retain a hazardous
materials endorsement.

» Pass any knowledge tests for endorsements that you wish to add to your license and do not have on your current license. Some
endorsements require a road test.

« Pass a vision test.

+ Pay the $100.00 fee for an ALASKA CDL.

Note: If your CDL from another state has been expired over one year, you must pass ALL written tests that apply to the type of license
you wish to obtain. A road test is required if the license has been expired over five years.

NEW CDL MEDICAL CARD & VISION REQUIRMENTS
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Please see the following for information on CDL Medical Cards.
FMCSA New Medical Certification Requirements

A Guide for Commercial Driver's License (CDL) Holders
General Information and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Medical Report: DOT FORMS

Vision requirements for a CDL are 20/40 or better. If you do not meet the requirements, you may be eligible for a waiver for
INTRASTATE, ONLY. Vision Waiver Application

TYPES OF COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE'S AND ENDORSEMENTS:

» Class A/CDL - May operate a combination of a motor vehicle and one or more other vehicles with a GCWR of greater than
26,000 pounds where the combined GVWR of the vehicle or vehicles being towed is greater than 10,000 pounds; a holder of a
Class A/CDL license may also operate a Class B/CDL, Class C/CDL, or Class D vehicle. (Examples: 18 wheelers, log trucks)

» Class B/CDL - May operate a motor vehicle with a GVWR of greater than 26,000 pounds, or a motor vehicle with a GVWR of
greater than 26,000 pounds that is towing a vehicle with a GVWR of 10,000 pounds or less; a holder of a Class B/CDL license
may also operate a Class C/CDL or Class D vehicle. (Examples; dump trucks, cement mixer, box trucks, motor coaches)

« Class C/CDL - May operate any single motor vehicle, or a combination of a motor vehicle and one or more other vehicles not
meeting the definitions of Class A/CDL or B/CDL, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver,

or is placarded under hazardous materials regulations in 49 C.F.R. Part 172, Subpart F, revised as of October 1, 2009; a holder of
a Class C/CDL may also operate a Class D vehicle.

ENDORSEMENT CODE, TEST REQUIREMENTS & ENDORSEMENT TYPE

H - Knowledge & Background Check (Background check - Effective 1/31/05)
Hazardous material in placardable amounts.

N - Knowledge - Hauling liquids in bulk (Tank)

P - Knowledge & Skills (road test) - Transporting more than 15 passengers
S - Knowledge & Skills (road test) ~ School Bus

T - Knowledge - Double or Triple Trailers

X - Knowledge & Background Check (Background check - Effective 1/31/05)
Combination of N and H endorsements
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