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Memorandum 
TO:  Representative Cathy Muñoz 
FROM: Chuck Burnham, Legislative Analyst 
DATE:     February 8, 2011 
RE:  Comparing States' Laws on Synthetic Cannabinoids to Selected Alaska Drug Laws 
  LRS Report 11.159 

You asked us for information on states’ laws on synthetic cannabinoids.  Specifically, you asked for 
an account of where such substances appear on states’ schedules of controlled substances and the 
crime classifications and penalties for possessing those substances.  You also asked us to compare 
those other states’ penalties for such crimes to those indicated for possession of substances in 
Alaska’s controlled substance schedules IIA and IIIA. 

We identified 11 states with laws prohibiting the possession of synthetic cannabinoids.1

 

  Classifications and penalties for a first 
criminal offense of possession in these states range from a Class B misdemeanor in Kentucky, which carries a maximum term 
of imprisonment of 90 days and a $250 fine, to an unclassified felony in Georgia, for which an offender is subject to a prison 
sentence of 2-15 years.  In addition to the 11 states that have synthetic cannabinoid prohibitions in place, at least 21 states, 
including Alaska, are currently considering similar legislation. 

In Alaska, as you know, controlled substances are placed on a given level within the schedule of controlled substances based 
on the degree of danger or probable danger a given drug poses to a person or the public.  Those schedules range from “IA,” 
containing the most dangerous substances, to “VIA,” which are perceived to be the least dangerous drugs.  Possession of a 
Schedule IIA controlled substance in Alaska constitutes the crime of “misconduct involving a controlled substance in the 
fourth degree.” That offense is a Class C felony punishable by a maximum of 5 years in prison and a $50,000 fine.  Please note, 
however, that the presumptive sentencing guideline in Alaska is far less severe, and a suspended sentence is possible for a 
first offense.  Possession of a Schedule IIIA controlled substance in Alaska is a Class A misdemeanor for which an offender can 
receive a maximum of 1 year in prison and a $10,000 fine.2

 
 

The attached table summarizes crime classifications and penalties for possessing synthetic cannabinoids in the eleven states 
where that activity has been criminalized, and compares that information to the crime classification and penalties for 
possession of items on Alaska’ controlled substances Schedules IIA and IIIA.  Please note that the penalties listed in our table 
are either maximum sentences or ranges of incarceration periods.  Actual penalties are generally subject to considerable 
discretion by the sentencing courts.  
 
We hope this is helpful.  If you have questions or need additional information, please let us know.   

                                                           
1 Those states are Alabama, Georgia, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Oklahoma, and Tennessee.  

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL), synthetic cannabinoids are “chemically engineered substances, similar to THC—
the active ingredient in marijuana—that, when smoked or ingested, can produce a high similar to marijuana. Initially developed for research related 
to treatment of pain and the effects of cannabis on the brain, these substances have recently become a popular alternative to marijuana.  The NCSL 
maintains information about these substances and states’ responses to the issue at http://www.ncsl.org/?tabid=21398.  

2 Controlled Substance Schedules in Alaska are enumerated at AS § 11.71.140-190. 
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State Citation
Controlled Substance 

Schedule
Crime Classification
(1st Offense--Possession)

Penalty

AS § 11.71.040 
and § 12.55.125

Schedule IIA
(as proposed in HB 7)

Class C felony
Maximum 5 years imprisonment and $50,000 fine 
(presumptive sentence is far less--suspended sentence 
possible)

AS § 11.71.050  Schedule IIIA Class A misdemeanor Maximum 1 year imprisonment and $10,000 fine

Alabama
CA § 13A-12-213
to 14.1 

Not scheduled Class A misdemeanor
Sentencing guidelines:  up to 32 month sentence 
typically allotted by court among probation, community 
corrections, county jail/work release or an alternative

Georgia
OCGA §  16-30-25 
and 16-13-30  

Schedule I Unclassified felony 2-15 years imprisonment

Illinois

720 ILCS § 570/204 
and 402(c) and 730 
ILCS § 5/5-4.5-45 
and 5-4.5-50

Schedule I Class 4 felony 1-3 years imprisonment and $25,000 fine

Kansas
KSA § 21-36a06 
and 4708 

Schedule I
Class A non-person 
misdemeanor

Sentencing guidelines: typically, 10-12 months of 
probation

Kentucky
KRS § 218A.1427 
and 534.040

Schedule I Class B misdemeanor Maximum imprisonment of 90 days and fine of $250

Louisiana LSA § 40:966 Schedule I Unclassified Maximum 6 months in jail and $500 fine
Michigan MCL § 333.7403 Schedule I Unclassified misdemeanor Maximum 1 year imprisonment and $2,000 fine

Mississippi
MC § 41-29-113 and 
139

Schedule I
Unclassified misdemeanor or 
felony depending upon 
amount of drug 

For example, 0.1 grams to 2 grams, up to 2 years 
imprisonment and $50,000 fine; 10-30 grams, 6-24 years 
imprisonment and up to $50,000 fine.

Missouri
MRS § 195.202, 
558.011, and 
560.016 

Schedule I Class A misdemeanor Maximum 1 year imprisonment and $1,000 fine

Oklahoma
OSA 63 § 2-204  
and § 2-402

Schedule I Unclassified felony 2-10 years imprisonment and $5,000 fine

Tennessee TCA  § 39-17-438 Not scheduled Class A misdemeanor Sentencing guidelines--wide latitude to courts

Alaska

Comparing States' Laws on Synthetic Cannabinoids to Selected Alaska Drug Laws

Notes and Source:  This table provides information gleaned from the Lexis  database of state statutes on first offenses for possessing small amounts of synthetic cannabinoids or the 

referenced drug schedule, as applicable.  Please note that a variety of crime-specific circumstances and elements of criminal procedure impact actual sentences.  
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