Novice Driver Safety

Safer Alaskan Roads for Alaskan
Drivers




Cause of death among teenagers
between 1999-2006

Figure 2. Percent distribution of all deaths to teenagers 12-19 years, by cause of death: United States, 1999-2008
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Alaska Statistics for Drivers 14-16 2004-
2008

Motor Vehicle Traffic Crashes Involving Drivers age 14-16, 2004-2008

2004 2005 2006 2007 2008
Crashes 692 592 477 441 437
Property Damage Only 428 377 307 270 288
Minor Injury Crashes 222 191 146 137 127
Major Injury Crashes 37 22 19 28 15
Fatal Crashes 5 2 5 6 7
Non-Fatal Injuries 398 321 256 264 223
Minor Injuries 348 296 228 230 201
Major Injuries 50 25 28 34 22
Fatal Injuries 5 2 5 7 8
Occupants Not Injured 1830 1361 1195 987 1070

Source: State of Alaska, Department of Transportation and Public Facilities, Highway Analysis System (HAS)




Alaska Statistics for drivers ages 16-17 between 2002-2011

The Total Drivers in Fatal Crashes by Age, Alaska 2002-2011

- Fourteen 16 year olds were involved in fatal crashes in Alaska between 2002-2011
- This is 1.3% of the total amount of drivers in fatal crashes

- Eighteen 17 year olds were involved in fatal crashes in Alaska between 2002-
2011

- This is 1.7% of the total amount of drivers in fatal crashes
The total Drivers License in Alaska by Age between 2002-2011

- 61,254 sixteen year olds were licensed, this is 1.2% of the total
- 74,882 seventeen year olds were licensed, this is 1.5% of the total




Provisional Licensed Drivers

Provisional Licensed Drivers are hazardous due to:
Apprehension

Lack of experience

Weather conditions

No drivers education requirement

Alaska’s diversity from other states




Solution

» A person holding a provisional driver's license
shall display in the rear window of each
vehicle operated by the person a sticker
issued by the department that identifies that
the vehicle is operated by a provisional
licensee..

. Garden State .







Why This Solution?

This is a simple solution to benefit Alaskan drivers.

It will impress other driver’s to be more cautious driving
around the novice teen driver

It will provide other drivers the information necessary to
understand the Provisional Licensee’s position

This will assist law enforcement officers in implementing
the law




Enforcement

« Failure to display a sticker as required
by this subsection is an infraction and
may be punished by a fine of not more
than $300. .




Procedures

» The state of Alaska will supply the Department of
Motor Vehicles with stickers to distribute to those
persons acquiring an Provisional License

» Those acquiring a Provisional License will pay for the
sticker as part of the permitting process.

» Sticker will be placed on the rear window of the
operating vehicle
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Summary

Teen drivers with Provisional License are statistically
more hazardous to themselves and other Alaskans

Require Provisional drivers to identify their status

Reduce the number of accidents and infractions in
Alaska, and help save Alaskan lives
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