DL-398 (3-09)

MILITARY COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSE (CDL)
SKILLS TEST WAIVER APPLICATION

MU$™ = A PENNSYLVANIA RESIDENT TQ APPLY

pennsylvania

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

+  Applicant must complete Sections A, B, and D. Section C needs to he completed if military license does not clearly define the type(s) of vehicle(s)

authorized to operate,
+  See reverse side for REQUIRED ORIGINAL documents {(b(2)) needed in section C below.

l A1 APPLICANT INFORMATION List all information as it appears on your Pennsylvania Driver’s License or Learner’s Permit

DRIVER'S LICENSE NUMBER LAST NAME JRUETC
FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME
DATE OF BIRTH TELEPHONE NUMBER (8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.) E-MAIL ADDRESS
MONTH DAY YEAR

[ B| CERTIFICATION

| certify that subject to the limitations and requirements of 49 CFR 383.77 (relating to the substitute for driving skills
tests), | meet all certifications required for waiver under 49 CFR 383.77 and certify the following:

1. | certify that | am a member of the active or reserve components of any branch or unit of the armed forces
of the United States or a veteran who received an honorable discharge from any branch or unit of the active
or reserve components of the armed forces of the United States.. .. ........ .. oot L

2. | certify that | am or was regularly employed in a position in the armed forces of the United States
requiring operation of a commercial motorvehicle, ... ... .. L

o0 certify that | legally operated, for at least two years immediately preceding application for a commercial
driver’s license, a vehicle representative of the commercial motor vehicle that | operate or expect to operate
either under exemption from this Commonwealth’s commercial driver’s license requirement provided by the
Pennsylvania Vehicle Code, Title 75 Section 1607(b)(2) (relating to requirement for commercial driver’s license)

or the equivalent exemption of another state or while on active duty in a foreign jurisdiction. . ................ L

[E- DRIVER QUALIFICATION REPORT (Authorized Military Personnel MUST complete if military license does
not clearly define type(s) of vehicle authorized to drive; see reverse side for the required original
documents to process DL-398 Military CDL Skills Test Waiver.)

| certify that meets the Federal Motor Carrier Safety
Applicant Name

Regulations contained in 49 CFR 383.113(a,b,c)(1,2) relating to “Required Skills” and also meets the requirements contained in 49 CFR 383.135(b)
relating to “Minimum Passing Scores” for a commercial driver’s license. Your signature certifies that the above named applicant has successfully
performed the required skills and has achieved the minimum passing score necessary to operate a commercial motor vehicle as prescribed in the
Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations 49 CFR 383,113 and 40 CFR 383.135.

Signature of Provost Marshall/Company Commander/Department Head/QIC Print Name

Title Location Phone Number Date

| D| SIGNATURE

| certify under penalty of law that all information given on this application is true and correct. | hereby acknowledge this day that | have received notice
of the provisions of Section 3709 of the Vehicle Code. (See reverse for provisions.)

APPLICANT SIGNATURE PHONE NUMBER DATE

WARNING: Misstatement of fact is a misdemeanor of the third degree punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and/or imprisonment up to 1 year (18 PA
C.S., Section 4804(b)).




DL-398 (3-09)

How to Obtain Your CDL Learner’'s Permit

You must be a Pennsylvania resident to apply for a Pennsylvania CDL Learner’s Permit. To apply for a CDL Learner’s Permit.

»-Complete the DL-31CD Form (Application for CDL. Learner’s Permit), available on PennDQOT’s Driver and Vehicle Services Web site,
ww.dmv.state.pa.us.

¢ Mail your completed DL-31CD Form with appropriate fee to the Bureau of Driver Licensing, P.O. Box 68272, Harrisburg, PA 17106-8272.

* When you receive the Knowledge Test Authorization Letter, you may visit your nearest Driver License Center to take the applicable
knowledge tests.

o Atfter all required knowledge testing is complete, please refer to the “Required Original Documents to Process DL-398 Military CDL Skills Test
Waiver” section below.

NOTE: If your Pennsylvania Driver’s License expires within the next six months, you will be required to renew your Pennsylvania CDL or Non-CDL
before your application for a CDL Learner's Permit can be processed.

Required Original Documents to Process DL-398 Military CDL Skills Test Waiver

You must submit a completed DL-398 Form (Application for Military CDL Skills Test Waiver), to upgrade to a CDL or upgrade your current CDL
privilege. To obtain a DL-388 Form, visit PennDOT's Driver and Vehicle Services Web site, www.dmv.state.pa.us, and select the Forms and
Publications link at the top of the home page. Once you've completed the DL-398 Form, you must visit your near Driver License Center with the
following original documents.

Required Documents
a) Valid PA Non-CDL or CDL

b) Military Driver's License that clearly defines the types of vehicles you are/were authorized to drive. If not clearly defined, additional
documentation is required such as:

1) Verification of Mifitary Experience and Training Document (VMET) that clearly defines the types of vehicles you are/were authorized to drive,
that lists the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GYWR), Gross Vehicle Weight (GYW), and if the vehicle(s) are equipped with air brakes that you
are/were licensed to operate in the military (this form can be obtained by military personnel only by visiting www.dmdg.osd.mil), or:

2) Documentation of the types of vehicles you operated or are/were licensed to operate in the military, that lists the Gross Vehicle Weight Rating
(GVWR), Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW), and if the vehicle(s) are equipped with air brakes that you are/were licensed to operate in the military.
The explanations need to be on military letterhead, signed by your Provost Marshall, Company Commander, Department Head or OIC and
section C on the DL-398 Form must be completed by your Provost Marshall, Company Commander, Department Head or OIC.

c) DD-2 {Active Duty Military 1D Card) or DD-214 (within 2 years of Honorable Discharge)
d) DL-398 (Application for Military CDL Skills Test Waiver)

How to Transfer Your Out-of-State Driver’s License to Pennsylvania

To qualify for the Military CDL Skills Test Waiver, you must be a Pennsylvania resident. Please visit the New Resident/Relocating Information Center on
PennDOT's Driver and Vehicle Services Web site, www.dmv.state.pa.us, and select “Moving into Pennsylvania” link or contact PennDOT’s Customer
Call Center at; 1-800-932-4600, TDD 1-800-228-0676 (in state); or 1-717-412-5300, TDD 1-717-412-5380 (out-of-state). You will also need to complete
the DL-180R Form for Non-CDL or DL-180RCD Form for CDL transfers. These forms are available on PennDOT's Driver and Vehicle Services Web

site, or may be obtained by visiting your nearest Driver License Center. You must appear in person at a Driver License Center to transfer your out-of-
state driver's license to Pennsylvania, Driver License Centers only accept check or money order for payment. If you have lost your out-of-state driver’s
license, you must contact your home state DMV to obtain an original Driver Abstract.

SECTION 3709 OF THE VEHICLE CODE

Section 3709 provides for a fine of up to $300 for dropping, throwing or depositing, upon any highway, or upon any other public or private property
without the consent of the owner thereof or into or on the waters of this Commonwealth, from a vehicle, any waste paper, sweepings, ashes,
household waste, glass, metal, refuse or rubbish or any dangerous or detrimental substance, or permitting any of the preceding without immediately
rernoving such items or causing their removal.

For any violation of Section 3709, 1 may be subject to a fine of up to $300 upon conviction, including any violation resulting from the conduct of any
other persons present within any vehicle of which | am the driver.



