Geothermal State Leasing

(Taken from www.geothermal.org)


Alaska

Legislative Reference: Alaska Administrative Code 41.06.40 – 41.06.60; Alaska Statutes - Alaska Public Lands Act, Section 38.910, Section 38.05.181 – 38.05.182

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  Department of Natural Resources Division of Lands

Leasing:   Leasing is by competitive bid in areas designated by the Commissioner of the Department of Natural Resources.  On state land that has not been declared a competitive geothermal area or withdrawn from geothermal prospecting, the commissioner may issue a prospecting permit to the first qualified bidder.  Upon discovery of geothermal resources in commercial quantities the permit maybe converted to a noncompetitive lease.

Lease Terms:  
	Primary:  10 years
	Renewal:  5 years if engaged in drilling and thereafter for duration of commercial 
		production
	Rentals:  $3.00 per acre per year
	Royalties:  10 – 15 % of gross revenue derived for products, sale, or use of
		geothermal resources under the lease.  Royalties may be taken in kind if in the
		best interest of the state.


Arizona

Legislative Reference:  Legislative Reference Title 12  Natural Resources  Article 22 Geothermal Resource  R12-5-2201 to R12-5-2217

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  State Land Department

Leasing:  Leasing is by competitive bid

Lease Terms:
	Primary:  10 years
	Renewal:  As long as production is maintained
	Rentals:  $1.00 per acre per year
	Royalties:  Not less than 12.5 % of the market value




California

Legislative Reference:  California Public Resource Code 6901-6925.2

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  State Lands Commission

Leasing:  Leasing is by competitive bid in areas selected for lease by the commission.  Prospecting permits are available and may be convertible to a lease upon discovery with such terms as specified in 6913.

Lease Terms:
	Primary:  10 years
	Renewal:  Yes, for so long as geothermal resources are being or capable of being
		produced or utilized in commercial quantities
	Rentals:  $1.00 per acre per year escalating, or prospecting permit
	Royalties:  Not less than 10 % of gross revenue
		Not less than 20 % of gross revenue of mineral products 
		The Commissioner may provide for a royalty of less than 10 % for direct 
		heat applications.


Colorado

Legislative Reference:  Colorado Statutes Title 36  Natural Resources 36-1-115  Development of oil, gas, or geothermal resources areas.
36-1-147  Geothermal Leases.

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  State Board of Land Commissioners

Leasing:  Leases issued by the State Board of Land Commissioners may be awarded as the result of negotiation or competitive bidding. 36-1-113 (2)

Lease Terms:  
	Primary:  Set in lease
	Renewal:  For as long as production continues
	Rentals:  Set in lease
	Royalties:  Set in lease


Hawaii

Legislative Reference:  Hawaii Administrative Rules Title 13  Department of Land and Natural Resources  Subtitle 7  Water and Land Development  Chapter 183  Rules on Leasing and Drilling Geothermal Resources 

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  Department of Land and Natural Resources  
Leasing:  Leases on state land shall be granted only on a competitive bid basis.  Leasing on reserved land may be granted on a competitive bid basis by public auction or without auction to the occupier or to his assignee upon a vote of two-thirds of the Board members.  Exploration permits are also available on any state or reserved land.

Lease Terms:  
	Primary:  10 years
	Renewal:  For up to a maximum of 65 years
	Rentals:  Set by Board
	Royalties:  Determined by the Board
		Royalties on by-products not less than 5 %	
	

Idaho

Legislative Reference:  Idaho Statutes Title 47  Mines and Mining   Chapter 16 Geothermal Resources  47-1601 to 47-1611   Administrative Code 20.03.15 to 20.03.120

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  State Board of Land Commissioners

Leasing:  Leasing is by competitive bid in areas designated by the Director of the Department of Lands as being in a Known Geothermal Resource Area (KGRA) or where there is competitive interest, i.e. two or more applications are received on the same day for the same site.  Other areas are available on a noncompetitive basis. 

Lease Terms:  
	Primary:  10 years
	Renewal:  The primary term can be extended if lessee is actively engaged in drilling 
		once geothermal resources are proved or utilized in paying quantities.  The
		lease shall be extended but in no event for more than 40 years.  After the end of
		the primary term, the lessee has preferential right to renewal for a second 40
		years.
	Rentals:  	$1.00 per acre per year – first five years
			$2.00 per acre per year – second five years
			$3.00 per acre per year – thereafter
	Royalties:  10 % of the amount of value of geothermal resource, 5 % of the
		associated byproducts.


Kansas

No leasing regulations for geothermal.



Montana

Legislative Reference:  Montana Code Annotated 2001 77-4-101 to 77-4-109, 77-4-121 to 77-4-129; Administrative Rule of Montana 36.25.103 and 104; Subchapter 4  
Geothermal Rules and Regulations 36.25.401 to 36.25.413

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  Board of Land Commissioners 

Leasing:  All leasing is by competitive bid.  If at the lease sale, no bid is made on the tract for which an application was made, the applicant may negotiate with the Board.

Lease Terms:
	Primary:  10 years
	Renewal:  The lease will continue in effect beyond the primary ten years if the
lessee is engaged in drilling for geothermal resources.  The lease shall continue in force so long as geothermal resources in paying quantities are produced.
Rentals:  $1.00 per acre per year
Royalty:  10 % of the gross revenue; minimum $2.00 per acre per year


Nebraska

Legislative Reference:  Nebraska State Statutes  Section 66-1101 to 66-1106

Nebraska has not developed any provisions for leasing of state lands for geothermal exploration and development.  However, for minerals as well and oil and gas, leasing competition is by competitive auction.


Nevada

Legislative Reference:  Nevada Revised Statutes 534A.010; 534A.050

No leasing regulations for geothermal development.
For leasing, see Lands, Contract Department.


New Mexico

Legislative Reference:  New Mexico Annotated Code  Title 19 Chapter 14-1; Title 19 Chapter 2-7; Title 19 Chapter 13-7 to 13-12

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  New Mexico State Lands Office

Leasing:  Leases are available on a non-competitive basis.  However, the Commissioner of Public Lands may at his discretion reject any application and offer the tract or tracts at public auction.  Lands classified as “known geothermal fields” are leased through public auction through either sealed or oral bidding procedure.

Lease Terms:  
	Primary:  5 years
	Renewal:  Primary term can be renewed for additional 5 years and thereafter so
		long as geothermal resources are being produced or utilized or are capable
		of being produced or utilized in commercial quantities.
	Rentals:  $1.00 per acre or fraction thereof per year.  Escalates to $5.00 per acre
		per year after primary lease term.
	Royalties:  10 % of the gross revenue from the sale or use of steam, brines or hot
		water, associated gases or other forms of heat or energy derived from
		production with a minimum of $2.00 per acre or fraction thereof per year.  
		A royalty of not less than 2 % nor more than 5 % of the gross revenue
		received for the sale of mineral products or chemical compounds
		recovered from geothermal fluids.
		A royalty of 8 % of the net revenue for the operation of an energy
		producing plant on the leased land.
		A royalty of not less than 2 % nor more than 10 % of the gross revenue 
		received from the operation of the geothermal resource for recreational, 
		space heating, or health purposes.


North Dakota

Legislative Reference:  North Dakota Century Code  Chapter 38-19

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  The State Industrial Commissioner – Office of the State Geologist

Leasing:  Leases are negotiated.


Oklahoma

Legislative Reference:  Oklahoma Statutes  Title 64 Public Lands

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  The Land Office

Leasing:  The Commissioners of the Land Office have not adopted specific rules and regulations relating to the leasing of school or other public lands for the purpose of geothermal exploration and development.




Oregon

Legislative Reference:  Oregon Revised Statues (ORS)   Chapters 522 and 273, Oregon Administrative Rules 141-075

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  The Division of State Lands

Leasing:  Leases are available on both competitive and non-competitive bases.  Geothermal exploration permits are also available, but allow only for nonexclusive access to land for geothermal exploration.

Lease Terms:  
	Primary:  10 years
	Renewal:  5 years extension if resource discovery has been made or is imminent.
		No lease shall exceed 50 years; lessee has right of first refusal in the
		event the Division decides to continue leasing.
	Rentals:  Years 1 – 3: 	$1.00 per acre
		Year 4:  $3.00 per acre
		Years 5 – 10:  $5.00 per acre
		Renewal geothermal lease:  $5.00 per acre
	Royalties:  A royalty of at least 10 % upon the production value of the geothermal
		resources produced under the lease and sold or utilized by the lessee.  The 
		production value shall be determined by the gross sale price paid by the 
		plant or other purchaser for value.
	Royalties on By-Products:  1 % of the gross sale price of de-mineralized
		water sold, exchanged or otherwise disposed of.


South Dakota

Legislative Reference:  South Dakota Codified Laws  Chapter 5-1-2, 5-1-7, 5-7-19 to 25

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  Department of Schools and Public Lands

Leasing:  Leasing is on a competitive basis by public auction; the commissioner retains the right to reject any or all bids.

Lease Terms:  
	Primary:  10 years
	Renewal:  So long as resources are produced from the leased lands
	Rental:  Not less than $1.00 per acre per year.
	Royalty:  Not less than 10 % of the gross value received from the sale of steam 
		brines at the point of delivery to the purchaser. 
		A 5 % royalty of the gross revenue from sale of mineral products or 
		chemical compounds recovered from geothermal fluid or chemical 
		compounds.


Texas
Legislative Reference:  Texas Natural Resources Code (TNRC) – Title 5 Chapter 141 and Chapter 51.192
Agency Responsible for Leasing:  Railroad Commission, Commissioner of the General Land Office
Leasing:  All leasing is by competitive bid.

Lease Terms:
	Primary:  Generally 3-5 years
	Renewable:  As long as actively pursuing development.  Thereafter so long as
		productive.
	Rentals:  Established at the time of bid or negotiated thereafter.
	Royalties:  Established at the time of bid or negotiated thereafter.


Utah

Legislative Reference:  Utah Code  Section 73-22-1 to 73-22-9, and 59-12-02

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  Utah School and Institutional Trust Lands Administration

Leasing:  In known geothermal areas lands have been withdrawn and are available for sealed bid competitive leasing upon nomination by a potential lessee.  Non-withdrawn lands are available from over-the-counter leasing.

Lease Terms:
	Primary:  10 years
	Renewable:  Primary term extendable if spudding or drilling wells.  The lease is			extendable indefinitely so long as in production.
	Rentals:  $1.00 per acre per year escalates to $4.00 per acre per year after expiration 
		of primary lease term.
	Royalties:  10% on production or minimum of $4.00 per acre per year.


Washington

Legislative Reference:  Revised Code of Washington  Chapter 79.76, 79.12, 79.13, 79.01, 79.02, Washington Annotated Code 332-22

Agency Responsible for Leasing:  Department of Natural Resources, Division of Lands

Leasing:  Leasing may be by competitive bid or negotiation.

Lease Terms: 
	Primary:  10 years
	Renewal:  Up to 55 years subject to approval every 5 years upon approval of plan of
		Development.
	Rentals:  Years 1 to 5, not less than $1.25 per acre per year or $250, whichever is
		greater; years 6 to 10, not less than $2.00 per acre per year or $500, whichever
		is greater.
	Royalties:  10 % of the gross proceeds received from the sale of such geothermal
		resources which are derived, generated or manufactured from the premises
		sufficient for commercial sales, and 10 % of the fair market value thereof
		of products utilized but not sold, and 10 % of the gross proceeds for all
		byproducts derived from the leasehold estate.


Wyoming

Wyoming has never adopted rules and regulations for geothermal leasing.  General leasing provisions are found in Wyoming Statutes Title 36 Chapter 5 (36-5-101) Qualification of lessees; lease terms; rental.

