State Dental Loan Repayment Programs

Examples from Other States

Alabama

The Board of Dental Scholarship Awards was established to provide scholarships and scholarship loans for the education of qualified applicants for admission to dental schools in Alabama who agreed to practice in underserved areas. Repayment could be based on service alone, or on a combination of service and payments, depending on the location of the practice, rural verses urban, and the duration of time in that practice. The terms of various types of repayment are set out in the law.

Arizona

In exchange for loan repayment, a primary care provider shall contract with the Department to provide full-time continuous services at a specific eligible service site for a minimum of 24 months. Requires: a signed contract for current or prospective employment at an eligible service site or a letter of intent of employment at an eligible service site; A contract with the Department to serve full-time providing primary care services at the eligible service site for a minimum of 24 months, with 12-or 24-month contract extensions available upon mutual agreement with the individual in the senior leadership position at the service site; Agreement to work at least 32 of the minimum 40 hours per week; provider to charge for services at the usual and customary rates in the primary care area, except that patients unable to pay are to be charged a reduced rate according to the service site's sliding-fee scale or not charged; Agreement not to discriminate on basis of patient's ability to pay for care or the payment source, including Medicare or AHCCCS, &; Agreement to accept assignment for payment under Medicare & to participate in AHCCCS.

Arkansas

The state provides a forgivable loan program to assist Arkansas dental students attending specified out-of-state health and medical professional schools.  The loans may be forgiven at the rate of one (1) year's loan for one (1) year's practice in Arkansas.

California

Provides loan repayment to recent dental school graduates who practice for three years in a community clinic or office in an underserved area. A "Dentally underserved area" is eligible for designation via the federal shortage designation criteria defined Title 42, Chapter I, Part, Appendix B (Criteria for Designation of Areas Having Shortages of Dental Professionals) or an area where unmet needs exist as determined by the state. Loan repayments are limited to ($105,000) per individual.  After completing one year of service, $25,000 is awarded.  After two consecutive years, $35,000 is awarded, for a total loan repayment of up to $60,000. After three consecutive years, $45,000 is awarded, for a total loan repayment of up to $105,000.

Colorado

The state dental loan repayment program pays all or part of the principal, interest, and related expenses of the educational loans of each eligible dental professional who agrees to provide care to underserved populations for at least 2 years. Funding includes moneys credited to the tobacco litigation settlement fund to extent available, appropriations from state general fund, and other public & private donations.

Delaware

The State Loan Repayment Program for Dentists and Physicians is designed to recruit physicians and dentists to underserved areas of the state by repaying a portion of their educational debt in exchange for their commitment to practice in underserved area.  The dental component was launched in 2001.  

Idaho

The Rural Health Care Access Fund provides grants to improve access to primary care medical services in areas designated as primary care health professional shortage areas and medically underserved areas.  Individual grant awards are limited to $35,000, direct and indirect costs, per year.

Applicants may propose projects for funding for up to three years. 
Illinois

Provides grants to Illinois students enrolled or accepted in Illinois dental schools, and who contract to practice dentistry in a designated shortage area in the State.  Student must be certified by the school as being eligible to receive financial aid.  Upon the Illinois licensure of the student to practice dentistry, the student shall serve as a general practice dentist in a designated shortage area in the State. The term of this service shall be as provided in the Dental Student Grant Act.

Indiana

The Indiana health care professional recruitment and retention fund provides loan repayment for student loans up to $40,000 ($20,000 per year) incurred by dentists agreeing to serve a two-year stint in federally designated shortage area or an area approved by the state as underserved.

Maine

The Finance Authority of Maine awards up to 3 loans or loan repayment agreements annually up to an aggregate of 12. Under the program, loans may be awarded to Maine residents who have been accepted into dental school. If, upon completing dental education, the loan recipient elects to practice dentistry in an area determined to be underserved, the loan recipient may be forgiven a 25% portion of the loan per year after executing a loan repayment agreement.

Maryland

Maryland's new law provides up to $100,000 total loan assistance over a three-year period, during which a dentist accepts 30% of his/her caseload from the Medicaid-eligible population. Assistance is limited to 5 dentists per year for a total of 15 dentists over the three-year program.

Minnesota

Students accepted into the program serve at least three years during which at least 25 percent of the patient encounters are state public program enrollees or patients receiving sliding fee schedule discounts.  The state pays $10,000 per year up to four years, not to exceed the lesser of $40,000 or the balance of the qualifying loans.

Missouri

Dentists and dental school students enrolled in their final year of course study may participate in the Health Professional Student Loan Repayment Program. The maximum amount of repayment assistance is not to exceed the maximum allowed under the National Health Services Corps Repayment Program.

Program participants must agree to see all patients regardless of their ability to pay.  Students breaching contracts will be responsible for damages incurred by the Department of Health and legal costs incurred in the collection of damages.

Nebraska

Pays educational expenses and repay loans for dental students who agree to practice in a designated health profession shortage area, within 3 months of graduation.  The amount of financial assistance is limited $80,000 over the course of schooling. Each loan repayment recipient agrees to provide services for at least 3 years and accept Medicaid patients. Failure to complete the 3-year commitment, without good cause, results in repaying outstanding amount plus 25% of the amount of financial assistance received.

Nevada

Under the Western Regional Higher Education Compact (agreement among 13 western states & NV), a dentist receives a support fee, 25% of which is a loan to be repaid by the dental graduate.  Practicing in a medically underserved area of this state for at least 2 years results in a forgiveness of the loan balance (25% of the support fee). If a person returns to this state under the compact, but does not practice in a medically underserved area of this state for at least 2 years, the state assesses a default charge and interest. (Chapter 397 of NRS)

North Dakota

The state annually selects up to three dentists who enter a four-year nonrenewable contract where education loans are repaid in exchange for the dentist(s) agreeing to practice in underserved communities identified by the state health council. The council establishes a priority ranking for participation in the program for the selected communities.  Dentists are eligible to receive funds for the repayment of their education loans, which may not exceed eighty thousand dollars per applicant over a four-year period.  2007 S 2152 was enacted. Enacts provisions for a dentist to receive school loan repayments as an incentive to practice: the practice cannot be within a

15 mile radius of Bismarck, Fargo or Grand Forks (the largest cities in ND), the dentist must receive medical assistant reimbursement for dental care of at least $20,000 or must practice at least 2 days a week at a public health clinic or at a nonprofit dental clinic that uses a sliding fee schedule to bill the nonprofit dental clinic's patients.

Ohio

The dentist loan repayment program provides up to $20,000 per year in loan repayment assistance for new dentists who agree to practice at least 40 hours per week in a designated dental health professional shortage area and treat patients regardless of their ability to pay. The program will be funded with a $20 increase in dentists' licensing fees, government funding and private contributions.

Oklahoma

The state will establish loan repayment assistance up to $25,000 per year for up to five dentists who agree to practice in a designated Dental Health Professional Shortage Area (DHPSA) in the state and agree to provide dental care and services to Medicaid recipients.  Dentists¹ performance will be reviewed after a two-year period to determine eligibility to continue in the program for an additional three years.

Rhode Island

Provides educational loan repayment for healthcare professionals committed to working in primary care health professional shortage areas or dental health professional shortage areas.  Requires a two year commitment to provide full-time services at a site that has been approved for funding.

Must charge for professional services at the usual and customary rates prevailing in the areas in which such services are provided. If a person is unable to pay such charge, they¹ll be charged a reduced rate or no fee.  The professional also must serve full time (40 hours per week), with no more than 20% of the time devoted to administrative work and agree not to discriminate on the basis of the ability of the individual to pay for such care or on the basis that payment for such care will be made through Medicare or Medicaid.  The professional must enter into an appropriate agreement with the State agency that administers Medicaid.

South Carolina

Each loan or scholarship lasts for a period of one year only. However, recipients who successfully complete the related year of study have first priority on unobligated funds for renewal of the loan or scholarship for the succeeding year.  Each loan or scholarship has two parts:  (1) Payment of tuition and other school related expenses up to a total of $5000 per year, and (2) an allowance of $100 per month for living expenses.  Requires practice in a county with a dentist ratio of not more than one dentist for each four thousand people.  For each year an applicant benefits from a loan or scholarship s/he is required to practice in the underserved county.

Applicants who receive a scholarship or loan for four years are only required to practice in a county for three years, at the end of which time the loan is considered paid in full.

South Dakota

Provides that up to 3 dentists are eligible to receive tuition reimbursement payments if the licensed to practice dentistry and (s)he agrees to practice general dentistry in an eligible community for a minimum period of three years.  

Texas

Texas makes annual repayment(s) within a time frame determined by the Board upon the dentist's completion of each twelve-month service period.  Dentists must complete at least one year of dental practice in an area of the state that is underserved with respect to dental care.  A dentist may receive up to $10,000 repayment assistance grants for each of not more than five years. 
Utah

Creates a new Utah Health Care Workforce offering loan repayment & scholarship grants for dentists, who locate or continue to practice in underserved areas. The Program will have an advisory committee one member of which will be a member of the Utah Dental Association.

Virginia

The dental loan repayment program provides incentives to dental students agreeing to practice in underserved areas designated by the State Board of Health through criteria derived by comparing population data, dentist population and dental health professional shortage areas determined by the federal HHS department.  Preference will be given to graduates of Virginia Commonwealth University's School of Dentistry.  Scholarship recipients may receive a max of five scholarships. The award(s) equal one-year in-state tuition at Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry for the year in which the loan was acquired.

Wisconsin

To benefit from loan assistance, the dentist must agree to provide dental services to at least 50 unduplicated medical assistance or badger care recipients, not to fall below a minimum of $8,000 in claims paid.  In year two of the dentist's agreement, the dentist must see at least 70 unduplicated medical assistance or badger care recipients, not falling below $11,000 in claims paid. Year three, the dentist must provide dental services to at least 90 recipients, with a minimum claim amount of $15,000.

Wyoming

Will pay the cost of dental education for up to 10 dental students per year in exchange for their agreeing to practice for up to 3 years on patients eligible for medical assistance or the child and parent health insurance program. If the student fails to fulfill the terms of the agreement then the costs of education are repayable to the state of Wyoming.
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