PROVISIONS FOR LOAN FORGIVENESS/SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS
Information derived from state statutes, requlations and various reports about
programs that provide loan benefits and scholarship assistance in return for serving
defined low-access communities or populations

More than half of the states have some kind of loan forgiveness / scholarship

assistance programs in place.

States vary on the delivery and amount of the incentives. Some states provide
scholarships while other state incentive programs pay off the loan after graduation.
Either wayj, it is the equivalent of students not having to pay for some or all of dental
school with the agreement that they will practice for a set amount of time in a manner
that 1s intended to reduce access problems.

Overview of States:

The framework of each state law is basically the same—a contract with a limited
number of dentists to perform dental services in an area designated underserved for a
period of time (2-5 years). The amounts allocated per provider range from about
$20,000 total to $125,000. The laws are pretty broad with respect to practice location
and patients served—but are consistent in that they require that underserved patients
be the focus of care delivery.

For instance, Arizona requires the dentists to serve full-time providing primary care
services at eligible service sites. Many states use the federal designation Dental
Health Professional Shortage Area (i.e. California, Indiana, Oklahoma and
Washington D.C.) to determine where a dentist must locate. Minnesota dentists
must agree to deliver at least 25 percent of the annual patient encounters to state
public program enrollees or patients receiving sliding fee schedule discounts through
a formal sliding fee schedule.

Presented here is a state-by-state summary of their loan forgiveness / scholarship
grant programs. While the information contained in this document is of general
interest the information presented here is a snapshot at a particular point in time. One
cannot rely solely on this document as being a comprehensive and up-to-date list of
states that have such provisions. For specific details on a particular state please
contact the state dental society.

underserved areas. Repayment could be
Alabama based on service alone, or on a combination of
The Board of Dental Scholarship Awards was service and payments, depending on the
established to provide scholarships and location of the practice, rural verses urban,
scholarship loans for the education of qualified and the duration of time in that practice. The
applicants for admission to dental schools in terms of various types of repayment are set
Alabama who agreed to practice in out in the law. The law was amended in 2007

(C) American Dental Association
Department of State Government Affairs
Loan Forgiveness Incentives Statelist
December 9, 2009



to create the “Rural Dental Health Scholars
Program” to provide for loans and scholarships
to both high school and dental students who
are interested in practicing in rural areas of the
state.

Arizona
Requires primary care provider to contract with
the Department to provide full-time continuous
services at a specific eligible service site for a
minimum of 24 months. Requires: a signed
contract for current or prospective employment
at an eligible service site or a letter of intent of
employment at an eligible service site; A
contract with the Department to serve full-time
providing primary care services at the eligible
service site for a minimum of 24 months, with
12-or 24-month contract extensions available
upon mutual agreement with the individual in
the senior leadership position at the service
site; Agreement to work at least 32 of the
minimum 40 hours per week; provider to
charge for services at the usual and customary
rates in the primary care area, except that
patients unable to pay are to be charged a
reduced rate according to the service site's
sliding-fee scale or not charged; Agreement
not to discriminate on the basis of a patient's
ability to pay for care or the payment source,
including Medicare or AHCCCS, and,
Agreement to accept assignment for payment
under Medicare and to participate in AHCCCS.

Arkansas
The state provides a forgivable loan program
to assist Arkansas dental students attending
specified out-of-state health and medical
professional schools. The loans may be
forgiven at the rate of one (1) year's loan for
one (1) year's practice in Arkansas.

California
Provides loan repayment to recent dental
school graduates who practice for three years
in a community clinic or office in an
underserved area. A "Dentally underserved
area" is eligible for designation via the federal
shortage designation criteria defined Title 42,
Chapter |, Part, Appendix B (Criteria for
Designation of Areas Having Shortages of
Dental Professionals) or an area where unmet
needs exist as determined by the state. Loan
repayments are limited to ($105,000) per
individual. After completing one year of
service, $25,000 is awarded. After two
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consecutive years, $35,000 is awarded, for a
total loan repayment of up to $60,000. After
three consecutive years, $45,000 is awarded,
for a total loan repayment of up to $105,000.
Program extended until July 1, 2012 in 2009 S
599.

Colorado
The state dental loan repayment program pays
all or part of the principal, interest, and related
expenses of the educational loans of each
eligible dental professional who agrees to
provide care to underserved populations for at
least 2 years. Funding includes moneys
credited to the tobacco litigation settlement
fund to the extent available, appropriations
from state general fund, as well as other public
and private donations. Section 25-23-104 (1),
C.RS.

Connecticut
Connecticut pays for part or all of qualifying
educational loans (principal, interest and
related expenses for dentists and hygienists).
$15,000 per year, for minimum of 2 years and
up to four (4) years with an extension in
Community Health Centers and other eligible
primary care sites in the state, designated by
the federal government as Medically
Underserved Areas (MUA) and as Health
Professional Shortage Areas HPSA). Work
time requirements under the Connecticut
SLRP program are for a minimum of 40
hours/wk, (max of 8 hrs may be practice-
related administrative activities).

Delaware
The State Loan Repayment Program for
Dentists and Physicians is designed to recruit
physicians and dentists to underserved areas
of the state by repaying a portion of their
educational debt in exchange for their
commitment to practice in underserved area.
The dental component was launched in 2001.

Georgia
Provides loan assistance to dentists who
agree to practice full time (minimum 40 hours /
weeKk) in rural areas of the state. The dentist
must maintain a Georgia Medicaid number and
actively treat Medicaid patients.

The contracts with the "Dentists for Rural
Areas Assistance Program” will be for one



year, renewable up to three times for a total of
4 years. The amount of the award shall be
determined by the State Medical Education
Board (SMEB) annually.

If the dentist defaults the penaity shall be
immediate liability for two times the originai
principal amount of the loan award.

Hawaii
A Hawaii law enacted in 2008 establishes the
Hawaii Health Corps Program working group;
provides for the development of a plan to
establish a program for tuition loan
repayments and stipends for physician and
dentist participants serving in underserved
areas; provides that priority placement in the
program will be for graduates of the John A.
Burns School of Medicine; requires
participants to commit and serve as first
responders in the event of a declared
emergency.

Idaho

The Rural Health Care Access Fund provides
grants to improve access to primary care
medical services in areas designated as
primary care health professional shortage
areas and medically underserved areas.
Individual grant awards are limited to $35,000,
direct and indirect costs, per year. Applicants
may propose projects for funding for up to
three years. Title 39, Chapter 59, Idaho Code.

Hlinois
Provides grants to lilinois students enrolied or
accepted in lllinois dental schools, and who
contract to practice dentistry in a designated
shortage area in the State. Student must be
certified by the school as being eligible to
receive financial aid. Upon the lilinois
licensure of the student to practice dentistry,
the student shall serve as a general practice
dentist in a designated shortage area in the
State. The term of this service shall be as
provided in the Dental Student Grant Act.

2007 S 387 was enacted. Creates the Loan
Repayment Assistance for Dentists Act (110
ILCS 948). Requires the Department of Public
Health to establish an educational loan
repayment assistance program for dentists
who practice in designated shortage areas in
this State for 2 years. There law enumerates
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requirements of participation and the penalty is
to repay the amount of the benefit received if
the dentist does not fulfill the terms agreed
upon. The law was amended in 2009 by
adding eligibility of dental hygienists for loan
repayment assistance and by adding up to two
subsequent one-year grants for dentists.
Dentists currently are eligible for a two year
grant. 2009 S 275.

Indiana
The Indiana health care professional
recruitment and retention fund provides loan
repayment for student foans up to $40,000
($20,000 per year) incurred by dentists
agreeing to serve a two-year stint in federally
designated shortage area or an area approved
by the state as underserved.

In 2009 H 1573 was enacted:

The Indiana dental recruitment fund is
established to provide grants to dentists and
dental hygienists to encourage the full-time
delivery of dental care in underserved areas
and to increase the number of minority dentists
and dental hygienists in Indiana. To qualify
one must be licensed and have entered into an
agreement with the recruitment committee to:
(A) either: (i) commit to working five (5) years
in a underserved area or as a minority dentist
or dental hygienist in Indiana for a yearly grant
of thirty-five thousand dollars ($35,000); or (i)
commit to working two (2) years in a
underserved area or as a minority dentist or
dental hygienist in Indiana for a yearly grant of
thirty thousand dollars ($30,000) with the
option by the dentist or dental hygienist to
serve up to three (3) additional years for a
yearly grant of thirty-five thousand dollars
($35,000); (B) provide an average of at least
forty (40) hours of dentistry per week in
underserved areas or as a minority dentist or
dental hygienist in Indiana; (C) maintain a
patient base that includes at least thirty
percent (30%) as Medicaid patients; and (D)
provide a sliding fee scale, as approved by the
committee, for low income patients.

The agreement shall include a clause that if
the dentist or dental hygienist does not comply
with the requirements they will pay back to the
committee seven thousand five hundred
dollars ($7,500), plus interest, for each month
that they do not serve or had left to serve
under the terms of the agreement.



Maine
The Finance Authority of Maine awards up to 3
loans or loan repayment agreements annually
up to an aggregate of 12. Under the program,
loans may be awarded to Maine residents who
have been accepted into dental school. If,
upon completing dental education, the loan
recipient elects to practice dentistry in an area
determined to be underserved, the loan
recipient may be forgiven a 25% portion of the
loan per year after executing a loan repayment
agreement.

Maryland
Maryland's new law provides up to $100,000

total loan assistance over a three-year period,
during which a dentist accepts 30% of his/her
caseload from the Medicaid-eligible
population. Assistance is limited to 5 dentists
per year for a total of 15 dentists over the
three-year program.

Massachusetts
The Massachusetts Dental Society reports that
as of 2009, there are two state programs that
offer loan repayment or tuition reimbursement.
However, that there is not enough funding in
these programs to make a difference to many
students. In fact, with one of these programs,
dentists are forced to compete with physicians
for limited financial resources.
The Massachusetts State Loan Repayment
Program (MSLRP) offers loan repayment for
dentists and hygienists who agree to practice
in a community health center or a public
licensed clinic for two years. The
Commonwealth's $250,000 is matched by the
federal government, resulting in a $500,000
program. The program is administered by the
Massachusetts Department of Public Health
(DPH) and is available to health
professionals—including, but not limited to,
dentists and hygienists—who work in
designated Health Professional Shortage
Areas (HPSAs).
The MDS reports that dental professionals are
under-represented in the program because
there are fewer community health centers in
these shortage areas in Massachusetts, and
rules that accompany federal matching funds
preclude the DPH from structuring the program
in a manner that would attract more dental
professionals to more health centers.
Additionally, the state provides $1 million,
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administered by the University of
Massachusetts, with 50 percent earmarked for
loan repayment and tuition reimbursement. Of
this amount, $120,000 funds a scholarship at
each of the state's three dental schools for
students agreeing to work in a community
health center for two years, $380,000 goes to
loan repayment for dentists already working in
community health centers, and $500,000 is
designated for community health center
infrastructure.

Minnesota
Students accepted into the program serve at
least three years during which at least 25
percent of the patient encounters are state
public program enrollees or patients receiving
sliding fee schedule discounts. The state pays
$10,000 per year up to four years, not to
exceed the lesser of $40,000 or the balance of
the qualifying loans.

Missouri
Dentists and dental school students enrolled in
their final year of course study may participate
in the Health Professional Student Loan
Repayment Program. The maximum amount of
repayment assistance is not to exceed the
maximum allowed under the National Health
Services Corps Repayment Program.
Program participants must agree to see all
patients regardiess of their ability to pay.
Students breaching contracts will be
responsible for damages incurred by the
Department of Health and legal costs incurred
in the collection of damages.

Nebraska
Pays educational expenses and repay loans
for dental students who agree to practice in a
designated health profession shortage area,
within 3 months of graduation. The amount of
financial assistance is limited $80,000 over the
course of schooling. Each loan repayment
recipient agrees to provide services for at least
3 years and accept Medicaid patients. Failure
to complete the 3-year commitment, without
good cause, results in repaying outstanding
amount plus 25% of the amount of financial
assistance received.

Nevada
Under the Western Regional Higher Education
Compact (agreement among 13 western
states & NV), a dentist receives a support fee,



25% of which is a loan to be repaid by the
dental graduate. Practicing in a medically
underserved area of this state for at least 2
years results in a forgiveness of the loan
balance (25% of the support fee). If a person
returns to this state under the compact, but
does not practice in a medically underserved
area of this state for at least 2 years, the state
assesses a default charge and interest.
(Chapter 397 of NRS)

New Jersey
N.J.S5.18A:71C-33 Primary care practitioner

(includes dentists) loan redemption program.
To be eligible a dentist must serve at least an
initial two-year period at an approved site in
full-time clinical practice in designated
underserved areas and allow a patient who is
unable to pay the usual and customary charge
to pay at a reduced rate or receive care at no
charge. Part-time practice maybe allowed
based on special circumstances after the initial
two years. The qualifying dentist shall be
permitted a total redemption of eligible
qualifying loan expenses for four years of
service up to, but not to exceed, $120,000, or
the maximum amount authorized by the
federal government, whichever is greater, in
State funds. A program participant who has
previously entered into a contract for service
and loan redemption may nullify the
agreement by notifying the authority in writing
and reassuming full responsibility for the
remaining outstanding balance of the loan
debt. A program participant seeking to nullify
the contract before compieting a second full
year of service shall be required to pay 50% of
the redeemed portion of indebtedness in not
more than one year following nullification of
the agreement. Enacted Nov. 20, 2009, SB
1220.

New Mexico (2 programs)
The HEALTH PROFESSIONALS LOAN
REPAYMENT PROGRAM requires a two year
service commitment in a health professional
shortage area. Primary Care Physicians;
Physician Assistants; Advanced Practice
Nurses; Dentists, Podiatrists, Optometrists &
Allied Health Care Providers may receive up to
$35,000 annually.

Eligibility for the NEW MEXICO HEALTH
SERVICE CORPS: a New Mexico resident
enrolled or accepted by an accredited or
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approved educational program of study or be
engaged in a residency training program or
preceptorship that is within 24 months of
completion of the program of study and
becoming eligible to apply for a license or
certificate in the profession of study. Primary
Care Physicians, Family Nurse Practitioners,
Physician Assistants, Dentists, Dental
Hygienists, Emergency Medical Technician-
Paramedics may earn up to a $40,000 stipend
(2 awards of $20,000, less for non-physician).
Requires a two year service commitment
(1600 hours a year) in a designated health
professional shortage area.

Western Interstate Commission on Higher
Education (WICHE). Average $21,300 per
year up to 4 years and must return to New
Mexico.

North Carolina
Loan repayment assistance is provided for
General Dentists and Dental Hygienists who
accept positions in approved public
health/safety net dental clinics. The state
Loan Repayment Program offers 2-4 year
repayment schedules for general dentists and
dental hygienists in exchange for working full
time at approved safety net dental sites.
Principle plus interest maximums for dentists
are $70,000 in exchange for a four year
commitment; $30,000 for dental hygienists in
exchange for a 3 year commitment. In
addition, a 39% tax stipend is added to help
offset the provider's increased tax liability.

North Dakota
The state annually selects up to three dentists
who enter a four-year nonrenewable contract
where education foans are repaid in exchange
for the dentist(s) agreeing to practice in
underserved communities identified by the
state health council. The council establishes a
priority ranking for participation in the program
for the selected communities. Dentists are
eligible to receive funds for the repayment of
their education loans, which may not exceed
eighty thousand dollars per applicant over a
four-year period.

2007 S 2152 was enacted. Enacts provisions
for a dentist to receive school loan repayments
as an incentive to practice: the practice cannot
be within a 15 mile radius of Bismarck, Fargo
or Grand Forks (the largest cities in ND), the



dentist must receive medical assistant
reimbursement for dental care of at least
$20,000 or must practice at least 2 days a
week at a public health clinic or at a nonprofit
dental clinic that uses a sliding fee schedule to
bill the nonprofit dental clinic’s patients.

Ohio
The dentist loan repayment program provides
loan repayment assistance in amounts of up to
$25,000 for each of the first two years of
service and up to $35,000 per year for the third
and fourth years of service for new dentists
who agree to practice at least 40 hours per
week in a designated dental health
professional shortage area and treat patients
regardless of their ability to pay. The program
will be funded with a $20 increase in dentists’
licensing fees, government funding and private
contributions.

Oklahoma
In 20086, the Oklahoma Legislature passed the
Oklahoma Dental Loan Repayment Act (S.B.
1737), authorizing an additional $125,000
each year for five years to fund the Oklahoma
Dental Loan Repayment Program. This
program provides $25,000 per year, per
dentist, for four dentists to practice in counties
determined by the Oklahoma State
Department of Health to be dental health
professional shortage areas and one dentist to
practice and teach at the OU College of
Dentistry. The state currently has 42 counties
designated as shortage areas through 2009.
As part of their agreement, participating
dentists must treat a minimum of 30%
Medicaid patients. All participating dentists
also must commit to practice in a shortage
area for two years, with an option to renew for
up to five years total.

Pennsylvania
A physician or dentist who agrees to treat

patients eligible for medical assistance and
Medicare in a designated medically
underserved area as a primary health care
practitioner for not less than three years is
eligible to receive up to $64,000 in loan
exonerations based on the following schedule:
(i) Year one, 15%, (ii) Year two, 20%, (iii) Year
three, 30%, (iv) Year four, 35%. Failure to
begin or complete the obligations contracted
for shall pay to the agency three times the
amount of assistance received.
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Rhode Island
Provides educational loan repayment for
healthcare professionals committed to working
in primary care health professional shortage
areas or dental health professional shortage
areas. Requires a two year commitment to
provide full-time services at a site that has
been approved for funding. Must charge for
professional services at the usual and
customary rates prevailing in the areas in
which such services are provided. If a person
is unable to pay such charge, they'll be
charged a reduced rate or no fee. The
professional also must serve full time (40
hours per week), with no more than 20% of the
time devoted to administrative work and agree
not to discriminate on the basis of the ability of
the individual to pay for such care or on the
basis that payment for such care will be made
through Medicare or Medicaid. The
professional must enter into an appropriate
agreement with the State agency that
administers Medicaid.

South Carolina
Each loan or scholarship lasts for a period of
one year only. However, recipients who
successfully complete the related year of study
have first priority on unobligated funds for
renewal of the loan or scholarship for the
succeeding year. Each loan or scholarship
has two parts: (1) Payment of tuition and other
school related expenses up to a total of $5000
per year, and (2) an allowance of $100 per
month for living expenses. Requires practice
in a county with a dentist ratio of not more than
one dentist for each four thousand people. For
each year an applicant benefits from a loan or
scholarship s/he is required to practice in the
underserved county.
Applicants who receive a scholarship or loan
for four years are only required to practice in a
county for three years, at the end of which time
the loan is considered paid in full.

South Dakota
Provides that up to 3 dentists are eligible to
receive tuition reimbursement payments if the
licensed to practice dentistry and (s)he agrees
to practice general dentistry in an eligible
community for a minimum period of three
years. Section 1-16A-73.20



Texas
Texas makes annual repayment(s) within a
time frame determined by the Board upon the
dentist's completion of each twelve-month
service period. Dentists must complete at
least one year of dental practice in an area of
the state that is underserved with respect to
dental care. The commissioner of higher
education may determine how much a dentist
may receive in assistance grants for each of
not more than five years. Amended in 2009.

Utah
Creates Utah Health Care Workforce offering
loan repayment & scholarship grants for
dentists, who locate or continue to practice in
underserved areas. The Program will have an
advisory committee one member of which will
be a member of the Utah Dental Association.

Vermont
The loan repayment fund established under 18
V.S.A. Section 10a or for the Vermont student
assistance corporation for loan forgiveness
programs for health care providers through the
dental hygienist incentive loan program and
the dental student incentive loan program.

Virginia
The dental loan repayment program provides
incentives to dental students agreeing to
practice in underserved areas designated by
the State Board of Health through criteria
derived by comparing population data, dentist
population and dental health professional
shortage areas determined by the federal HHS
department. Preference will be given to
graduates of Virginia Commonwealth
University's School of Dentistry. Scholarship
recipients may receive a max of five
scholarships. The award(s) equal one-year in-
state tuition at Virginia Commonwealth
University School of Dentistry for the year in
which the loan was acquired.

Wisconsin
To benefit from loan assistance, the dentist
must agree to provide dental services to at
least 50 unduplicated medical assistance or
badger care recipients, not to fall below a
minimum of $8,000 in claims paid. In year two
of the dentist's agreement, the dentist must
see at least 70 unduplicated medical
assistance or badger care recipients, not
falling below $11,000 in claims paid. Year
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three, the dentist must provide dental services
to at least 90 recipients, with a minimum claim
amount of $15,000.

Wyoming
Will pay the cost of dental education for up to
10 dental students per year in exchange for
their agreeing to practice for up to 3 years on
patients eligible for medical assistance or the
child and parent health insurance program. If
the student fails to fulfill the terms of the
agreement then the costs of education are
repayable to the state of Wyoming.
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