HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 48

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

TWENTY-SIXTH LEGISLATURE - SECOND SESSION

BY REPRESENTATIVE KERTTULA

Introduced: 2/23/10 Referred: Finance

A RESOLUTION

1 Urging the United States Congress to pass the Crime Victims Fund Preservation Act.

2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- WHEREAS the Victims of Crime Act of 1984 (42 U.S.C. 10601 10608) established
- 4 the Crime Victims Fund, which is one the main sources of money and support for crime
- 5 victims and crime victims' services in the United States, the District of Columbia, Puerto
- 6 Rico, the United States Virgin Islands, and territories of the United States; and
- 7 **WHEREAS** the Crime Victims Fund provides critical funding for formula grants to
- 8 states for victim compensation and victim assistance and for federal discretionary grants, in
- 9 addition to earmarks for federal victim assistance in the United States Attorneys' Offices and
- the Federal Bureau of Investigation, and for the Victim Notification System and the Children's
- 11 Justice Act grant programs; and
- 12 **WHEREAS** state compensation programs pay directly for medical care, counseling,
- and lost wages for victims of domestic violence, child abuse, and rape, and for funerals for
- 14 victims of homicide; and
- 15 **WHEREAS** state victim assistance programs provide critical, often life-saving
- services, including crisis intervention and emergency shelter, and counseling, child care, and

	26-LS1283\A
1	emergency transportation services; and
2	WHEREAS the Office for Victims of Crime awards discretionary grants for
3	demonstration projects, training, and technical assistance to expand and improve the delivery
4	of services to crime victims and to support services to victims of federal offenses; and
5	WHEREAS funds placed in the Crime Victims Fund are derived primarily from
6	criminal fines and other penalties paid by offenders of federal crimes, and the fund does not
7	rely on tax revenue; and
8	WHEREAS states may use compensation grants and victim assistance grants over a
9	four-year period, thus enabling them to plan and manage the distribution of funds over time;
10	and
11	WHEREAS, in 2000, the United States Congress began capping annual obligations
12	from the Crime Victims Fund, which has limited the amount of funding that would otherwise
13	have been available to support victims' services; and
14	WHEREAS, in the past 11 years, nearly \$9,000,000,000 has been deposited into the
15	Crime Victims Fund while only \$6,000,000,000 has been obligated, resulting in an
16	accumulated balance of nearly \$3,000,000,000 in the fund as of the beginning of 2010; and

WHEREAS the United States Congress has repeatedly stated that the purpose of the

cap is to ensure that a stable level of funding will remain available for crime victims' services in future years; and

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

WHEREAS crime victims' services in all states and jurisdictions are facing severe budgetary shortfalls because of cutbacks in other victim assistance programs and decreases in private donations, while the need for services continues to increase; and

WHEREAS S. 1340 and H.R. 3402, the Crime Victims Fund Preservation Act of 2009, introduced in the United States Senate by Senator Patrick Leahy and introduced in the United States House of Representatives by Representative Ted Poe, would establish increasing minimum caps on annual Crime Victims Fund obligations through the year 2014, significantly increasing the amount in the fund available for state victim assistance grants and for discretionary grants awarded by the Office for the Victims of Crime, without jeopardizing the long-term sustainability of the fund;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature fully supports the purposes of S. 1340 and H.R. 3402, the Crime Victims Fund Preservation Act, and urges the United States

1 Congress to enact the Crime Victims Fund Preservation Act.

10

2 **COPIES** of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr., Vice-3 President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Harry Reid, 4 Majority Leader of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Minority Leader of the 5 U.S. Senate; the Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the 6 Honorable Steny H. Hoyer, Majority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the 7 Honorable John Boehner, Minority Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives; the 8 Honorable Patrick Leahy, U.S. Senator; the Honorable Ted Poe, U.S. Representative; and the 9 Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Mark Begich, U.S. Senators, and the

Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.