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Section 1: Adds two new sections to AS 18.65.725 (Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit 
renewal): 

 (e) Requires the department to send, via first class mail to the permittee, a 
notice that their permit is expiring. The notice must be sent at least 90 days 
prior to the permit expiration, which is the beginning of the renewal period. 

 (f) Clarifies that a person does not become ineligible to hold a permit and does 
not need to surrender the permit if he or she ceases to be a resident of the 
state.  Alaska residency is still a requirement to obtain or renew a permit. 

Section 2: Clarifies that a person can display an expired permit, but cannot represent it as 
valid, and that an expired permit does not need to be surrendered to the 
department. 

Section 3: Requires the local law enforcement certification section of a Bureau of Alcohol, 
Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives firearm transfer application to be completed 
by the appropriate law enforcement officer within 30 days of submission by a 
person who is legally qualified to own the firearm.   


