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The current schedule for violations of AS 28.35.030 (Operating a vehicle, aircraft or
watercraft while under the influence of an alcoholic beveration, inhalant or controlled
substance) or 28.35.032 (Refusal to submit to chemical test) is as follows:

An offense would be a Class A misdemeanor UNLESS there are two or more
convictions within ten years of the current offense, then it would be a Class C felony. All
offenses require use of interlock for a certain period of time after the person regains
driving privilege/during probation.

These are the current statutory minimums (shaded cells are felonies):

Offense Imprisonment | Revocation Interlock Fine Forfeiture
1 72 hours 90 days 12 months $1,500 Allowable
2 20 days 1 year 24 months $3,000 Allowable
3 60 days 3 years 36 months $4,000 Allowable
3" within .
10 years 120 days Permanent $10,000 Mandatory
4" 120 days 5 years $5,000 Allowable
10 years 240 days Permanent* required $10,000 Mandatory
during entire
5" 240 days 5 years : 6,000 Allowable
5 or more Y Y probat!onary $
within 10 360 days Permanent* period $10,000 Mandatory
years
More than 5 360 days 5 years $7,000 Allowable

* If a person has a permanently revoked license, they can petition for restoration after ten years if there
hasn’t been a subsequent criminal offense and the applicant can show proof of financial responsibility.

Passage of HB 271 would change the current statute to allow a felony conviction for the
2" offense within 10 years and increase the penalties for 3 and 4™ offenses (within 10
years) respectively.
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According to NCSL, two states, Arkansas and Connecticut, require use of an interlock
device prior to conviction. Texas requires an interlock device for a high BAC (.15 or
greater) or for those arrested for DUl where there has been an injury or fatality.

Other states that charge felonies for 2" offenses:

Indiana: 2" offense within five years of first offense

Minnesota: 2" offense with two other aggravating factors (BAC of .20 or more; driving
with a child in the car)

New York: 2" offense within 10 years

Oklahoma: 2™ offense within 10 years

Rhode Island: DUI with serious bodily injuries are felonies

Virgin Islands: 2" offense
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