ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE

Representative Jay Ramras
Chairman
(907) 465-3004
Fax: (907) 465-2070
Representative_Jay_Ramras@legis.state.ak.us
1292 Sadler Way, Suite 324
Fairbanks, AK 99701



Committee Members:

Representative Nancy Dahlstrom,
Vice-Chairman
Representative John Coghill
Representative Bob Lynn
Representative Carl Gatto
Representative Max Gruenberg
Representative Lindsey Holmes

State Capitol, Room 120 Juneau, Alaska 99801

Sectional HB 146 "An Act relating to transfer restrictions on trust interests."

Sections 1 and 2 of the bill amend Alaska's statute by adopting the following provisions which have been adopted in other twelve other states:

- A creditor must establish by clear and convincing evidence that a transfer was made with intent to defraud a creditor. (This standard has been adopted by nine of the other twelve states);
- Distributions can be made under the discretion of a trustee pursuant to a standard, as well as with absolute discretion;
- The settlor may be reimbursed for income taxes attributable to the trust;
- The settlor can retain the power to replace a trustee/advisor with a non-related, non-subordinate party.

Section 3 of the bill clarifies existing Alaska law to provide that in the event of a divorce or dissolution of the marriage of a beneficiary of the trust, the beneficiary's interest, even though not vested, may not be considered a factor or economic circumstance in the division of property.