Pick a Card, Any Card?

When It Comes to Gift Cards and Gift Certificates, Consumers Should
Check Expiration Dates and Fees

Holiday shoppers spend billions on gift cards and gift certificates every year, and they're
increasingly popular gifts. But many purchasers are concerned about whether these gifts can

come with unwanted extras, like expiration dates and fees.

California law protects gift card givers and recipients
from expiration dates and dormancy fees in many : 45 LT :
cases, but it's important for consumers to understand Nt B ant
when the protections apply and when they don't.

“Sometimes it's difficult to pick out just the right gift for . .'- ; 27 AT T o
someone,” said Charlene Zettel, Director of the LivaUay. COLOSUIer
California Department of Consumer Affairs. “With a gift
card, you're letting the recipient choose what they want.

It's an option that can ease the pressure of holiday TOP GIFT CARD TIPS

§hopping. But we want to rpake sure consumers know > Check expiration dates
if any strings are attached.

and fees
In most cases California law treats a plastic gift card > Save all receipts
the same as a paper certificate. Consumer protections > Use it before you lose it!

vary depending on the type of business that sold the

card, and on the type of product or service for which
the card is used.

Both state and federal law prohibits the sale of gift cards and certificates in a deceptive manner,
so it's illegal for sellers to conceal conditions, restrictions or fees.

Protections Are Greater for Cards or Certificates Good at a Single Store or Its Affiliates

The type of card or certificate that comes with the best consumer protections under California
law is the traditional gift certificate or card, sold by a single business and used for goods or
services from that business or its affiliates. Expiration dates and service fees, including
dormancy fees, are prohibited for this type of card, with limited exceptions.

A business doesn't have to redeem a gift card or certificate, or the balance left after a purchase,
for cash. They can redeem it with another certificate or card for the remaining value.

Single-store cards can have a dormancy fee if: the value drops to $5 or below; the fee is $1 or
less per month; the card has been inactive for 24 consecutive months; and the owner can pay to
re-charge it with value to over $5. The dormancy fee must be fully disclosed in advance and
printed on the card.

An exception -- to the rule of no expiration dates for cards good at a single business or its
affiliates -- is a gift card or gift certificate for a food item. Cards or certificates for food items --
other than restaurant meals -- can have expiration dates, as long as that fact is printed in 10-
point type on the front of the card or certificate.
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Restaurant gift certificates good for meals cannot have expiration dates. Restaurants issuing gift
certificates, either directly or through affiliates, must accept the certificate even if it's an older
certificate with a posted expiration date, if that certificate was issued after January 1997.

Another exception is gift certificates distributed free as a premium or promotion, or sold below
face value at a volume discount to employers or to nonprofit and charitable organizations for
fundraising purposes. These can have expiration dates, but the date must be printed on the

front of the card in 10-point type.
Mall or Other Multiple-Store Gift Certificates

California law doesn't protect consumers from service Py
fees and expiration dates when it comes to gift

cert_iﬁcates or cards good at mu!tiple, t_mafﬁliated ‘Use it or lose it' is still good
businesses. So many popular.glft cert_lﬁcate_s and cards advice, even if your gift card or
can have these fees and restrictions, including cards certificate is protected from
sold by malls and banks. expiration dates and fees. Don’t

hang on to the card for too
long. The store may go out of
business, or you might lose the
card, which in most cases is

If such a card or certificate has an expiration date, that
fact has to be printed on the card or certificate. Fees
must also be disclosed to purchasers.

Consumers should weigh the benefits of these cards like losing cash.
against the costs. Cards from malls and banks allow

shopping for gifts at many different stores. But the gift 1)

card recipient may see the value of the gift card

reduced or eliminated by expiration dates or dormancy -- Charlene Zettel
fees.

Gift Cards Soid by Banks

Bank gift cards can be used at multiple, unaffiliated businesses, so California laws prohibiting
expiration dates and service fees, including dormancy fees, do not apply. However, California
does require any expiration date to be printed on the card.

Bank gift cards usually tap into a leading credit card network, offering flexibility and
convenience, including the option of replacement for a lost card. But they can also come with a
variety of fees, such as purchase fees, monthly fees, inactivity fees, transaction fees, balance-
inquiry fees and replacement fees for lost cards. Consumers should shop around for the best
deal, advise recipients of all terms and conditions, record the card number and retain all

receipts.

Federal banking regulators have recently ordered national banks to provide greater disclosures
to consumers, putting the expiration date on the front of cards, disclosing the amount of any
monthly maintenance or inactivity fees, and providing a phone number or Web address where
consumers can get detailed information.

Some consumer protections described here may not apply to cards and certificates
issued several years ago. If you have an old card or certificate, or simply want more
details on the law, check the Department of Consumer Affairs legal guide “FAQs and
Tips on Gift Certificates and Gift Cards.” For more holiday consumer tips visit

www.consumer.ca.qov.

semot California Department of Consumer Affairs | Office of Public Affairs
(kum":‘:"""“ 1625 North Market Boulevard, Suite N 323, Sacramento, CA 95834
(916) 574-8170 | www.consumer.ca.gov

Affairs



