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You asked if there are any provisions in Alaska law that tie wages paid to individuals who work in a specific occupation to the
minimum wage rate. Specifically you asked if there are provisions in Alaska law similar to AS 23.10.065{b), which requires
public school bus drivers to be paid at a rate of not less than two times the minimum wage established under AS 23.10.065(a).

Using the on-line annotated 2008 Alaska Statutes we identified two laws that generally fit these criteria: AS 23.10.055 and AS
33.30.201. We provide the relevant section from each of these laws below.

AS 23.10.055 Exemptions; compensation of executives, administrators, and professionals.

(b} Notwithstanding {c) of this section, an individual employed in a bona fide executive,
administrative, or professional capacity shall be compensated on a salary or fee basis at a rate of not
less than two times the state minimum wage for the first 40 hours of employment each week,
exclusive of board or lodging that is furnished by the individual's employer.

AS 33.30.201 Compensation of prison inmates; deductions; disbursement; liens.

{a) Each prisoner who is productively employed, as defined in AS 33.30.191(g)(1) or (3) - (5), may
receive for that work compensation at a rate determined by the commissioner under this section if
the money is available from legislative appropriations. Compensation established by the
commissioner under this section may not exceed 50 percent of the minimum wage established in AS
23.10.065; however, if required to comply with a federal statute or regulation, a higher compensation
may be established by the commissioner.

In addition, there are a number of laws that use the minimum wage, or a factor thereof, as a measure or a guideline of
compensation. Some examples of these laws include AS 23.10.060, Payment of Overtime; AS 23.20.406, Extended
Unemployment Compensation; AS 23.30.041 Rehabilitation and Reemployment of Injured Workers; and AS 23.30.220
Determination of Spendable Weekly Wage.

We have attached copies of both of the laws noted above to this memorandum, Please note that, although we are confident
we have identified all of the laws of this nature, due to our search limitations and the disparate way in which laws are written,
our search may not be exhaustive.

We hope you find this information useful. Please let us know if you have guestions or need additional information,



