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AS 01.10.055. Residency.

(c)

A person establishes residency in the state by being physically present in the state with the intent to
remain in the state indefinitely and to make a home in the state.

A person demonstrates the intent required under (a) of this section

(1) by maintaining a principal place of abode in the state for at least 30 days or for a longer period if
a longer period is required by law or regulation; and
(2) by providing other proof of intent as may be required by law or regulation, which may include

proof that the person is not claiming residency outside the state or obtaining benefits under a
claim of residency outside the state.

A person who establishes residency in the state remains a resident during an absence from the state
unless during the absence the person establishes or claims residency in another state, territory or
country, or performs other acts or is absent under circumstances that are inconsistent with the intent
required under (a) of this section to remain a resident of this state. (§ 1 ch 67 SLA 1983).

Note: AS 18.65.705(3) requires that an applicant be a resident of the state and has been for the 90 days
immediately preceding the application for the permit.

TITLE 18. HEALTH, SAFETY, AND HOUSING
CHAPTER 65. POLICE PROTECTION
ARTICLE 10. PERMIT TO CARRY A CONCEALED HANDGUN

Sec. 18.65.700. Permit to carry a concealed handgun.

(a) The department shall issue a permit to carry a concealed handgun to a person who

(1) applies in person at an office of the Alaska State Troopers;

(2) qualifies under AS 18.65.705 :

(3) submits a completed application on a form provided by the department, that provides the information

required under AS 18.65.705 and 18.65.710; with each application form provided by the department, the

department shall provide a copy of the state laws and regulations relating to concealed handguns, which
must include a concise summary of where, when, and by whom a handgun can be carried under state
and federal law;,

(4) submits one complete set of fingerprints on a Federal Bureau of Investigation approved fingerprint card that
is of sufficient quality so that the fingerprints may be processed: the fingerprints must be taken by a
person, group, or agency approved by the department; the department shall maintain a list of persons,
groups, or agencies approved to take fingerprints and shall provide the list to the public upon request;
the fingerprints shall be used to obtain a report of criminal justice information under AS 12.62 and a
national criminal history record check under AS 12.62.400 :

(5) submits evidence of successful completion of a handgun course as provided in AS 18.65.715

(6) provides one frontal view color photograph of the person taken within the preceding 30 days that includes
the head and shoulders of the person and is of a size specified by the department;

(7) shows a valid Alaska driver's license or identification card at the time of application;

(8) does not suffer a physical infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun; and

(9) pays the application fee required by AS 18.65.720 .

(b) The department shall either approve or reject an application for a permit to carry a concealed handgun under

(a) of this section within 30 days of receipt of the application. If the department has not received necessary
fingerprint eligibility information from another agency by the end of this 30-day period, and the applicant is
otherwise eligible, the department shall issue a conditional permit to the applicant subject to immediate
revocation under the procedure provided in AS 18.65.740(a) - (c) if the fingerprint information subsequently
discloses that the applicant is ineligible for a permit. The department shall notify the applicant in writing of the

reason for a rejection.
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(c) A person whose application is rejected under this section may appeal the rejection decision to the
commissioner. A person may seek judicial review of the decision of the commissioner under AS 44.62.560 -

44.62.570.
(d) A permit issued under (a) of this section is valid for five years from the date of issue.

(e) The department shall issue a permit to carry a concealed handgun to an honorably retired peace officer of
this state who applies for a concealed handgun permit within one year of the officer's retirement and who

satisfies the requirements of this subsection. To qualify for a permit under this subsection, an honorably retired
peace officer must satisfy (a)(1) - (3) and (6) - (9) of this section and, unless the honorably retired peace officer
has qualified with a handgun within five years of the officer's retirement, must also satisfy (a)(5) of this section.
The department may not require an honorably retired peace officer applying under this subsection to comply with
(a)(4) of this section to receive a permit. The department shall issue the permit without submitting information to
or receiving permit eligibility information from the Federal Bureau of Investigation. The department may adopt

regulations to define an "honorably retired peace officer" and the evidence that must be submitted to establish
eligibility under this subsection.

Sec. 18.65.705. Qualifications to obtain a permit.

A person is qualified to receive and hold a permit to carry a concealed handgun if the person

(1) is 21 years of age or older;
(2) is eligible to own or possess a handgun under the laws of this state and under federal law;
(3) is a resident of the state and has been for the 90 days immediately preceding the application for a

permit;

(4) has not been convicted of two or more class A misdemeanors of this state or similar laws of another

jurisdiction within the six years immediately preceding the application;

(5) is not now in and has not in the three years immediately preceding the application been ordered by a

court to complete an alcohol or substance abuse treatment program; and
(6) has successfully completed a handgun course as provided in AS 18.65.715.

Sec. 18.65.710. Application for permit to carry a concealed handgun.

(a) The application for a permit to carry a concealed handgun must contain the following information:

(1) the applicant's name, physical residence, mailing address, place and date of birth, physical description,
including height, weight, race, hair color, and eye color, Alaska driver's license or identification card
number, and the city and state of each place the applicant has resided in the five years immediately

preceding the application;
(2) a statement that the applicant qualifies under AS 18.65.705 ;
(3) a statement that the applicant has been furnished with a copy of the state laws and regulations
relating to concealed handguns, has read those sections, and understands them;
(4) a statement that the applicant desires a permit to carry a concealed handgun for a lawful purpose,

which may include seif-defense;

(5) a statement by the applicant that all statements, answers, and attachments to the application are true
and complete;

(6) a conspicuous warning that an applicant who supplies a false statement, answer, or document in
connection with the application that the applicant does not believe to be true may be prosecuted for
unsworn falsification and, if found guilty, may be punished for violation of a class A misdemeanor, and

that, in such cases, the permit shall be revoked and the applicant may be barred from any further
application for a permit; and

(7) a statement that the applicant understands that a permit eligibility investigation will be conducted as a

part of the application process, that this may involve computerized records searches, and that the
applicant authorizes the investigation.

(b) An application under (a) of this section may not inquire of an applicant about, or require the submission of,
information beyond that described in that subsection. As part of an application under (a) of this section, the
department may not inquire of an applicant as to any firearms owned by the applicant.

Sec. 18.65.715. Demonstration of competence with handguns.
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(a) An applicant for a permit to carry a concealed handgun shall provide a certificate of successful completion of
a handgun course that is approved by the department. The handgun course must have been completed within
the 12 months immediately preceding the application. The department shall approve a handgun course, including
the personal protection course offered by the National Rifle Association, if the course tests the applicant's

(1) knowledge of Alaska law relating to firearms and the use of deadly force;

(2) familiarity with the basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of handguns;

(3) knowledge of self-defense principles; and

(4) physical competence with a handgun.

(b) [Repealed, Sec. 20 ch 1 SLA 1998].

(c) The department may not require a certificate of competence submitted under this section to contain any
specifically identifying information, including make, model, or serial number, of a handgun with which an
applicant or permittee has demonstrated competence.

(d) The department shall maintain a list of approved courses and shall provide the list to the public upon request.

Sec. 18.65.720. Fees.

The department shall charge a nonrefundable fee for the processing of the application for and initial issuance of
a permit, renewal of a permit, or replacement of a permit. The fees shall be set by regulation and must be based
on the actual costs incurred by the department. However, the fee for the processing of an application and initial
issuance of a permit may not exceed $99 and the fee for renewal of a permit or replacement of a permit may not

exceed $30.
Sec. 18.65.725. Permit renewal.

(a) A permittee shall apply for renewal of a permit to carry a concealed handgun within 90 days before the
expiration of the permit and shall present a complete renewal form provided by the department. The renewal

form must include
(1) any change in the information originally submitted under AS 18.65.710;
(2) a statement that the person remains qualified to receive and hold a permit to carry a concealed

handgun under AS 18.65.705 :
(3) one frontal view photograph of the person taken within the preceding 30 days that includes the head

and shoulders of the person and is of a size specified by the department;
(4) the renewal fee required under AS 18.65.720 : and
(5) the warning listed in AS 18.65.710 (a)(6).

(b) [Repealed, Sec. 15 ch 94 SLA 2000].

(c) A renewal of a permit to carry a concealed handgun submitted on or after the expiration date is subject to a
late fee of $25. The department may not accept a renewal for a permit that is submitted more than 60 days after
the expiration date of the permit. Nothing in this subsection prohibits the holder of an expired permit from

applying for a new permit.

(d) A renewal form under (a) of this section may not inquire of a permittee about, or require the submission of,
information beyond that described in (a) of this section.

Sec. 18.65.730. Replacement of permit.

The department may replace a permit that the permittee certifies under oath has been lost, stolen, or destroyed,

provided the permittee applies in person and
(1) provides one frontal view photograph of the permittee taken within the preceding 30 days that

includes the head and shoulders and is of a size specified by the department;
(2) pays the replacement fee required under AS 18.65.720 .

Sec. 18.65.735. Suspension of permit.
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(a) The department shall immediately suspend a permit to carry a concealed handgun if a permittee becomes
ineligible to hold a permit under AS 18.65.705 .

(b) A person whose permit is suspended under this section shall immediately surrender the permit to the nearest
peace officer. A peace officer receiving a permit under this section shall immediately forward the permit to the

department.

(c) The department shall retain a permit suspended under this section until the permit is revoked or returned to
the permittee.

Sec. 18.65.740. Revocation of permit; appeal.

(2) A permit to carry a concealed handgun shall be immediately revoked by the department when the permittee
(1) becomes disqualified to receive and hold a permit under AS 18.65.705;
(2) is convicted of two class A misdemeanors of this state or similar laws of another jurisdiction within a
six-year period if at least one of the convictions occurs after the application;
(3) knowingly supplied a false or fraudulent answer, statement, or document, or made a material misstatement
or omission, in connection with an application for a permit or renewal or replacement of a permit.

(b) A person whose permit is revoked under (a) of this section shall immediately surrender the permit to the
nearest peace officer. A peace officer receiving a permit under this section shall immediately forward the permit

to the department.

(c) A person whose permit is revoked under this section may appeal the revocation decision to the
commissioner. A person may seek judicial review of the decision of the commissioner under AS 44 .62.560 -

44.62.570.

(d) A person whose permit is revoked may not apply for a permit until at least five years after the revocation.
Sec. 18.65.745. No liability for issuance of permit or for training.

(a) The state, and its officers and employees, are not liable by virtue of having issued a permit to carry a
concealed handgun for damage or harm caused by the permittee.

(b) A person who provides firearm training to a person who receives a permit under AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790 is
not liable for damage or harm caused by the permittee.

Sec. 18.65.748. Permit holders from other jurisdictions considered Alaska permit holders.

A person holding a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun from another state or a political subdivision of
another state is a permittee under AS 18.65.700 (b) for purposes of AS 18.65.755 - 18.65.765.

Sec. 18.65.750. Possession and display of permit. [Repealed, Sec. 7 ch 62 SLA 2003].

Repealed or Renumbered

Sec. 18.65.755. Places where permittee may not possess a concealed handgun.

(a) A permittee may not possess a concealed handgun
(1) [Repealed, Sec. 7 ch 62 SLA 2003].
(2) anywhere a person is prohibited from possessing a handgun under state or federal law.

(b) [Repealed, Sec. 20 ch 1 SLA 1998].

(c) In addition to any other penalty provided by law, a person who violates this section is guilty of a class B
misdemeanor.

Sec. 18.65.760. Misuse of a permit.

(a) The holder of a permit issued under AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790 may not
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(1) alter the permit;

(2) allow another person to use the permit;

(3) possess or display a suspended or revoked permit: or

(4) display an expired permit, unless the holder has submitted a complete, timely renewal form under AS
18.65.725 and the renewal process has been delayed due to circumstances not under the control of the

applicant.
(b) A person who violates (a)(1) - (3) of this section is guilty of a class A misdemeanor.

(c) A person who violates (a)(4) of this section is guilty of a violation and upon conviction may be punished by a
fine of not more than $100.

Sec. 18.65.765. Responsibilities of the permittee.

(a) The holder of a permit issued under AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790
(1) shall notify the department of a change in the permittee's address within 30 days;
(2) shall immediately report a lost, stolen, or illegible permit to the department;
(3) shall immediately notify the department if the holder is no longer qualified to hold a permit under AS

18.65.705 .
(4) [Repealed, Sec. 15 ch 94 SLA 2000].

(b) A person who violates this section is guilty of a violation and upon conviction may be punished by a fine of
not more than $100.

Sec. 18.65.770. Permits, applications, and other materials not public records.

Applications, permits, and renewals are not public records under AS 40.25.110 - 40.25.125 and may only be used
for law enforcement purposes.

Sec. 18.65.775. Regulations; reciprocity agreements.

(a) The department shall adopt regulations to implement AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790. This section does not
delegate to the department the authority to regulate or restrict the issuing of permits beyond those provisions
contained in AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790.

(b) The department shall enter into reciprocity agreements with other states that have the legal authority to enter
into such agreements so that permittees may carry concealed handguns in those other states.

Sec. 18.65.778. Municipal preemption.
A municipality may not restrict the carrying of a concealed handgun by permit under AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790.

Sec. 18.65.780. Prohibition of possession of concealed handguns. [Repealed, Sec. 15 ch 94 SLA 2000].

Repealed or Renumbered

Sec. 18.65.785. Procedure for local option elections. [Repealed, Sec. 15 ch 94 SLA 2000].

Repealed or Renumbered
Sec. 18.65.790. Definitions.

in AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790,

(1) "commissioner” means the commissioner of public safety;

(2) "competence” means the ability to place in a life size silhouette target
(A) seven out of 10 shots at seven yards;

(B) six out of 10 shots at 15 yards;
(3) "concealed handgun" means a firearm, that is a pistol or a revolver, and that is covered or enclosed in any
manner so that an observer cannot determine that it is a handgun without removing it from that which covers or
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encloses it or without opening, lifting, or removing that which covers or encloses it; however, "concealed
handgun" does not include a shotgun, rifle, or a prohibited weapon as defined under AS 11.61.200 ;

(4) "department” means the Department of Public Safety;
(5) "permit" means a permit to carry a concealed handgun issued under AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790.

RELATED STATUTORY DEFINITIONS

AS 11.81.900(b)(44) "peace officer" means a public servant vested by law with a duty to maintain public order or
make arrests, whether the duty extends to all offenses or is limited to a specific class of offenses or offenders.

AS 11.56.240(1) “"statement" means a representation of fact and includes a representation of opinion, belief, or
other state of mind when the representation clearly relates to state of mind apart from or in addition to any facts
that are the subject of the representation.

AS 18.65.290. Definitions. In AS 18.65.130 - 18.65.290,

(1

)

3

(4)

()

(6)

)

“chief administrative officer" means a chief of police or other official who is head of a police department
in a political subdivision;

"correctional facility" means a prison or jail owned, leased, or operated by the state that is designated by
the commissioner of corrections for the custody, care, security, control, and discipline of prisoners;

“correctional officer” means a person

(A) appointed by the commissioner of corrections whose primary duty under AS 33.30 is to provide
custody, care, security, control, and discipline of persons charged or convicted of offenses against the
state or held under authority of state law; or

(B) employed in a correctional facility in this state whose primary duty is to provide custody, care, security,
control, and discipline of persons charged or convicted of offenses or held under authority of law;

“council” means the Alaska Police Standards Council:

"municipal correctional officer" means a person who is employed full-time in a municipal correctional
facility whose primary duty is to provide custody, care, security, control, and discipline of persons
charged or convicted of offenses or held under authority of law; and the municipality has adopted an
ordinance under AS 18.65.285 making AS 18.65.130-18.65.290 applicable.

"parole officer" means a person appointed by the commissioner of corrections or employed by a
correctional facility in this state to perform the duties of supervising the parole of prisoners under AS
33.16;

"police officer" means

(A) a full-time employee of the state or a municipal police department with the authority to arrest and
issue citations; detain a person taken into custody until that person can be arraigned before a
judge or magistrate; conduct investigations of violations of and enforce criminal laws,
regulations, and traffic laws; search with or without a warrant persons, dwellings, and other forms
of property for evidence of a crime; and take other action consistent with exercise of these
enumerated powers when necessary to maintain the public peace;

(B) an officer or employee of the Department of Transportation and Public Facilities who is stationed
at an international airport and has been designated to have the general police powers authorized
under AS 02.15.230(a);

(C) a University of Alaska public safety officer with general police powers authorized under AS
14.40.043 ;
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(8) "probation officer" means a person appointed by the commissioner of corrections to perform the duties of
a probation officer under AS 33.05.

ALASKA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE
TITLE 13. PUBLIC SAFETY
PART 1. DIVISION OF ALASKA STATE TROOPERS
CHAPTER 30. CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

13 AAC 30.010. Issuance of New Permits; Replacement of a Permit

(a) Repealed 5/8/2002.

(b) A permit issued under AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790 authorizes the permittee to carry a concealed handgun
as provided by AS 11 and AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790.

{c) The department will replace a permit if the permittee appears in person at an office of the Alaska State
Troopers to certify under oath, on a form provided by the department, that the permit has been lost,
stolen, or destroyed and to provide the items required by AS 18.65.730 . Replacement of a permit under
this subsection does not change the expiration date of that permit.

(d) The department will issue a permit to carry a concealed handgun to an honorably retired peace officer of
this state who complies with the requirements of AS 18.65.700 (e) and

(1) repeaied 5/8/2002;
(2) repealed 5/8/2002;
(3) provides the department with proof of
(A) handgun training as specified in 13 AAC 30.090(a) ; or

(B) handgun qualification as specified in 13 AAC 30.090(d) .

13 AAC 30.020. PERMIT RENEWALS.
Repealed (05/08/2002)

13 AAC 30.040. FEES.

(a) Before processing an application for a permit, certificate, or other service under this chapter, the
department will collect a nonrefundable fee as foliows:
) new permit application fee ................... $40 plus the fees required for fingerprint processing
under 13 AAC 68.900, if applicable;
(2) permitrenewal.......................ooccii $25;
(3) permit replacement.................................. $25;
(2) Repealed 5/8/2002
(3) New permit application fee for an honorably retired peace officer $40
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The department will conduct a periodic review of the cost of administering the program under this
chapter and may adjust the fees set out in (a) of this section after compliance with AS 44.62

{(Administrative Procedures Act).

13 AAC 30.050. PROCESSING OF APPLICATIONS; APPEALS.

(a)
(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

®

Repealed 5/08/2002
An application for a
1) new permit

(A) from a person who is not applying as an honorably retired peace officer under
AS 18.65.700(e) is complete when the requirements of AS 18.65.700(a) and this chapter

have been met.

(B) from a person who is applying as an honorably retired peace officer under AS 18.65.700
(e) is complete when the requirements of AS 18.65.700 (e), 13 AAC 30.085, and 13 AAC

30.080 have been met;

(2) replacement permit is complete when the requirements of 18.65.730 and 13 AAC 30.032 have
been met.

(3) permit renewal is complete when the requirements of AS 18.65.725 have been met.

(3) Repealed 5/08/2002

(5) handgun course certificate of approval is complete when the requirements of 13 AAC 30.070
have been met.

The office that received the application will promptly send it to the department's permits and licensing
unit..

The department's permits and licensing unit will request permit eligibility information from the Federal
Bureau of Investigation, or another agency, that is necessary to make a determination concerning the

application.

Review of an application for a permit, certificate, or other service under this chapter will be discontinued
if

(1) a fee check is returned by a financial institution as being without sufficient funds or is otherwise
uncollectible;

(2) discrepancies or omissions are present in the application, or in documents submitted with the
application, or the application or accompanying documents have not been completed correctly;

(3) fingerprints accompanying the application are not sufficiently readable for manual or computer
use, or the information required to be submitted on fingerprint forms has not been completed
correctly;

4) the department determines that the application or a document submitted in connection with the

application contains a false statement that the applicant does not believe to be true; or

(5) the department determines that the applicant is not otherwise qualified or entitled to obtain the
permit, certificate, or other service requested.

If review of an application is discontinued under (e) of this section, the department will mail to the
applicant the department's written reasons for the discontinuance. The department will resume reviewing
the application if, within 90 days after the date of he department's written notice that review has been
discontinued, the applicant provides supplementary information to the department that resolves the
reason for the discontinuance; and necessary supplementary information is described in 13 AAC
30.130(a) if the discontinuance is related to the criteria under AS 18.65.700 (a)(8). The department will

FORMS\ACHPLAW (05/08) g



(h)

(i)

ALASKA CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT INFORMATION

reject the application if that information is not provided to the department within 90 days after the date of
the department's written notice to the applicant that review has been discontinued.

If after review of an appiication, the application is denied, the department will mail to the applicant a
notice of denial containing written reasons for the denial. A person whose application has been denied
may appeal to the commissioner for reversal of the decision. The appeal must be received in writing
within 30 days after the date of the notice of denial, and must set out the reasons for the appeal. The

decision of the

commissioner or the commissioner's designee will be in writing and will be made within 45 days after

receipt of the appeal.

A person whose application has been rejected or denied under this section

(1) may not apply again for a period of five years if the rejection or denial was for the reason set out
in (e)(4) of this section and the false statement related to a material matter;

(2) Repealed 5/08/2002

The department shall issue a permit that states that the permit holder is "not nics exempt” if the permit
holder's fingerprints have been rejected by the Federal Bureau of Investigation as not sufficiently

readable for manual or computer use.

13 AAC 30.060. SUSPENSION AND REVOCATION OF PERMITS; APPEALS.

(a)

(b)

(c)

(d)

(e)

®

(@)

If the department suspends a permit under AS 18.65.735, the department immediately will mail or deliver
a notice of the suspension to the permittee. The permittee is required by AS 18.65.735 to immediately

surrender the permit to the nearest peace officer.

A suspension of a permit under (a) of this section remains in effect until the permit is revoked or the
permittee provides proof satisfactory to the department that the reason for the suspension has been

rectified.

If the department revokes a permit under AS 18.65.740, the department immediately will mail or deliver
a notice of the revocation to the permittee. The permittee is required by AS 18.65.740 to surrender the

permit to the nearest peace officer.

For purposes of revocation under AS 18.65.740, the date of conviction is the date sentence was imposed
or imposition of sentence was suspended under AS 12.55.085 or a similar procedure in another

jurisdiction.

If a peace officer believes that a permit is subject to suspension or revocation under AS 18.65.735 or
18.65.740, the officer shall immediately notify the department's permits and licensing unit of the identity
and location of the permittee and the grounds for suspension or revocation.

A permittee who becomes subject to suspension or revocation under {a) or (c) of this section shall
immediately notify the department and surrender the permit to the nearest peace officer.

If, under 13 AAC 30.130(b), the department has reason to believe that a permittee suffers from a
physical infirmity that may prevent the safe handling of a handgun, the department will mail or deliver to
the permittee a notice that the department intends to revoke the permittee’s permit because of the
physical infirmity. After mailing or delivery of the notice, the following procedures apply:

(M the permittee may submit to the department, within 30 days after the date of the notice, a written
report by a physician, optometrist, or other competent medical authority, who can lawfully
practice in this state, that, as determined from an examination within the six months before the
date of the notice, the permittee does not suffer from the physical infirmity;
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(6)
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(8)
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if the permittee demonstrates to the department that circumstances beyond the permittee's
control prevent the submission of the report within the 30 days, the department will extend the

deadline for 15 days;

if the necessary report is not received by the department by the deadline in (1) or (2) of this
subsection, whichever is applicable, the permit is automaticaily revoked and the department will

so notify the permittee;

if the permittee submits a report by the deadline set in (1) or (2) of this subsection, but the
department determines that the report does not substantiate that the permittee does not suffer
from the physical infirmity, the department will mail or deliver to the permittee a notice that the
permittee, within 30 days after the date of the notice under this paragraph, may submit another
report to meet the requirements of (1) of this subsection:

if a second report is necessary under (4) of this subsection but is not received by the department
by the deadline set by that paragraph, the permit is automatically revoked and the department
will so notify the permittee;

if a permit is revoked under this subsection, the permittee, upon receipt of the revocation notice
under (3) or (5) of this subsection, shall immediately surrender the permit to the nearest peace
officer,

if the department timely receives a report that meets the requirements of this subsection, the
department will notify the permittee that the permit is not revoked:

a permittee whose permit is revoked under this subsection may appeal the revocation under the
procedures in (j) of this section.

(h) If, under 13 AAC 30.130(b), the department has reason to believe that a permittee is not able to safely or
competently handle a handgun, the department will mail or deliver to the permittee a notice that the
department intends to revoke the permittee's permit. After mailing or delivery of the notice, the following

procedures apply:

(1)

(@)

()

(4)

(5)

(6)

the permittee may submit to the department, within 30 days after the date of the notice, a
certificate of completion from an approved handgun course verifying that the permittee has, no
earlier than six months before the date of the notice, taken and successfully completed the part
of the handgun course described in 13 AAC 30.070(a)(1)(A)iv);

if the permittee demonstrates to the department that circumstances beyond the permittee's
control prevent the submission of the certificate of completion within the 30 days, the department
will extend the deadline for 15 days;

if the certificate of completion required by (1) of this subsection is not received by the
department by the deadline in (1) or (2) of this subsection, whichever is applicable, the permit is
automatically revoked and the department will so notify the permittee;

if a permit is revoked under this subsection, the permittee, upon receipt of the revocation notice
under (3) of this subsection, shall immediately surrender the permit to the nearest peace officer;

if the department timely receives the certificate of completion required by (1) of this subsection,
the department will notify the permittee that the permit is not revoked;

a permittee whose permit is revoked under this subsection may appeal the revocation under the
procedures in (j) of this section.

i A peace officer who receives a surrendered permit shall immediately

(1)

(2)

notify the department's permits and licensing unit, identifying the permittee who surrendered the
permit, and the date, time, and location the permit was surrendered: and

send the surrendered permit to the department's permits and licensing unit.
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i A person who has surrendered a permit because it has been revoked under this section may appeal to
the commissioner for reversal of the revocation. The appeal must be received in writing within 30 days
after the date of the notice of revocation, and must set out the reasons for the appeal. The decision of
the commissioner or the commissioner's designee will be in writing and will be made within 45 calendar

days after receipt of the appeal.

(k) A person whose permit is revoked

(1) under AS 85.65.740 (a)(1) or (3) may not apply for a new permit under 13 AAC 30.010 sooner
than five years following the date of the notice of revocation:

(2) under AS 18.65.740 (a)(2) may not apply for a new permit under 13 AAC 30.010 until the person
qualifies under AS 18.65.705 (4).

) A permit that is revoked under (g) or (h) of this section may be reinstated if the former permittee provides
proof to the department that the reason for revocation has been rectified and complies with the
requirements of 13 AAC 30.020 if the person applies for renewal no later than the 31st day after the
original permit would have expired had it not been revoked. If the former permittee does not meet the
deadline in this subsection for reinstatement of the permit, the former permittee may apply for a new
permit under 13 AAC 30.010, and must provide proof to the department that the reason for revocation

has been rectified.

13 AAC 30.070. APPROVAL OF HANDGUN COURSES.

(a) A person who or organization that wishes to provide a handgun course for the purposes of AS 18.65.715
shall apply to the department, on a form provided by the department, for approval of the course. After
processing and review under 13 AAC 30.050, the department will approve the course and will issue a

certificate of approval if
)] the application contains sufficient curriculum and course information to show that

(A) the curriculum includes at least 12 hours of training in the use of handguns that instructs
the student in

) knowledge of Alaska law relating to firearms and the use of deadly force,
including instruction in statutes, administrative regulations, and case law,
(i) the basic concepts of the safe and responsible use of handguns;

iii) knowledge of self-defense principles; and

(iv) the physical handling, mechanics, carrying, transporting, storage, loading, and
unloading of handguns, including a test of competence of a handgun.

(B) the instruction in the subjects listed in (A)(ii) - (A)(iv) of this paragraph will be provided
by an instructor for whom information has been submitted to the department as provided
in (3) of this subsection;

(C) the instruction in the subjects listed in (A)(i) of this paragraph will be provided by an
attorney licensed to practice law in this state, or by a person with a valid certification as a
police officer issued by the Alaska Police Standards Council;

(2) the application contains information sufficient to substantiate that the course will ensure that

(A) a student who has successfully completed instruction in the subjects listed in (1)(A) of
this subsection will be provided with a certificate showing the course title, printed name
and signature of the primary training instructor, the student's printed name, the student's
Alaska driver's license or identification card number, the name of the organization
conducting the instruction, the date of successful completion of the instruction, and a
statement that the student has demonstrated physical competence with a handgun as
required by AS 18.65.715 ; and
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upon request, the department will be
M allowed access to course facilities during times of instruction:

(i) allowed access at reasonable times to all records related to the applicant's
handgun course;

(ifi) provided with documentation to confirm the attendance and completion records
of a student who applies for a permit;

(iv) provided with other information needed to assess the course's qualification for
purposes of AS 18.65.715;

(3) the application is accompanied by the following for each course instructor described in (1)(B) of
this subsection:

(A)

(B)

(C)

complete instructor information on a form provided by the department, signed by the
instructor and the person signing the application under this section, and containing the

information specified in (b) of this section:

two sets of fingerprints, obtained as specified in 13 AAC 30.100(b) , and the fee required
by 13 AAC 68.900, unless two sets of the instructor's fingerprints have been submitted to
the department, for purposes of this chapter, within the 12 months preceding the date of

the application; and

Repealed 5/08/2002

(b) A completed instructor information form required by (a)(3) of this section must

(1 show that the subject instructor is eligible to possess a firearm under the laws of this state and
under federal law;

(2) state the subject instructor's Alaska driver's license number or identification card number; and

(3) have attached to it a copy of a certificate of training showing that

(A) the subject instructor has successfully completed a handgun instructor's training course
recognized by the department under (d) of this section as providing adequate handgun
instructor training; and

(B) the subject instructor's signed statement that the subject instructor remains current with
the standards of that handgun instructor's training course.

(c) The instructor information form provided by the department and referred to in (a) and (b) of this section
will contain the statement that a person signing the form
) understands that an investigation may be conducted regarding the information given on the form,
including a search of computer records; and
2) the person authorizes the investigation.
(d) The department will recognize a handgun instructor's training course as providing adequate handgun
instruction training if the course provides students with instruction in
(1) how to instruct in the topics set out in (a)(1)(A) of this section:
(2) preparing a curriculum and course outline for a handgun training course;
(3) organizing and conducting a handgun training course;
(4) use of visual aids and techniques in student skill development; and
(5) proper testing techniques.
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An application for a certificate of approval for a handgun course must be signed by a person designated
as the chief operating officer of the course. In addition to the penalty provided in AS 18.65.710(a)(6), a
false statement made in an application, on a form, or in other information provided to the department
under this section for the purposes of this chapter and AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790 is punishable under

AS 11.56.210.

A person who or organization that has been issued a certificate of approval under this section shall notify
the department's permits and licensing unit in writing if the person or organization is no longer providing

instruction on an annual basis.
As used in this section, "instruction" or "instructs” includes testing in the subject matter of the curriculum.

13 AAC 30.080. REVOCATION OF HANDGUN COURSE CERTIFICATE OF APPROVAL.

(a)

(c)

(d)

(e)

Except as provided in (b) of this section, the department will immediately revoke a handgun course
certificate of approval issued under 13 AAC 30.070, and will mail to the certificate holder a notice of the

revocation, if the

(1) department has reason to believe that the handgun course no longer meets the requirements of
13 AAC 30.070(a) for approval of a handgun course; or

(2) certificate holder submitted an application under 13 AAC 30.070, or a document in connection
with the application, that contained a

(A) false statement that the applicant does not believe to be true: or
(B) material misstatement or omission.

If the department obtains information about an instructor of an approved handgun course that would
result in denial of the handgun course's application for a certificate of approval if the application was
being considered by the department, the department will immediately notify the chief operating officer of
the handgun course that, in order to retain the course's certificate of approval, the instructor may not be
allowed to continue providing instruction for purposes of AS 18.65.715. The course of instruction being
provided by that instructor at the time of notice under this subsection will not satisfy the requirements of
AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790 and 13 AAC 30.010 — 13 AAC 30.900. If the department determines that the
instructor is continuing to provide instruction for purposes of AS 18.65.715, the department will
immediately revoke the handgun course's certificate of approval and will mail to the certificate holder a
notice of revocation.

The holder of a certificate of approval that is revoked under this section may appeal the revocation to the
commissioner. The appeal must be received in writing within 30 days after the date of the notice of
revocation, and must set out the reasons for the appeal. The decision of the commissioner or the
commissioner's designee will be in writing and will be made within 45 calendar days after receipt of the

appeal.

The holder of a certificate of approval that is revoked under this section shall immediately surrender the
certificate by sending it to the department's permits and licensing unit.

A certificate of approval that is revoked under this section may be reinstated if the person or organization
operating the handgun course (1) provides proof to the department that the reason for the revocation has
been rectified; and (2) resubmits an application for a certificate of approval that meets the requirements
of 13 AAC 30.070. However, a certificate of approval that was revoked for the reason set out in (a)(2) of
this section may not be reinstated sooner than one year following the date of the notice of revocation

under this section.

13 AAC 30.085. ESTABLISHING ELIGIBILITY AS AN HONORABLY RETIRED PEACE OFFICER. In order to
establish eligibility as an "honorably retired peace officer of this state” for the purposes of AS 18.65.700(e), the

applicant must provide

(1) evidence satisfactory to the department to show
(A) employment as a peace officer with a law enforcement agency in this state
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(i) for two or more years before terminating as a peace officer: and
(ii) within the one year before application for a permit under this chapter; and

(B) the person did not terminate employment as a peace officer in lieu of firing, suspension,
or other involuntary separation or employee discipline; and

(2) Repealed 5/08/2002

13 AAC 30.090. PROOF OF HANDGUN TRAINING.

(a)

(b)
(c)
(d)

Proof of handgun training for purposes of obtaining a new permit is established by providing to the
department, at the time of the application, a copy of a certificate of successful completion of an
approved handgun course; the certificate must contain the information required by
13 AAC 30.070(a)(2)(A) and must show that a course described in 13 AAC 30.070(a) has been
completed within the 12 months immediately before submitting the application.

Repealed 12/9/98.

Repealed 12/9/98.

An honorably retired peace officer making application under AS 18.65.700(e) desiring to satisfy the
handgun qualification requirements for a permit by demonstrating that the applicant has qualified with a
handgun within five years of the peace officer's termination of employment from the law enforcement
agency must submit a notarized copy of the applicant's record of the handgun qualification and a copy of
the law enforcement agency's handgun qualification policy along with the applicant's completed
application. The record of handgun qualification must indicate that the applicant's score met or
exceeded the minimum passing standard under the handgun qualification policy. For purposes of this
subsection, "handgun qualification policy" means the standards by which a person qualified to carry a
handgun as part of the person's official duties as a peace officer for the law enforcement agency.

13 AAC 30.100. PHOTOGRAPHS AND FINGERPRINTS.

(a)

(b)

(c)

A photograph submitted under AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790 and this chapter must be one frontal views that
include the head and shoulders, must be taken within the 30 days before submission, and must be of a
size, color, and condition that will allow the photographs to be processed in the department's
identification production equipment. Applications and other forms provided by the department under this
chapter will contain detailed specifications for photographs, necessary for processing.

Fingerprints submitted under AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790 and this chapter must be taken within the 90
days before submission on forms approved by the Federal Bureau of Investigation and in accordance
with instructions on those forms. If the fingerprints submitted by an applicant are not sufficiently
readable, the applicant must obtain another set at the applicant's expense. Fingerprints may be taken by
(1) a law enforcement agency or state correctional facility; or (2) a person, not affiliated with a law
enforcement agency or state correctional facility, who holds a current commission as a notary public in
Alaska and who has received the department's written approval to take fingerprints. A list of persons or
agencies approved to take fingerprints will be made available to the public.

Repealed 5/08/2002.

13 AAC 30.110. NOTIFICATION OF PLACES WHERE CONCEALED HANDGUNS MAY NOT BE CARRIED.

(a)
(b)

Repealed 5/08/2002

Nothing in this chapter or AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790 precludes a person from posting, to the extent
allowed by law, a notice regarding the carrying of a concealed handgun.

13 AAC 30.120.FORM OF PERMITS. A permit will

(1) display a color photograph of the permittee;
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(2) show the permittee's name, city and state of residence, date of birth, and physicail description
including height, weight, race, hair color, and eye color;

(3) show the expiration date of the permit; and
(4) repealed 5/8/2002.

13 AAC 30.130. QUALIFICATIONS REGARDING SAFE HANDLING OF A HANDGUN.

(a) The department, under 13 AAC 30.050, will discontinue review of an application for a permit, permit
upgrade, or permit renewal, if the department has reason to believe that the applicant suffers from a
physical infirmity that may prevent the safe handling of a handgun. The department will request from the
applicant, as supplementary information under 13 AAC 30.050(f), a written report by a physician,
optometrist, or other competent medical authority, who can tawfully practice in this state, that, the
applicant does not currently suffer from a physical infirmity that prevents the safe handling of a handgun.

(b) The department will notify a permittee that it intends to revoke a permit under 13 AAC 30.060(g) or (h) if,
after investigation of a report from a criminal justice agency, physician or other medical provider, or
member of the general public relating to the handling of a handgun by, or the physical condition of, a
permittee, the department has reason to believe that a permittee

(1) suffers from a physical infirmity that may prevent the safe handling of a handgun, the
department will use the procedures set out in 13 AAC 30.060(g) to revoke the permit;

(2) is not able to safely or competently handle a handgun, the department will use the procedures
set out in 13 AAC 30.060(h) to revoke the permit.

(c) The department will not investigate a report relating to the handling of a handgun by, or the physical
condition of, a permittee unless the report

M is in writing;

(2) is signed; and

(3) provides specific information pertaining to the permittee's physical condition, or handling of a
handgun.

13 AAC 30.140. APPLICATION FORMS.

(a) The department will provide application forms for persons to use in applying for a permit, certificate of
approval, or other service under this chapter. An application form submitted under this chapter, and any

document accompanying an application form, must be completed in ink.
(b) Along with an application form, the department will provide to an applicant for a permit
(1) a copy of the definitions of the following terms, as set out in 13 AAC 30.900:
(A) alcohol treatment program;
(B) convicted;
(C) felony;
(D) resident; and
(E) substance abuse treatment program.

(2) a concise summary of where, when, and by whom a handgun can be carried under state and
federal law; and

(3) written notice that, for purposes of AS 18.65.705(4) and (5), the date of conviction is the date
sentence was imposed or imposition of sentence was suspended under AS 12.55.085 or a similar
procedure in another jurisdiction.

13 AAC 30.150. RECIPROCITY.

FORMS\ACHPLAW (05/08) 16



ALASKA CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT INFORMATION

The department will post, on its official Internet website, the status of reciprocity with another state or a political
subdivision of another state. The department will distribute a list of those jurisdictions with reciprocity to a person

who makes a request.

13 AAC 30.800.CONFIDENTIALITY.
Repealed 5/08/2002

13 AAC 30.900. DEFINITIONS.
(a) In this chapter,

(1) repealed 5/8/2002;
(2) repealed 12/9/98:;

3)

(4)
®)
(6)

(7)
(8)
)

(10)

(11)
(12)

"approved handgun course" means a handgun course that has a certificate of approval under
13 AAC 30.070;

"competence" has the meaning given in AS 18.65.790:
"commissioner" means the commissioner of the Department of Public Safety;

“convicted” or "conviction" means that a person has entered a plea of guilty or no contest to, or
has been found guilty by a court or jury of, a criminal offense, regardless of whether the
judgment was after that set aside under AS 12.55.085 or a similar procedure in another
jurisdiction, or was the subject of a pardon or other executive clemency, but does not include a
judgment that has been reversed or vacated by a court as a result of motion, appellate action,
petition for writ of habeas corpus, or application for post-conviction relief under Rule 35.1 of the
Alaska Rules of Criminal Procedure or a similar procedure in another jurisdiction;

"department” means the Department of Public Safety:

repealed 12/9/98;

"office of the Alaska State Troopers" means an office of

(A) the Department of Public Safety, division of Alaska state troopers;

(B) the Department of Public Safety, division of fish and wildlife protection; or

(C) a municipal police department that has submitted a written request to the commissioner
to accept applications for concealed handgun permits, and has been approved in writing
by the commissioner to accept applications:

"permit” means a permit to carry a concealed handgun issued under this chapter;

"permittee” means a person to whom a permit has been issued.

"nics" means National Instant Check System administered by the Federal Bureau of

Investigation.

(b) As used in AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790,

(1

2)

©)
(4)

"alcohol treatment program" means counseling about the effects of the consumption of alcohol
on human behavior and physiology, whether provided individually or in a group, by a public or
private agency, or on an in-patient or out-patient basis:

"approved handgun course” means a course of handgun instruction operated by the holder of a
certificate of approval issued under 13 AAC 30.070:

“convicted" has the meaning given in (a) of this section:

repealed 12/9/98;
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(5) "felony” means an offense punishable by more than a year of incarceration if committed by an
adult, under the laws of this state or a similar law of another jurisdiction;

(8) repealed 12/9/98;

(7) “judge" means a judge, justice, magistrate, or deputy magistrate of this state or the United
States, whether sitting in a regular or pro tem capacity, but does not include a special or standing
master, or an administrative law judge or hearing officer;

(8) repealed 12/9/98;
(9) repealed 12/9/98;
(10) "resident" has the meaning given in AS 01.10.055;

(11)  "statement" has the meaning in AS 11.56.240:

(12)  "substance abuse treatment program" means counseling about the effects on human behavior
and physiology, of the consumption of alcohol, ilegal drugs, or other controlled substances,
excluding tobacco, whether provided individually or in a group, by a public or private agency, or
on an in-patient or out-patient basis;

(13)  repealed 12/9/98;

(14)  "honorably retired peace officer of this state" means a peace officer who establishes eligibility
under 13 AAC 30.085;

(15)  "peace officer" has the meaning given in AS 11.81.900.

(c) As used in AS 18.65.700 - 18.65.790 and this chapter, "identification card” means an identification card,
issued by the department, that contains a photograph of the person named on the card.
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Selected Alaska Statutes regarding misconduct involving weapons.

Sec. 11.61.190. Misconduct involving weapons in the first degree.

(a) A person commits the crime of misconduct involving weapons in the first degree if the person
(1) uses or attempts to use a firearm during the commission of an offense under AS 11.71.010 -
11.71.040; or
(2) discharges a fireamm from a propelled vehicle while the vehicle is being operated and under circumstances
manifesting substantial and unjustifiable risk of physical injury to a person or damage to property.

(b) Misconduct involving weapons in the first degree is a class A felony.
Sec. 11.61.195. Misconduct involving weapons in the second degree.

(a) A person commits the crime of misconduct involving weapons in the second degree if the person knowingly

(1) possesses a firearm during the commission of an offense under AS 11.71.010 - 11.71.040;

(2) violates AS 11.61.200 (a)(1) and is within the grounds of or on a parking lot immediately adjacent to
(A) a public or private preschool, elementary, junior high, or secondary school without the
permission of the chief administrative officer of the school or district or the designee of the chief
administrative officer; or
(B) an entity, other than a private residence, licensed as a child care facility under AS 47.32 or
recognized by the federal government for the care of children: or

(3) discharges a firearm at or in the direction of
(A) a building with reckless disregard for a risk of physical injury to a person; or

(B) a dwelling.
(b) Misconduct involving weapons in the second degree is a class B felony.
Sec. 11.61.200. Misconduct involving weapons in the third degree.

(a) A person commits the crime of misconduct involving weapons in the third degree if the person
(1) knowingly possesses a firearm capable of being concealed on one's person after having been convicted of
a felony or adjudicated a delinquent minor for conduct that would constitute a felony if committed by an adult
by a court of this state, a court of the United States, or a court of ancther state or territory;
(2) knowingly seils or transfers a firearm capable of being concealed on one's person to a person who
has been convicted of a felony by a court of this state, a court of the United States, or a court of another
state or territory;
(3) manufactures, possesses, transports, sells, or transfers a prohibited weapon;
(4) knowingly sells or transfers a firearm to another whose physical or mental condition is substantially
impaired as a result of the introduction of an intoxicating liquor or controlled substance into that other

person's body;
(5) removes, covers, alters, or destroys the manufacturer's serial number on a firearm with intent to

render the firearm untraceable;

(6) possesses a firearm on which the manufacturer's serial number has been removed, covered, altered,
or destroyed, knowing that the serial number has been removed, covered, altered, or destroyed with the
intent of rendering the firearm untraceable;

(7) violates AS 11.46.320 and, during the violation, possesses on the person a firearm when the person's
physical or mental condition is impaired as a result of the introduction of an intoxicating liquor or
controlled substance into the person's body;

(8) violates AS 11.46.320 or 11.46.330 by entering or remaining unlawfully on premises or in a propelied
vehicle in violation of a provision of an order issued or filed under AS 18.66.100 - 18.66.180 or issued
under former AS 25.35.010 (b) or 25.35.020 and, during the violation, possesses on the person a
defensive weapon or a deadly weapon, other than an ordinary pocketknife;

(9) communicates in person with another in violation of AS 11.56.740 and, during the communication,
possesses on the person a defensive weapon or a deadly weapon, other than an ordinary pocketknife;
(10) resides in a dwelling knowing that there is a firearm capable of being concealed on one's person or a
prohibited weapon in the dwelling if the person has been convicted of a felony by a court of this state, a
court of the United States, or a court of another state or territory, unless the person has written
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authorization to live in a dwelling in which there is a concealable weapon described in this paragraph
from a court of competent jurisdiction or from the head of the law enforcement agency of the community
in which the dwelling is located:

(11) discharges a firearm from a propelled vehicle while the vehicle is being operated in circumstances
other than described in AS 11.61.190(a)(2); or

(12) knowingly possesses a firearm that is concealed on the person after having been convicted of a felony or
adjudicated a delinquent minor for conduct that would constitute a felony if committed by an adult by a court of
this state, a court of the United States, or a court of another state or territory.

(b) Itis an affirmative defense to a prosecution

(1) under (a)(1) of this section that
(A) the person convicted of the prior offense on which the action is based received a pardon for
that conviction;
(B) the underlying conviction upon which the action is based has been set aside under AS
12.55.085 or as a result of post-conviction proceedings; or
(C) a period of 10 years or more has elapsed between the date of the person's unconditional
discharge on the prior offense or adjudication of juvenile delinquency and the date of the
violation of (a)(1) of this section, and the prior conviction or adjudication of juvenile delinquency
did not resuit from a violation of AS 11.41 or of a similar law of the United States or of another
state or territory;

(2) under (a)(2) or (10) of this section that
(A) the person convicted of the prior offense on which the action is based received a pardon for
that conviction;
(B) the underlying conviction upon which the action is based has been set aside under AS
12.55.085 or as a result of post-conviction proceedings; or
(C) a period of 10 years or more has elapsed between the date of the person’s unconditional
discharge on the prior offense and the date of the violation of (a)(2) or (10) of this section, and
the prior conviction did not resuit from a violation of AS 11.41 or of a similar law of the United
States or of another state or territory.

(c) Itis an affirmative defense to a prosecution under (a)(3) of this section that the manufacture, possession,
transportation, sale, or transfer of the prohibited weapon was in accordance with registration under 26 U.S.C.
5801-5872 (National Firearms Act).

(d) Itis an affirmative defense to a prosecution under (a)(11) of this section that the person was using a firearm
while hunting, trapping, or fishing in a manner not prohibited by statute or regulation.

(e) The provisions of (a)(3) and (11) of this section do not apply to a peace officer acting within the scope and
authority of the officer's employment.

(f) For purposes of (a)(12) of this section, a firearm on a person is concealed if it is covered or enclosed in any
manner so that an observer cannot determine that it is a firearm without removing it from that which covers or

encloses it or without opening, lifting, or removing that which covers or encloses it. A firearm on a person is not
concealed if it is unloaded and is encased in a closed container designed for transporting firearms.

(9) Itis an affirmative defense to a prosecution under (a)(12) of this section that

(1) either
(A) the defendant convicted of the prior offense on which the action is based received a pardon
for that conviction;
(B) the underlying conviction upon which the action is based has been set aside under AS
12.55.085 or as a result of post-conviction proceedings; or
(C) a period of 10 years or more has elapsed between the date of the defendant's unconditional
discharge on the prior offense or adjudication of juvenile delinquency and the date of the
violation of (a)(12) of this section, and the prior conviction or adjudication of juvenile delinquency
did not result from a violation of AS 11.41 or of a similar law of the United States or of another
state or territory; and

(2) at the time of possession, the defendant was
(A) in the defendant's dwelling or on land owned or leased by the defendant appurtenant to the
dwelling; or
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(B) actually engaged in lawful hunting, fishing, trapping, or other lawful cutdoor activity that necessarily
involves the carrying of a weapon for personal protection.

(h) As used in this section,

(1) "prohibited weapon" means any
(A) explosive, incendiary, or noxious gas
(i) mine or device that is designed, made, or adapted for the purpose of inflicting serious
physical injury or death;
(i) rocket, other than an emergency flare, having a propellant charge of more than four
ounces;
(iii} bomb; or
(iv) grenade;
(B) device designed, made, or adapted to muffle the report of a firearm;
(C) firearm that is capable of shooting more than one shot automatically, without manual
reloading, by a single function of the trigger; or
(D) rifle with a barrel length of less than 16 inches, shotgun with a barrel length of less than 18 inches,
or firearm made from a rifle or shotgun which, as modified, has an overall length of
less than 26 inches;
(2) "unconditional discharge" has the meaning ascribed to it in AS 12.55.185.

(i) Misconduct involving weapons in the third degree is a class C felony.

Sec. 11.61.210. Misconduct involving weapons in the fourth degree.

(a) A person commits the crime of misconduct involving weapons in the fourth degree if the person

(1) possesses on the person, or in the interior of a vehicle in which the person is present, a firearm when
the person's physical or mental condition is impaired as a result of the introduction of an intoxicating
liquor or a controlled substance into the person's body in circumstances other than described in AS
11.61.200 (a)(7);
(2) discharges a firearm from, on, or across a highway;
(3) discharges a firearm with reckless disregard for a risk of damage to property or a risk of physical
injury to a person under circumstances other than those described in AS 11.61.195 (a)(3)}(A);
(4) manufactures, possesses, transports, sells, or transfers metal knuckles;
(5) manufactures, sells, or transfers a switchblade or a gravity knife;
(6) knowingly sells a firearm or a defensive weapon to a person under 18 years of age;
(7) other than a preschool, elementary, junior high, or secondary school student, knowingly possesses a
deadly weapon or a defensive weapon, without the permission of the chief administrative officer of the
school or district or the designee of the chief administrative officer, within the buildings of, on the
grounds of, or on the school parking lot of a public or private preschool, elementary, junior high, or
secondary school, on a school bus while being transported to or from school or a school-sponsored
event, or while participating in a school-sponsored event, except that a person 21 years of age or older
may possess
(A) a deadly weapon, other than a loaded firearm, in the trunk of a motor vehicle or encased in a
closed container in a motor vehicle;

(B) a defensive weapon;
(C) an uniloaded firearm if the person is traversing school premises in a rural area for the

purpose of entering public or private land that is open to hunting and the school board with
jurisdiction over the school premises has elected to have this exemption apply to the school
premises; in this subparagraph, "rural” means a community with a population of 5,500 or less
that is not connected by road or rail to Anchorage or Fairbanks or with a population of 1,500 or
less that is connected by road or rail to Anchorage or Fairbanks; or

(8) being a preschool, elementary, junior high, or secondary schooi student, knowingly possesses a deadly
weapon or a defensive weapon, within the buildings of, on the grounds of, or on the school parking lot
of a public or private preschool, elementary, junior high, or secondary school, on a school bus while
being transported to or from school or a school-sponsored event, or while participating in a school-
sponsored event, except that a student may possess a deadly weapon, other than a firearm as defined
under 18 U.S.C. 921, or a defensive weapon if the student has obtained the prior permission of the
chief administrative officer of the school or district or the designee of the chief administrative officer for

the possession.
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(b) [Repealed, Sec. 4 ch 63 SLA 1990].

(c) The provisions of (a)(7) of this section do not apply to a peace officer acting within the scope and authority of
the officer's employment.

(d) Misconduct involving weapons in the fourth degree is a class A misdemeanor.

Sec. 11.61.215. Intoxication as applicable to possession of a firearm. [Repealed, Sec. 11 ch 59 SLA 1991 ].
Repealed or Renumbered

Sec. 11.61.220. Misconduct involving weapons in the fifth degree.

(a) A person commits the crime of misconduct involving weapons in the fifth degree if the person
(1) is 21 years of age or older and knowingly possesses a deadly weapon, other than an ordinary pocket knife

or a defensive weapon,
(A) that is concealed on the person, and, when contacted by a peace officer, the person fails to

(i) immediately inform the peace officer of that possession; or
(i1) allow the peace officer to secure the deadly weapon, or fails to secure the weapon at
the direction of the peace officer, during the duration of the contact:

(B) that is concealed on the person within the residence of another person unless the person has first
obtained the express permission of an adult residing there to bring a concealed deadly

weapon within the residence;

(2) knowingly possesses a loaded firearm on the person in any place where intoxicating liquor is sold for
consumption on the premises;

(3) being an unemancipated minor under 16 years of age, possesses a firearm without the consent of a
parent or guardian of the minor;

(4) knowingly possesses a firearm
(A) within the grounds of or on a parking lot immediately adjacent to an entity, other than a private

residence, licensed as a child care facility under AS 47.32 or recognized by the federal
government for the care of children, except that a person 21 years of age or older may
possess an unloaded firearm in the trunk of a motor vehicle or encased in a closed container

of a motor vehicle;
(B) within a
(i) courtroom or office of the Alaska Court System; or
(ii) courthouse that is occupied only by the Alaska Court System and other justice-related

agencies; or
(C) within a domestic violence or sexual assault shelter that receives funding from the state:

(5) possesses or transports a switchblade or a gravity knife; or

(6) is less than 21 years of age and knowingly possesses a deadly weapon, other than an ordinary pocket knife
or a defensive weapon, that is concealed on the person.

(b} In a prosecution under (a)(6) of this section, it is an affirmative defense that the defendant, at the time of

possession, was
(1) in the defendant's dwelling or on land owned or leased by the defendant appurtenant to the dwelling;

or
(2) actually engaged in lawful hunting, fishing, trapping, or other lawful outdoor activity that necessarily

involves the carrying of a weapon for personal protection.

(c) The provisions of (a)(2) and (4) of this section do not apply to a peace officer acting within the scope and
authority of the officer's employment.

(d) In a prosecution under (a)(2) of this section, it is
(1) an affirmative defense that
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(A) [Repealed, Sec. 7 ch 62 SLA 2003].

(B) the loaded firearm was a concealed handgun as defined in AS 18.65.790; and

(C) the possession occurred at a place designated as a restaurant for the purposes of AS
04.16.049 and the defendant did not consume intoxicating liquor at the place;

(2) a defense that the defendant, at the time of possession, was on business premises

(A) owned by or leased by the defendant; or
(B) in the course of the defendant's employment for the owner or lessee of those premises.

(e) For purposes of this section, a deadly weapon on a person is concealed if it is covered or enclosed in any
manner so that an observer cannot determine that it is a weapon without removing it from that which covers or
encloses it or without opening, lifting, or removing that which covers or encloses it: a deadly weapon on a person
is not concealed if it is an unloaded firearm encased in a closed container designed for transporting firearms.

(f) For purposes of (a)(2) and (e) of this section, a firearm is loaded if the
(1) firing chamber, magazine, clip, or cylinder of the firearm contains a cartridge; and
(2) chamber, magazine, clip, or cylinder is installed in or on the firearm.

(g) Misconduct involving weapons in the fifth degree is a class B misdemeanor.

(h) The provisions of (a)(1) and (6) of this section do not apply to a
(1) peace officer of this state or a municipality of this state acting within the scope and authority of the

officer's employment;
(2) peace officer employed by another state or a political subdivision of another state who, at the time of
the possession, is

(A) certified as a peace officer by the other state; and

(B) acting within the scope and authority of the officer's employment; or
(3) police officer of this state or a police officer or chief administrative officer of a municipality of this
state; in this paragraph, "police officer" and "chief administrative officer" have the meanings given in AS
18.65.290 .

(i) In a prosecution
(1) under (a)(4)(B) of this section, it is a defense that the defendant, at the time of possession, was authorized

to possess the firearm under a rule of court;
(2) under (a)(4)(C) of this section, it is a defense that the defendant, at the time of possession, was
authorized in writing by the administrator of the shelter to possess the firearm.

(i) In (a)(1) of this section, "contacted by a peace officer" means stopped, detained, questioned, or addressed in
person by the peace officer for an official purpose.

Sec. 11.61.230. [Renumbered as AS 11.46.315].
Repealed or Renumbered
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STATE OF ALASKA

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

APPLICATION

for a
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

This packet contains:

e General information and instructions

* Application for a new concealed handgun permit
 Specifications and instructions for photographs and fingerprints

Direct inquiries to:

Department of Public Safety, Division of Statewide Services
Permits and Licensing Unit

5700 East Tudor Road, Anchorage, Alaska 99507
Telephone (907) 269-0392
http:/lwww.dps.state.ak.us/PermitsLicensing/achp/
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GENERAL INFORMATION - Retain for your files

1. ALASKA CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT
By submitting an application for a concealed handgun permit, you acknowledge you have read and understand the

laws and regulations relating to carrying a concealed handgun (Alaska Statutes (AS 18.65.700 — AS 18.65.790) and
Administrative Regulations (13 AAC 30.010 — 13 AAC 30.900).

2. ADDRESS, RESIDENCE, AND TELEPHONE INFORMATION
The permit holder must be a resident of Alaska for the 90 days_immediately preceding submittal of your
application. You are required to list a residence address on the application and fingerprint card and may not use
a post office box, mail drop, or lot and block number. Your residence address is your street number and name,
apartment number, city, and zip code. In outlying areas, provide a brief description of your physical address, e.g., Village
Road, fourth house on the left next to boat ramp.
Reminder: AS 18.65.765(a)(1) states the holder of a permit shall notify the department of a change in the permit

holder’s address within 30 days.

Telephone number - If there is a correctable problem on your application, we can save processing time if you list a
daytime telephone number.

3. DEFINITION OF “CONVICTION”
13 AAC 30.900(6) defines “conviction” as it applies to qualifications that must be met for an individual to possess a

Concealed Handgun Permit. It states:
“(6)“convicted” or “conviction” means that a person has entered a plea of guilty or no contest to, or has been found
guilty by a court or jury of, a criminal offense, regardless of whether the judgment was after that set aside under
AS 12.55.085 or a similar procedure in another jurisdiction, or was the subject of a pardon or other executive
clemency, but does not include a judgment that has been reversed or vacated by a court as a result of motion,
appellate action, petition for writ of habeas corpus, or application for post-conviction relief under Rule 35.1 of the
Alaska Rules of Criminal Procedure or a similar procedure in another jurisdiction.”

4. FEES
Submit the $94.25 non-refundable application fee with your application. You may pay the fee with a personal check,

cashier’s check, or money order payable to State of Alaska.

5. TRAINING DOCUMENTATION
Submit a copy of a certificate showing successful completion of a handgun course approved by the department and

completed within the previous 12 months. The certificate will not be retumed. A list of approved handgun courses is
available from the Permits and Licensing Unit at the address listed on the cover page.

6. FINGERPRINTS
Submit one set of fingerprints of acceptable technical quality. Fingerprints submitted must be rolled by a person or agency

approved by the department, or by a law enforcement agency or state correctional facility at the discretion of the agency or
facility. A list of fingerprint technicians or agencies approved by the department is available on the ACHP web-site. See

the Concealed Handqun Permit Fingerprint Card Instructions in this packet for specific information.

7. PHOTOGRAPH
Inciude one quality color photograph taken within the 30 days preceding the date you apply for your permit. See the

Photograph Instructions and Specifications in this packet for size restrictions and specific information.

8. APPLICATION PROCESS
You must apply in person for a concealed handgun permit (AS 18.65.700(a)( 7)). Review your application, fingerprint
card, and photograph before you submit them. Failure to submit a properly completed application and attachments
will result in a delay in processing your application. Take your compieted application, photograph, fingerprints, copy
of training certificate, and the $94.25 fee to an office of the Alaska State Troopers, Fish and Wildlife Protection, or a
municipal police department authorized to accept Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit applications.

if you want the receipt information completed on your copy, make a copy of the application before you submit it and take
the copy with you when you submit your application.

Your application will be processed when the Permits and Licensing Unit in Anchorage receives your application,
the $94.25 fee, photograph, and all required documents.

9. TERM OF NEW PERMIT
New permits issued under 13 AAC 30.010 expire five years following issuance of the permit.
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PHOTOGRAPH INSTRUCTIONS AND SPECIFICATIONS

INSTRUCTIONS:

1.

Take photograph within 30 days of the date of the application.

2. Print applicant’'s name, date photographs were taken, and Alaska Driver's License or
Identification Card number on the back of the photograph.
Width not less than 2"
Top o?‘head to /
shotilders
Height not
less than 2"
L 'j\
SPECIFICATIONS: '
1. Uncut (not trimmed), rectangular, color photograph including the top of the subject’s head to
the shoulders (computer disc from a digital camera is acceptable — format must be .BMP, .DIB,
TGA, .TIF, .PCX, .GIF, WPG, .JPG, .CMP, and .PCD).
2. Outer dimension of the photograph is not less than 2 inches wide by 2 inches high (passport
photographs are acceptable).
3. Photograph of applicant is full frontal view including head and shoulders only.
4, Background is very light or white with no fancy backdrop or lettering behind subject.
5. Image is sharp and correctly exposed, not retouched.
6. Photograph lies flat, is not stained, cracked, or mutilated; is not pasted on a card or mounted in
any way.
7. Group pictures and full-length portraits are not acceptable.
8 Photograph of applicant in a hat or sunglasses is not acceptable.

12-299A (Rev. 2-09)

IMPORTANT NOTE: Failure to submit photograph as specified will delay processing
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CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT FINGERPRINT CARD INSTRUCTIONS

Submit one standard 8"x 8” FBI APPLICANT FINGERPRINT CARD with your application. Fingerprints submitted must be
taken by a person or agency approved by the department, or by a law enforcement agency or state correctional facility (at
the discretion of the agency or facility). Fingerprint cards are available from department approved fingerprint technicians or
agencies. A list of approved fingerprint technicians or agencies may be obtained from any office of the Alaska State
Troopers. There may be a charge by fingerprint agencies or technicians for fingerprinting services.

»  Complete the top of the fingerprint card before submitting the application.

* Do not sign the fingerprint card before your fingerprints are taken.

» Type or clearly print ali required information on the fingerprint cards using BLACK INK (cards submitted using any other color
of ink will be rejected).

*  Wash and thoroughly dry your fingers before fingerprinting.

* Do not fill out the blocks titled:

YOUR NO. OCA
ARMED FORCES NO. MNU
FBINO. EBI

REASON FINGERPRINTED (Completed by Permits and Licensing Unit personnel)
MISCELLANEOUS NO. MNU (Completed by Permits and Licensing Unit personnel)

* Name block. The format is last name followed by a comma (,) first and middle name. Suffix denoting seniority, i.e., Jr.,
Sr., I}, etc., follows the middle or first name.

s Employer and address block. Write the name and address of the fingerprint technician or agency taking the fingerprints.

* Aliases (AKA) block. List other names used that are different than the name entered in the NAME block, including maiden and
previous married names of females.

+ Citizenship block. Enter “US” if a citizen of the United States; otherwise, enter correct country or country abbreviation.

» DATE OF BIRTH DOB, PLACE OF BIRTH POB, SEX, RACE, HGT (height), WGT (weight), EYES, and HAIR blocks must be
completed.

* Place of birth block. List the city and state, territorial possession, province (Canadian), or country of birth. Use the
correct abbreviation for foreign countries or correctly spell the country name. Do not list a county as a place of birth.

* Race block. Use the following codes:
A (Asian, Pacific Islander, Chinese, Japanese, Polynesian, Korean, Vietnamese, Philippino, Samoan)
B (Black)

I (American Indian, Alaska Native, Eskimo)
W Do not use the letter “C” (White, Mexican, Latin, Puerto Rican, Cuban, Central/South American, other Spanish cultures)

» Height block. Use feet and inches, not total inches. Example: 5'7” is entered 507. Do not use fractions of an inch.

* Eyes/Hair blocks — Choose only one color to describe color of eyes and hair using the appropriate three letter code from
the following list:

EYE COLOR CODE HAIR COLOR CODE
Black BLK Baid BAL
Blue BLU Black BLK
Brown BRO Blonde BLN
Gray GRY Brown BRO
Green GRN Gray GRY
Hazel HAZ Red or Aubum RED
Maroon MAR Sandy SDy
Pink PNK White WHI

Use Bald (BAL) when a person has lost most of the hair on top of the person’s head.
Use Gray (GRY) when most of the person’s hair is gray.

* Social Security No. block is for your social security number. You do not have to provide your social security number.

Do not fold or damage the fingerprint card. Fingerprint cards cannot be processed if they are folded, creased, or damaged.
Fingerprint cards that are rejected may require resubmission, and may require a reexamination fee.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Failure to submit a fingerprint card as specified will delay processing
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ALASKA APPLICATION FOR A NEW Do not write in this space

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY | CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT
Division of Statewide Services Please type or print using black ink

This application will not be processed unless all applicable questions are answered
and the required training certificate, photograph, fingerprint card, and application fee

accompany the application.
THE APPLICATION FEE iS NON-REFUNDABLE.

Section I

ALASKA DRIVERS LICENSE OR Department use only DATE OF BIRTH PLACE OF BIRTH (CITY/STATE or CITY/COUNTRY)

IDENTIFICATION NUMBER APSIN NUMBER
FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME SUFFIX
(NMN if no middle name or MIO if initial only) {Jr, Sr, #, Iy
HEIGHT WEIGHT | HAIRCOLOR | EYECOLOR | RACE | GENDER DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER
FT. IN. [Jrome [wok [ ceu
MAILING ADDRESS CITY STATE ZIP CODE
RESIDENCE ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT THAN ABOVE) ciTY STATE ZIP CODE
How long have you lived at your current address? From to present.
(Date)

Previous residences — Complete this section if you have not lived at your current address during the five years preceding the

date of this application. Attach a separate page if necessary.
CITY STATE DATE(S)

CITIZENSHIP (INDICATE COUNTRY) Note: If you are not a U.S. Citizen, you must complete Section IV of this application.

Have you ever applied for or been issued an Alaska Concealed Handgun permit? If yes, provide information (] Yes [ No
and if necessary, attach a signed statement with an explanation.

Section ll. Read each question carefully. If you make an error, cross out the incorrect choice and initial the change. If you answer “no”
to questions 1-4, or “yes” to questions 5-14, attach court documents or a signed statement explaining your answers.

1. Are you 21 years of age or older? [ Yes [ No

2. Are you eligible to own or possess a firearm under the laws of this state and federal law? ] Yes [ No

3. Are you a resident of Alaska and have you been a resident of the state for the 90 days immediately preceding this [ Yes O No
application?

4.  Have you demonstrated competence with handguns as provided in AS 18.65.7157 [ Yes J No

5. Have you been convicted of two or more class A misdemeanors of this state or similar laws of another jurisdiction
within the six years immediately preceding this application? See General Information and Instructions for [ Yes [J No
definition of “conviction.”

6. Are you now in, or have you been ordered by a court within the last three years to complete an alcohol or [ Yes [ No

substance abuse treatment program?
7. Are you under indictment or information for, or have you been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by [ Yes [] No

imprisonment for a term exceeding one year?
8. Are you the subject of a domestic violence injunction under AS 18.66.100 that was issued after a hearing for [J Yes ] No

which you received notice and had an opportunity to participate?

9. Have you ever been convicted in any court of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence? [0 Yes O No
10.  Are you a fugitive from justice? [ Yes [ No
11.  Are you an unlawful user of, or addicted to any controlled substances? [J Yes O No
12.  Have you been adjudicated a mental defective or been committed to a mental institution? [J Yes [ No

13.  Are you an alien who is residing in the United States illegally or a former citizen of the United States who has 0y N
renounced your citizenship? es 0
14. Have you been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions? [J Yes 1 No
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Section i

WARNING: SUPPLYING A FALSE STATEMENT, ANSWER, OR DOCUMENT THE APPLICANT DOES NOT BELIEVE TO BE TRUE
MAY SUBJECT THE APPLICANT TO CRIMINAL PROSECUTION FOR UNSWORN FALSIFICATION UNDER ALASKA STATUTE
11.56.210. IF FOUND GUILTY, THE APPLICANT MAY BE PUNISHED FOR VIOLATION OF A CLASS A MISDEMEANOR, AND IN SUCH
CASES THE PERMIT WILL BE REVOKED AND THE APPLICANT MAY BE BARRED FROM ANY FURTHER APPLICATION FOR A

PERMIT.

| HEREBY STATE UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THAT:

1. Ihave read AS 18.65.705 and qualify to apply for a concealed handgun permit;

2. | have been furnished with a copy of the state laws and regulations relating to concealed handguns and have read and
understand them,; .

3. | want a permit to carry a concealed handgun for lawful purposes, which may include self-defense;

4. The information in this application and any documents submitted with this application is true, correct, and complete to the
best of my knowledge and belief; and

5. | understand a permit eligibility investigation will be conducted as part of the application process; this may involve
computerized records searches and | authorize the investigation.

Date Signature of applicant

Full name (clearly printed or typed)

Section IV. Must be completed by all non-U.S. Citizens

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME SUFFIX
(NMN if no middie name or MIO if initial only) (JR, SR, H, it}
HEIGHT WEIGHT HAIR COLOR EYE COLOR RACE GENDER STATE OF RESIDENCE
FT. IN.
COUNTRY OF CITIZENSHIP ALIEN OR 1-94 REGISTRATION NUMBER ARE YOU A NON-IMMIGRANT?) D Yes D No

Have you been a resident for at least 90 days? [ Yes [[] No (You MUST provide a copy of supporting documentation)
NON-IMMIGRANT/ALIEN EXCEPTION: [ Yes [ No Check the appropriate exception if you choose ‘'YES'. You MUST provide a copy of supporting documentation:

[ Vvalid Hunting License/Permit [0 Official Representative of Foreign Govemment [[] Foreign Gov't Official/Distinguished Visitor
[ Foreign Law Enforcement Officer [3 Waiver from Prohibition . [] Other (describe)

Instructions to applicant: Review the application, fingerprint card, photograph, and attachments carefully.
Failure to submit a properly completed application will result in a delay in processing your application. Use
the checklist below as a reminder that you have included all the necessary forms and documents. Mark the box to the
left of an item as you place it in the envelope to take to the Alaska State Trooper office or the office of an approved

police department.

Applicant Checklist

L | Application (page 1) [ ] Application (page 2) [] Photograph
L] Fingerprint card % Training certificate % Attachments
[ $94.25 fee
FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY
RECEIPT FOR FEES PAID
The Department of Public Safety acknowledges that , the sumof $ was received by:
(Date)

[] CASH [] CHECK No. (] MONEY ORDER No.

Signature of employee accepting application Printed or typed name of employee accepting application
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Instructions to department employee or employee of an approved police department receiving the
application. Use the checkiist below to mark items in the packet before forwarding the application packet to the
Permits and License Unit. The applicant turning in this document must show to you a valid Alaska Driver's License
or Alaska Identification Card. When the fee is paid, complete the Receipt For Fees Paid. If the applicant
rovides you with a copy of this page, complete the receipt information and give the copy to the applicant.

Receiving Office
__% Alaska OL or ID verified % Training certificate Photograph
Application (page 1) Application (page 2) signed Fingerprint card completed
and dated correctly and signed
[] $94.25 fee [ ] Attachments [ ] Receipt
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STATE OF ALASKA

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

RENEWAL

of a
CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT

This packet contains:

¢ General information and instructions

e Application for renewal of a concealed handgun permit
¢ Photograph specifications and instructions

Direct inquiries to:

Department of Public Safety, Division of Statewide Services
Permits and Licensing Unit

5700 East Tudor Road, Anchorage, Alaska 99507
Telephone (907) 269-0392
http://www.dps.state.ak.us/PermitsLicensing/achp/
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This means that Concealed Handgun Permits issued after June 1, 2006 will contain the notation
“NOT NICS EXEMPT", and a permit holder will be required to undergo a NICS background check at
the time of any firearm purchase.

Permits issued prior to June 1, 2006 and indicating "NICS EXEMPT" ma y still be used in lieu of the
permit holder undergoing a NICS check at the time of a firearm purchase, for the life of the permit.

We have requested that the FBl reconsider this decision; should they do so, we will once again be
able to issue "NICS EXEMPT" Alaska Concealed Handgun Permits.

the issuance of a new concealed handgun permit.
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GENERAL INFORMATION - Retain for your files

1. ALASKA CONCEALED HANDGUN PERMIT RENEWAL
You may not apply to renew your concealed handgun permit sooner than 90 days before the expiration of your permit.
By submitting a renewal application for your concealed handgun permit, you acknowledge you have read and understand the laws
and regulations relating to camying a concealed handgun (Alaska Statutes (AS 18.65.700 -- AS 18.65.790) and Alaska
Administrative Regulations (13 AAC 30.010 -- 13 AAC 30.900)).

2. ADDRESS, RESIDENCE, AND TELEPHONE INFORMATION
The permit holder must be a resident of Alaska. You are required to list a residence address on the application and may
not use a post office box, mail drop, or lot and block number. Your residence address is your street number and name,
apartment number, city, and zip code. In outlying areas, provide a brief description of your physical address, e.g., Village Road,
fourth house on the left next to boat ramp. Reminder: AS 18.65.765(a)(1) states the holder of a permit shall notify the

department of a change in the permit holder’s address within 30 days.

Telephone number - If there is a correctable problem on your application, we can save processing time if you list a daytime
telephone number.

3. DEFINITION OF “CONVICTION”
13 AAC 30.900(6) defines “conviction” as it applies to qualifications that must be met for an individual to possess a

Concealed Handgun Permit. It states: “(6) “convicted” or “conviction” means that a person has entered a plea of guilty or
no contest to, or has been found guilty by a court or jury of, a criminal offense, regardless of whether the judgment was
after that set aside under AS 12.55.085 or a similar procedure in another jurisdiction, or was the subject of a pardon or other
executive clemency, but does not include a judgment that has been reversed or vacated by a court as a result of motion,
appellate action, petition for writ of habeas corpus, or application for post-conviction relief under Rule 35.1 of the Alaska
Rules of Criminal Procedure or a similar procedure in another jurisdiction.”

4. FEES
Submit the $25 non-refundable renewal fee with your application. A permit submitted on or after the expiration date will be

assessed a $25 late fee. You may pay the fee with a personal check, cashier's check, or money order payable to State of
Alaska. DO NOT SEND CASH THROUGH THE MAIL.

5. PERMITS EXPIRED MORE THAN 60 DAYS
The department will not accept a renewal for a permit submitted more than 60 days after the expiration date of the permit. Nothing

prohibits the holder of an expired permit from applying for a new permit.
RE-CERTIFICATION TRAINING is not required to renew your concealed handgun permit.

FINGERPRINTS are not required to renew your concealed handgun permit.

8. PHOTOGRAPH :
Include one quality color photograph taken within the 30 days preceding the date you apply for renewal. See the Photograph

Instructions and Specifications in this packet for specific information.

9. RENEWAL PROCESS - Review your application and photograph before you submit them. Failure to submit a properly
completed application and attachments will result in a delay in processing your renewal.
Apply to renew your concealed handgun permit by mail. You are not required to apply in person.
(@)  Mail application to the Permits and Licensing Unit, 5700 East Tudor Road, Anchorage, Alaska 99507, postmarked not more
than 90 days before or 60 days after your concealed handgun permit expires (renewal applications postmarked on or after

the permit expiration date are subject to a $25 late fee);
(b)  If you want to receive a copy of the receipt information, make a copy of the application and include it and a self addressed

stamped envelope; and
(¢)  Include your completed renewal application, photograph, $25 renewal fee, and $25 late fee (if applicable).

You may apply in person only if you cannot mail your renewal application to the Permits and Licensing Unit.

(@)  If you want the receipt information completed on your copy, make a copy of the application before you submit it and take the
copy with you; and

(b)  Take your completed renewal application, photograph, and fee(s) to an office of the Alaska State Troopers.

10. TERM OF RENEWAL PERMIT - Permits renewed under AS 1 8.65.725 are valid for five years.
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PHOTOGRAPH INSTRUCTIONS AND SPECIFICATIONS

INSTRUCTIONS:

1.

Take photograph within 30 days of the date of the application.

2. Print applicant's name, date photograph was taken, and Alaska Driver's License or Identification
Card number on the back of the photograph.
Width not less than 2”
Top of head to /
shoulders
Height not
less than 2"
[ 1
SPECIFICATIONS:
1. Uncut (not trimmed), rectangular, color photograph including the top of the subject’s head to the
shoulders (computer disc from a digital camera is acceptable — format must be .BMP, .DIB, .TGA,
TIF, .PCX, .GIF, WPG, .JPG, .CMP, and .PCD).
2. Outer dimension of the photograph is not less than 2 inches wide by 2 inches high (passport
photographs are acceptable).
3. Photograph of applicant is full frontal view including head and shoulders only.
4, Background is very light or white with no fancy backdrop or lettering behind subject.
5. Image is sharp and correctly exposed, not retouched.
6. Photograph lies flat, is not stained, cracked, or mutilated; is not pasted on a card or mounted in any
way.
7. Group pictures and full-length portraits are not acceptable.
8. Photograph of applicant in a hat or sunglasses is not acceptable.

12-299-84 (rev 7-06)
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ALASKA RENEWAL OF A CONCEALED Do not write in this space

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY HANDGUN PERMIT
Division of Statewide Services Please type or print using black ink

This renewal application will not be processed unless all applicable
questions are answered and the required fee(s) and photograph accompany
the application. THE RENEWAL FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE.

Section .
ALASKA DRIVERS LICENSE OR Department use only DATE OF BIRTH PERMIT EXPIRATION DATE
IDENTIFICATION NUMBER APSIN NUMBER
FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME LAST NAME SUFFIX
{NMN if no middie name or MIO if initial only) (JR, SR, I, iit)
HEIGHT WEIGHT | HAIRCOLOR | EYEGCOLOR | RACE | GENDER DAYTIME TELEPHONE NUMBER
FT. | N [ Home [Jwork [ cen
MAILING ADDRESS oY STATE ZIP CODE
RESIDENCE ADDRESS (IF DIFFERENT THAN ABOVE) oIy STATE ZIP CODE

CITIZENSHIP (INDICATE COUNTRY) Note: If you are not an U.S. Cltizen and you request a NICS check, you must complete Section V of this application.

Section il. Has there been any change in the information submitted on your original application? [] Yes [] No
If you answered “Yes” explain below and if necessary, attach a signed statement with an explanation. Include copies of judgments,
charging documents, military discharge documents, or any paperwork that will allow the department to determine whether you meet

the requirements of AS 18.65.705.

Section Iil.

WARNING: SUPPLYING A FALSE STATEMENT, ANSWER, OR DOCUMENT THE APPLICANT DOES NOT BELIEVE TO BE TRUE
MAY SUBJECT THE APPLICANT TO CRIMINAL PROSECUTION FOR UNSWORN FALSIFICATION UNDER ALASKA STATUTE
11.56.210. IF FOUND GUILTY, THE APPLICANT MAY BE PUNISHED FOR VIOLATION OF A CLASS A MISDEMEANOR, AND IN
SUCH CASES THE PERMIT WILL BE REVOKED AND THE APPLICANT MAY BE BARRED FROM ANY FURTHER APPLICATION FOR
A PERMIT.

| HEREBY STATE UNDER PENALTY OF LAW THAT:

1. 1have read AS 18.65.705 and still qualify for a concealed handgun permit:

2. |want to renew my permit to carry a concealed handgun for lawful purposes, which may include self-defense;
3.  The information in this application and any documents submitted with this application is true, correct, and complete to the

best of my knowledge and belief; and
4. | understand a permit eligibility investigation will be conducted as part of the application process; this may involve

computerized records searches and | authorize the investigation.

Date Signature of applicant

Full name (clearly printed or typed)

FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY
RECEIPT FOR FEES PAID
The applicant whose name appears above paid the sum of $ by:
[J casH  [J cHECK No. [J MONEY ORDER No.
Signature of employee accepting application Printed or typed name of employee accepting application
Date AST office

12-299-84 (rev 7-06) Concealed Handgun Permit Renewal



Must be completed by all non-U.S. Citizens

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAME } LAST NAME SUFFIX
(NMN if no middle name or MIO if initial only} I (JR, SR, 1, i)
HEIGHT WEIGHT HAIR COLOR EYE COLOR RACE GENDER STATE OF RESIDENCE
FT. IN.
COUNTRY OF CITIZENSHIP | ALIEN OR 1-34 REGISTRATION NUMBER , ARE YOU ANONIMMIGRANT?) [ ] Yes L[] No
Have you been a resident for at least 90 days? [J Yes I No {You MUST provide a copy of supporting documentation)
NON-IMMIGRANT/ALIEN EXCEPTION: [ Yes O No Check the exception if you choose 'YES'. You MUST provide a copy of supporting documentation:
[ valid Hunting License/Permit {3 Official Representative of Foreign Govemment [ Foreign Gov't Official/Distinguished Visitor

LD Foreign Law Enforcement Officer [ waiver from Prohibition [] Other (describe)
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