Alaska Concealed Handgun Permits

Frequently Asked Questions

New Applications:

Q: What are the procedures to apply for an Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit?

A You must complete a handgun training course approved by the Department of Public Safety.
Within one year after completion of the training course, submit your completed application in
person to any State Trooper office. Your application must include:

The completed application
One photograph taken within 30 days of the date on the application,
One set of identifiable fingerprints taken by a Department-approved technician,

Proof of successful completion of a handgun course, and
The $94.25 application fee.

Q: How much does it cost to get an Alaska concealed handgun permit?
A: The application fee is $94.25.
Q: Can | get my money back if my application is not approved?

A: No. Application fees are non-refundable. Please make sure that you qualify before you turn in
your application. See Alaska Statute 18.65.705 for a list of qualifications to obtain an Alaska
Concealed Handgun Permit.

Q: Can someone else bring in my new application for a Concealed Carry Permit?

A: No. The application for a new permit must be submitted in person to any Alaska State Trooper
office. You will be asked to show a government issued photographic identity card (e.g., Alaska
Driver's License or Alaska State Identification Card).

Q: For how long is my Alaska concealed handgun permit valid?

A: Permits are issued for 5 years.

General Qualification Questions:

Q: Are non-residents allowed to have an Alaska concealed handgun permit?

A: No. Only Alaska residents may have an Alaska concealed handgun permit. You must establish
residency in the State of Alaska and may apply for a permit after you have been here at least 90
days.



Q: If 1 am a legal resident alien, can | get an Alaska concealed handgun permit?
A: Yes, provided you are a legal resident of Alaska and have lived in Alaska at least 90 days.

Q: If I am in the military and just transferred here, can | get an Alaska concealed handgun permit?

A: If you intend to become an Alaska resident, you may qualify to apply for an Alaska concealed
handgun permit after you have been here for 90 days.

Q: I have moved out of the state. Can | still renew my Alaska concealed handgun permit?
A: No. Only Alaska residents may possess an Alaska concealed handgun permit.

Q: Does a conviction that has been ‘set aside’ count as a conviction as it applies to qualifications
for an Alaska concealed handgun permit?

A Yes. See 13 AAC 30.900(8) for the definition of conviction as it applies to the Alaska
Concealed Handgun Program.

Q: I was convicted of a felony, but the conviction was later ‘set aside’. Am | eligible to obtain an
Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit?

A: No. A convicted felon who has not had the conviction vacated by a court as a result of motion,
appellate action, petition for writ of habeas corpus, or application for post-conviction relief under
Rule 35.1 of the Alaska Rules of Criminal Procedure or a similar procedure in another jurisdiction,
cannot be issued an ACHP because they cannot legally conceal a firearm on the person except in
two limited circumstances. See AS11.61.200 for these circumstances.

Permit renewal/lost/change of name or address:

Q: My permit is about to expire; what do I need to do to keep my permit valid?

A: Complete the Renewal of a Concealed Handgun Permit form (form # 12-299-84) and submit it
to the ACHP office. You are not required to deliver it in person. You may apply to renew your
concealed handgun permit by mail.

Renewal forms are available on-line on the ACHP Home Page. Mail your application to:
Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit Office
5700 E. Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK 99507

Renewal applications must be postmarked not more than 90 days before your concealed
handgun permit expires. include your renewal application, a recent photograph and the $25
non-refundable fee.

A permit submitted on or after the expiration is subject to an additional $25 late fee. The
department will not accept a renewal for a permit submitted more than 60 days after the
expiration date of the permit. (If more than 60 days have elapsed since your permit expired, you
must submit an application for a new permit.)



Q. Do I have to return my old permit when | receive my renewal?

A Yes. When you receive your renewed permit, return the old permit to the Alaska Concealed
Handgun Permit Office at 5700 East Tudor Road, Anchorage, Alaska, 99507.

Q: What do | do if my permit is lost or stolen?

A You must complete and submit an Application for Replacement of a Concealed Handgun
Permit (Form 12-299-85). This form (which must include a new photograph) must be submitted in
person at any Alaska State Trooper office. The replacement fee is $25.

Q: If I move, do | notify the Department of Public Safety?

A: You must notify the Department of a change of address within 30 days. Changes of Address
forms (12-299-88) are available on line from the ACHP Home Page, or you may contact the
Alaska Concealed Handgun Office at (907) 269-0392. This form may be mailed to;

Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit Office
5700 East Tudor Road
Anchorage, AK, 99507

There is no charge to change your address.

Q: Is my Alaska concealed handgun permit valid if | move out of Alaska?

A: Your permit is valid only as long as you are an Alaska resident. Return your permit to the
Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit Office. We will place your permit in an inactive status. If
you return to Alaska and re-establish your residency before your permit expires, your permit may

be reactivated at that time.

Q: What do | do if my legal name changes?

A: Complete and submit an Application for Replacement (form 12-299-85) to any State Trooper
office. You must provide an official court document or marriage license in support of this change,
and pay the $25 fee.

Reciprocity:

Q: If I have an Alaska concealed handgun permit, can I carry my concealed handgun in another
State?

A: Your Alaska concealed handgun permit does not allow you to carry a concealed handgun in
another state, unless that state recognizes Alaska permits. It is important for permit holders to
understand that when they are traveling in or through another state they are subject to the firearm

laws of that state.

However, check the 'Reciprocity’ link on the ACHP home page for a list of states that have
indicated they will honor Alaska’s permits. Note that this link is updated in the first quarter of every
year. Some information may have changed. You should verify the requirements of the state to
which you will be moving/traveling before you carry a concealed handgun in that state.



Q: Can | take firearms into Canada?

A: Contact the Canadian Firearms information Office at (800) 731-4000 for information about
taking firearms into Canada.

Q: Will Alaska honor permits from other states?

A: Alaska will honor a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun from another state or subdivision
of a state.

General Questions:

Q: Can I carry my handgun in the glove box of my vehicle?

A: Local ordinances vary from city to city in Alaska. Contact your city, borough, or municipal
police department and ask them about their ordinances concerning firearms and concealed

weapons.

Q: Wil the state limit the number of handgun instructors or permit holders?
A: No.

Q: ! am a retired peace officer. | retired several years ago when the concealed program
provisions were not in effect. Can I be "grand-fathered” into the permit program and allowed to

waive the certification training?

A: No. You must apply for a concealed handgun permit within one year of your retirement in order
to qualify for the honorably retired peace officer provisions of the law.

Q: Do I have to notify the Permits and Licensing Unit when | purchase another handgun?

A: No. For additional information about purchasing and/or selling firearms, contact your local
Federal Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms office.
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Alaska Statute 18.65.748 states that a person holding a valid permit to carry a concealed handgun from another state or a political
subdivision of another state is a permittee under AS 18.65.700 (b) for purposes of AS 18.65.750 - 18.65.765.

Alaska Statute 18.65.775 requires the Department of Public Safety to enter into reciprocity agreements with other states that have the legal
authority to enter into such agreements so that Alaska Concealed Handgun permittees may carry concealed handguns in those other states.

Annually, the Department of Public Safety will review legislation in other states to determine if a reciprocity agreement is required or if an
existing agreement is still valid. It is important for permit holders to understand that when they are traveling in or through another state they are
subject to the firearm laws of that state. You should verify the requirements of the state to which you will be moving/traveling before you carry a

concealed handgun in that state.

The following states recognize valid Alaska concealed handgun The following states will not recognize Alaska concealed
permits: handgun permits:
1. Alabama 1. California
2. Arkansas 2. Connecticut
3. Arizona (Agreement) 3. Hawaii
4. Colorado 4. Winocis
5. Delaware 5. lowa
6. Florida (Agreement) 6. Maine
7. Georgia 7. Maryland
8. Idaho 8. Massachusetts
9. Indiana 9. Nebraska
10. Kansas 10. New Jersey
11, Kentucky 11. New York
12. Louisiana 12. Oregon
13. Michigan 13. Rhode Island
14. Minnesota 14. Washington
15. Mississippi 15. Wisconsin
16. Missouri
17. Montana
18. Nevada

19. New Hampshire

20. New Mexico

21. North Carolina

22. North Dakota (Agreement)
23. Ohic (Agreement)

24. Oklahoma (Agreement)
25. Pennsylvania (Agreement)
26. South Carolina

27. South Dakota (Agreement)
28. Tennessee

29. Texas (Agreement)

30. Utah

31. Vermont

32. Virginia (Agreement)

33. West Virginia

34. Wyoming (Agreement)

Ciick on the state of interest to visit their web site or click on 'Agreement’ to view a printable copy of the actual agreement. Please note that
some states do not require a written ‘agreement’, but have verified in writing that they will honor Alaska Concealed Handgun Permits.

Any person traveling to a state that has agreed to honor Alaska permits is encouraged to visit that state's web site to review laws and
reguiations specific to that state.

http://www.dps.state.ak.us/statewide/PermitsLicensing/reciprocity.aspx 3/25/2009



