Alaska Concealed Handgun Permits - Permits and Licensing Unit Page 1 of 1

3 .1- n ¥ =:- 1 o __rp A .
| d 3’-’;“? A€ OEIVICES
Public Safety > Division of Statew/de Services > Records & {dentification > Permits & Licensing > Concealed Handguns

Alaska Concealed Handgun Permits

Special Fee Change Notice:

Effective October 1, 2007, the application fee for a new Alaska Concealed Handgun Permit will be reduced to $94.25. This reflects a reduction
in the cost of conducting national criminal background checks. Fees for renewal and replacement applications will remain at $25.00: only the fee
for new applications is affected by this change. Applications received by the Department of Public Safety after October 1, 2007 must be
accompanied by the fee of $94.25.

Alaska Statute 11.61.220 aliows anyone 21 or older, who may legally carry a firearm to also carry it concealed without having to obtain a
special permit. The possession of a firearm at courthouses, school yards, bars and domestic violence shelters will continue to be prohibited.
Alaskans may obtain a concealed carry permit if they want reciprocity with other states.

A person 21 or older may be charged with Misconduct involving Weapons in the 5th degree under AS 11.61.220 if sthe

® fails to immediately inform a peace officer that s/he is carrying a concealed handgun
® fails to allow the officer to secure the weapon or fails to secure the weapon at the direction of the peace officer, or

® carries the weapon concealed within another person’s residence, unless s/he has first obtained the express permission of an adult
residing there, whether or not the person has a concealed handgun permit.

Concealed Handguns Resources

Frequently Asked Questions about Alaska Concealed Handgun Permits
Reciprocity

List of Approved Fingerprinters

Alaska Statutes and Regulations concerning Alaska concealed handgun permits

Forms

Address Change for a Concealed Handgun Permit
Application for Permit Renewal

Concealed Handgun Permit Application

Replacement/Name Change of a Concealed Handgun Permit

For more information contact the Permits and Licensing Unit

http://www.dps.state.ak.us/statewide/PermitsLicensing/concealedhandguns.asnx 3/25/7000
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Things You’ll Need:

¢ Application

o $94.25 fee

*  One recent photograph

*  One set fingerprints

»  Certificate of handgun course

Step 1

You must be a restdent of \aska and lived in the stare ar least ninery davs to obtain the
permit.
A convieted felon cannot legalh conceal a firearm in the Stare of Alaska

Maska will honor all valid permits to carty o concealed handgun from other states.

Step 2 &«}‘Legang Armod

The application for the permir is tairly stmple. You must be ar lease twenty one years old,
submit a photo taken in the last thirty days, a complere ser of finger prines taken by an
approved ageney, proot of completing the handgun course, a Alaska drivers license or 1.

and the nmen four dollars and TwWeney tve cent applicarion fee.
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