Provided by American Red Cross of Alaska

Submitted by Rep. Charisse Millett

State Disaster Leave Laws

	State
	Time Allowed with Pay
	Types of Disaster
	Worker

Comp Covered
	Area of Coverage
	Other Restrictions
	ARC Mentioned 

	AL
	15 days
	IV and above
	No
	Not specified 
	
	Yes

	AR
	15 days
	II and above
	No
	Contiguous
	No more than 100 participants at a time
	Yes

	CA
	
	
	Yes
	Not specified
	Administrative Policy
	Yes

	CO
	5 days local/ 15 days national
	
	No 
	Not specified
	
	No

	CT
	14 days
	
	No 
	Not specified
	
	Yes

	DE
	
	III or above
	No
	Any Disaster
	
	Yes

	FL
	15 days
	
	No 
	Florida Only
	Any state with approval of Governor & Cabinet
	Yes

	GA
	15 days
	
	No 
	Contiguous
	
	Yes

	HI
	30 days
	III and above
	No
	Not specified
	
	Yes

	ID
	120 hours
	III and above
	No
	Contiguous
	
	Yes

	IL
	20 days
	III and above
	No
	Not specified
	
	Yes

	IN
	15 days
	III and above
	No
	Indiana Only
	
	Yes

	IA
	15 days
	
	No
	Iowa Only
	
	Yes

	KS
	20 days
	
	No
	Contiguous
	
	Yes

	KY
	30 days
	III and above
	No
	Not Specified
	
	Yes

	LA
	15 days
	III and above
	No 
	Louisiana Only
	
	Yes

	ME
	15 days
	Declared by Governor or President
	No 
	All States
	
	Yes

	MD
	15 days
	II or above
	No
	Not specified 
	Includes temporary personnel
	Yes

	MA
	15 days
	Any Disaster
	No
	Any Disaster
	
	Yes

	MI
	10 days
	
	No
	All States
	Can take unpaid leave of absence based on employee classification
	Yes

	MN
	15 days
	
	No 
	Not specified
	
	Yes

	MS
	20 days
	II and above
	No 
	Contiguous
	
	Yes

	MO
	120 hours
	
	No 
	Missouri Only
	No more than 25 state employees at once
	Yes

	MT
	15 days
	
	No 
	Not specified
	
	Yes

	NE
	15 days
	
	No
	Nebraska Only
	
	Yes

	NV
	15 days
	Assistance of Federal Govt. needed
	No
	Contiguous
	
	Yes

	NH
	15 days
	III and above
	No
	All States
	
	Yes

	NJ
	10 days paid/ 10 more unpaid
	III and above
	No
	All States
	
	Yes

	NY
	
	
	
	
	
	Yes

	NC 
	15 days
	III and above
	No
	North Carolina Only
	
	Yes

	ND
	5 days
	II and above
	No
	All States
	
	Yes

	OH
	30 days
	
	No 
	Not specified 
	
	Yes

	OK 
	15 days
	III and above
	No
	Oklahoma Only
	No more than 500 participants at one time
	Yes

	OR 
	15 days
	II and above
	No 
	Oregon Only
	
	Yes

	PA
	
	Declared by the governor 
	No
	Not specified
	
	Yes

	PR
	30 days
	
	Yes
	Puerto Rico Only
	
	Yes

	RI 
	10 days
	II and above
	No
	Rhode Island Only
	
	Yes

	SC
	10 days
	
	No
	Not specified
	
	Yes

	SD
	10 days
	Declared Disaster
	No
	South Dakota Only
	
	Yes

	TN
	15 days
	
	No 
	Not specified
	
	Yes

	TX
	10 days
	
	No 
	
	No more than 350 participants 
	Yes

	UT
	15 days
	III and above
	No
	All states
	
	Yes

	VA
	80 hours
	Declared by Governor or President
	No
	All states
	
	No

	VT
	15 days
	III and above/ declared by Governor/ in VT
	No
	All states
	
	Yes

	VI
	20 days
	
	
	Not specified
	
	Yes

	WA
	
	
	
	
	
	No

	WV
	15 days
	
	No 
	Not specified
	Total cost to state agencies not to exceed $100,000
	Yes

	WI
	30 days
	
	No 
	All states (With permission)
	
	Yes

	WY
	15 days
	III and above/ Declared by Governor
	No 
	Not specified
	
	Yes


