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Our Mission - Saving Lives

Securing our Most Precious Cargo

Mator vehicle crashes are the teading cause of death among children ages 2 to 14,
due in large part to the nonuse or improper use of child seats and seat belts.
Working with parents and our partners our goal Is to ensure every child is properly
secured and safe every trip, every time.

Parents - Not Sure Which Car Seat to Use?

Are you looking for a new car seat for your infant, toddler or 4-8 year old child hut
overwhelmed by the choices and worried about how to properly install your car seat?
Our 4 Steps for Kids campaign will help you properly choose and install the cotrect
car seat for your child. Simply click on the link below that best matches your child.

CPS Advocates - Seeking Resources for your Local Efforts?

If you are a traffic safety advocate, law enforcement officer, or ather CPS
stakeholder, click HERE for our 2008 CPS Week Planner designed to help you
promote, enhance, and enforce chitd passenger safety.

4 Easy Steps to Protect America's Children

File a Complaint About Your Vehicle or Child Seat
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{" " 'a REAR-FACING SEATS in
! I the back seat from birth
& to at least 1 year old and
--*. at least 20 pounds.

" e | BOOSTER SEATS in the
] g; back seat from about age
& : 4 to at least age 8, unless
M 7 4'9" tall,

Latest News:

FORWARD-FACING
TODDLER SEATS in the
back seat from age 1 and
20 pounds to about age 4
and 40 pounds,

SAFETY BELTS at age 8
and older or tatier than
4'9", All children age 12

. and under should ride in

the back seat,

® (ATCH Child Safety Seat System Confusing, Says NHTSA Study

O Details of LATCH study (pdf)

® Key Provisions of Occupant Restraint Laws

® (ATCH Child Restraint System

® Low Child Booster Seat Use Cailed “Unacceptable”

hitp://www nhtsa.gov/portal/ site/nhtsa/template. MAXIMIZE/menuitem., ..
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Traffic crashes are the leading
cause of death and injury
to children ages 0-15

- NHTSA, 2004

Is your child in the right seat? y

Infants Toddlers Youngsters
Weight* Up to 20-351bs Over | year Over 401bs
and 20-401bs up to 801bs

Type Infant only or Forward- Belt
rear-facing facing/ positioning
convertible convertible booster

Position  Rear-facing Forward- Forward- (
only facing facing ;

Harness straps  Must be used
with lap and
shoulder belts

Notes Harness straps
at or below at or above
shoulder level shoulders

eep children rear facing as long as possible.
* Manufacturer weight/height limits vary.

Always buckle children
in the back seat!!

What are
Alaska's laws on
child safety seats?

P As of 2006 the Alaska law
requires all passengers regardless
of age to use a seat belt or
appropriate restraint device,

% Children under four years of age
must be properly secured in a
federally approved child safety
seat.
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the pruticubar chikd
< The driver of a car is responsible

for every passenger under the age
of 16.

A driver convicted of violating
the child restraint portion of the
law is guilty of an infraction,
punishable by a fine of up to $50
and two demerit points on his/her
operator’s license.
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American Academy of Pediatrics
DEDICATED TO THE HEALTH OF ALL CHILDREN™

Alaska Chapter

January 26, 2009

Alaska State House of Representatives
Juneau, AK 99801-1182

Dear Honorable Representatives,

On behalf of the Alaska Chapter AAP I would like to lend our chapter’s support for HB
131 that will update and modernize our Child Safety Seat laws to include the use of
booster seats, and to spell out safe practices of child restraint devices that are appropriate
for infants and children of all ages.

Seat belts are made for adults. Children should stay in a booster seat until adult seat belts
fit correctly, usually when the child reaches 4’ 9” in height and is between 8 and 12 years
of age. The Alaska Chapter AAP recommends that state child safety seat laws are brought
up to this standard.

Results from the 2007 National Survey of the Use of Booster Seats conducted by the
National Center for Statistics and Analysis of the National Highway Traffic Safety
Administration reveals alarmingly that booster seat use rates for children ages 6 and 7
dropped from 36 percent in 2006 to 25 percent in 2007. The study concludes that there is
premature graduation of children from birth to age 12 to restraint types that are
inappropriate for their height or weight.

SB 72 would help to alleviate confusion among parents and caregivers as to which safety
devices are appropriate for their children. Alaska’s pediatricians are happy to do their part
by counseling parents during doctors’ visits on how to keep their children safe while riding
in vehicles.

Sincerely,

Sdyne & GBar,

Jodyne L Butto MD, FAAP
President

Serving Alaska's Children and Families for Over 40 Years



