IN THE SUPERIOR COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA

In the Matter of

AT

(Type or Print Name of Petitioner)

Date of Birth

CASE NO. PR

PETITION TO BYPASS

e’ g syt S St st e’ vt gt ot et

PARENTAL CONSENT

assessed.

Clerk’s Instructions: This is a confidential matter requiring immediate appointment of
counsel and a hearing within 48 hours. No filing fee is required and no court costs may be

I request that the court issue an order authorizing me to consent to an abortion without asking

for the consent of my parent, guardian or custodian. I swear or affirm under penalty of perjury

that the following information is true.

I. I am pregnant.
2. [ am unmarried, under 17 years of age, and unemancipated.
3. I wish to have an abortion without the consent of a parent, guardian or custodian.

4. Parental consent should not be required because (check all that apply):

[] a. I am sufficiently mature and well enough informed to decide intelligently
‘ whether to have an abortion without the consent of a parent, guardian, or
custodian.
[ ] b. One or both of my parents or my guardian or custodian has engaged in
physical abuse, sexual abuse, or a pattern of emotional abuse against me.
[] c. Itis not in my best interest to require me to obtain the consent of a parent,
guardian, or custodian.
5. I [] do not have an attorney. I understand the court must appoint one for me.
[ ] am represented by the following attorney:
Attorney’s Name: Telephone
Attorney’s Address:
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6. (] 1 understand that I must contact the court to find out my hearing date and
- how to contact my attorney if I do not get this information at the time I file
this petition. (The hearing will be held within 48 hours after the court

receives the petition.)

7. (L] I request that I be allowed to participate in the hearing by telephone rather than
attending the hearing in person. [ understand that I must give the court a
telephone number where I can be reached for the hearing and that the court will

pay for the call.
Date Signature
Daytime Telephone (optional)
(If possible, please give a telephone number where
court personnel can reach you or leave a message
for you.)
NOTARIZATION
Subscribed and sworn to or affirmed before me at , Alaska
on .
(date)
(SEAL) Clerk of Court, Notary Public, or other

person authorized to administer oaths.
My commission expires

CERTIFICATION

[Complete the following certificate if no notary or other official is available to administer an
oath.]

I certify under penalty of perjury that
1. all of the information in this petition is true, and

2. a notary public or other official empowered to
administer oaths is not available.

Date Place (city) Signature
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Instructions For Requesting
Judicial Permission
To Bypass Parental Consent

If you are a woman under 17 years old and want to have an abortion in Alaska, you must first
get the written consent of one of your parents or your guardian or custodian.” Apart from
medical emergencies,’ there are just three exceptions’ to this Alaska law. You do not need

parental consent if:
1. you are emancipated, or

2. you obtain a court order dispensing with parental consent for one of the reasons listed
in the statute, or

3. you request the above court order but the court fails to hold the required hearing within
five business days, thus "constructively authorizing” the abortion without parental

consent.

Emancipation. You are "emancipated” for purposes of the abortion law* if any of the following
are true: you are (1) married, (2) a member of the armed services of the United States, (3)
employed and self-subsisting, (4) emancipated under Alaska Statute 09.55.590°, or (5)
independent from the care and control of your parents, guardian or custodian.

Court Order. The procedure for requesting this court order is described below. Your request

will be kept confidential by the court. The court is not allowed to notify your parents or

anyone else that you are pregnant or that you want to have an abortion. The court will provide

the forms you need for your request and will appoint an attorney to represent you (at state

expense) if you do not have an attorney. You will not be charged any fees or court costs.
How To Request A Court Order

To request a court order, do the following:

1. Fill out the attached form P-505, Petition To Bypass Parental Consent. Type or print
clearly, using black ink.

a. Leave the "AT" line at the top of the form blank. The court clerk will fill it in.
b. On the next line, fill in your name as petitioner and your date of birth.

1 AS 18.16.010(a)(3)

2 See AS 18.16.010(g) for what constitutes a "medical emergency.”

3 AS 18.16.020

4 AS 18.16.090(2)

5 AS 09.55.550 allows minors who are at least 16 years old to petition the superior court for
emancipation. This can usually be done only with the consent of each living parent or guardian
of the minor. The minor must be living separate and apart from the minor’s parents or guardian,
be capable of sustained self-support and be capable of managing his/her own financial affairs.
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c. Leave the "CASE NO." line blank. The court clerk will fill it in.
d. In #4, check any of the boxes that apply to your situation.

e. In #5, check the first box if you do not have an attorney. The court will appoint
one for you. Check the second box and fill in the information if you have hired
your own attorney.

f. In #6, check the box (agreeing to call the court if you do not find out your
hearing time and how to contact your attorney when you file your petition). (See
#2 below.) Since the court may have no way of contacting you, you need to
contact the court to get this information.

g In #7, check the box if you want to participate in the court hearing by telephone
instead of in person. The hearing will be held within 48 hours after you file your
petition. You will not have to pay for the telephone call.

h. Your petition must be notarized, so you should wait to date and sign it until you
get to the court clerk’s office where a clerk can notarize it for you. If you do
not plan to file your petition in person, see the discussion about notarization in
paragraph 3 below.

L If possible, please fill in a telephone number where court personnel can call you
or leave a message for you. The court may need to contact you, for example,
if the time of the hearing has to be changed. If you do not have a telephone
number where the court can call you, you do not have to fill this in.

Bring your filled out petition to the clerk’s office at your local court and tell the clerk
you want to file it. The clerk will ask you to sign it under oath and will notarize it for
you (at no charge). Please bring a photo ID (for example, your driver’s license) with
you because the clerk needs to see identification in order to notarize your petition. The
clerk will ask you to wait a few minutes while the clerk schedules your court hearing
and assigns an attorney to represent you. The clerk will give you a Notice form (P-
510) with this information on it.

If there is no court in your community (or if you do not want to use the local court),
you can mail or fax your petition to the nearest superior court. Addresses and fax
numbers are listed on page 4. Before faxing or mailing the petition, you need to get it
notarized locally by a notary public or postmaster. If there is no notary public or
postmaster available, you must sign and date the petition and fill out the "Certification”
section at the bottom.

If you fax the petition, call the court to make sure they received it and to find out your
hearing date and who your attorney will be.

If you mail the petition, call the court and tell the clerk that you have mailed a petition.
Ask the clerk how to find out the date and time of your hearing and how to contact your
attorney.

Contact your attorney immediately. Because the hearing will be held so soon (within
438 hours), your attorney will need to talk to You as soon as possible.
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5. Attend the court hearing. You can participate by telephone if you need to do so. To
do this, you must give the court or your attorney a telephone number where the court
can reach you at the time of the hearing.

The hearing will be confidential (not open to the public).

6. At or immediately after the hearing, the court will issue an order granting or denying
your request.

If your request is denied, you can appeal this decision. Your court-appointed attorney
will continue to represent you in the appeal. Form P-520, Notice of Appeal, should be
used to file the appeal. This form is available at all court locations.

Constructive Authorization

If the superior court fails to hold a hearing on your request within five business days (not
counting holidays and weekends) after you file your petition, the law® allows you to consent to
the abortion without first obtaining the consent of one of your parents. If you need proof that
no hearing was held, you can get a certificate from the court stating this. Your attorney can
help you get the certificate.

6 AS 18.16.030(c)
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Anchorage
Probate Office

Boney Courthouse

303 K Street Room 239
Anchorage, AK 99501-2083
Phone: 264-0433

Fax: 264-0598

W
Clerk of Court
Box 270
Barrow, AK 99723-0270
Phone: 852-4300
Fax: B852-4804

Bethel

Clerk of Court

Box 130 '

Bethel, AK 99559-013¢
Phone: 543-3348

Fax: 5434419

Dillingt
Clerk of Court

Box 909

Dillingham, AK 99574-0209
Phone: 842-5215

Fax: 842-5746

Fairbanks

Probate Office

604 Barnette Street Suite 116
Fairbanks, AK 99701-4569
Phone: 452-9256

Fax: 452-9216

Junegu
Clerk of Court

Box 114100

Juneau, AK 99811-4100
Phone: 463-4700

Fax: 463-3788%

Kenai
Clerk of Court

125 Trading Bay Drive Suite 100

Kenai, AK 99611-7723
Phone: 283-3110
Fax: 283-7702

Ketchikan
Clerk of Court

415 Main Street Room 400
Ketchikan, AK 99901-6399
Phone: 225-3195

Fax: 225-7849
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Kodiak
Clerk of Court

204 Mission Road Room 10
Kodiak, AK 99615-7312
Phone: 486-16(¢

Fax: 486-1660

Kotzebue
Clerk of Court

Box 317

Kotzebue, AK 99752-0317
Phone: 442-3208

Fax: 442-3974

Nome

Clerk of Court

Box 1110

Nome, AK 99762-1110
Phone: 443-5216

Fax: 443-2192

Palmer
Clerk of Court

435 South Denali
Palmer, AK 99645-7759
Phone: 746-8109

Fax: 746-4151

Petersburg

Clerk of Court

Box 1009

Petershurg, AK 99833-1009
Phone: 772-3824

Fax: 772-3018

Sitka

Clerk of Court

304 Lake Street Room 203
Sitka, AK 99835-7759
Phone: 747-8109

Fax: 747-66%90

Wrangell

Clerk of Court

Box 869

Wrangell, AK  99929-0869
Phone: 874-2311

Fax: 874-3509
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IN THE SUPERIOR COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA
AT
In the Matter of ;
)
)
| )
(Type ot Print Name of Petitioner) ;
) CASE NO; PR
Date of Birth R NOTICE AND ASSIGNMENT
RE PETITION TO BYPASS
PARENTAL CONSENT
NOTICE OF HEARING
Assigned Judge:
Hearing Date & Time: S—
(within 48 hours after petuon is filed)
APPOINTMENT OF ATTORNEY
[0 The Office of Public Advocacy is appointed to represent you.
Attorney’s Name:
Attorney’s Address:
Attorney’s Phone:
You should contact the attorney as soon as possible.
Date Clerk
The above information was given o
(] Petiioner [J in person  [J by telephone [
(date) ~ (dme)
[ Petitioner’s attorney on by [ fax [ personal delivery
(date)
Clerk:
P-510 (7/9TX(st.3) ‘ Probate Rule 20
NOTICE AND ASSIGNM. AS 18.16.130

AS 44.21.410(a)(4)
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IN THE SUPERIOR COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA
AT

In the Matter of ;
)
)
)
(Petitioner's Name) %
. ) CASE NO. . PR
ate of Birth
Date 0 % ORDER ON REQUEST TO BYPASS
PARENTAL CONSENT
FINDINGS
Hearing Held: Present Were:

The court finds by clear and convincing evidence that

[] the petitioner is sufficiently mature and well enough informed to decide intelligently
whether to have an abortion.

[] one or both of the petitioner’s parents or the petitioner's guardian or custodian has
engaged in physical abuse, sexual abuse or a patiern of emotional abuse of the petitioner.

[C] itis not in the best interest of the petitioner to require her to obtain the consent of her
parents, guardian or custodian.

ORDER
It is therefore ordered

[] Petitioner is authorized to consent to the performance or inducement of an abortion
without the consent of a parent, guardian or custodian.

[T] The petition is denied because the court is unable to make any one of the findings
required by AS 18.16.030(e)-(g). Petitioner has the right to appeal this decision to the
supreme court. Notice of Appeal form P-520 is available at the court. The attorney
appointed to represent the petitioner will continue to represent the petitioner during the

Date Superior Court Judge

Type Judge’s Name
I certify that on
a copy of this order was faxed or Recommended for approval.
handed to petitioner’s attorney/petitioner.

Clerk: ‘ Master Date

P-515 (7/97)(st.3) AS 18.16.030
ORDER ON REQUEST TO BYPASS PARENTAL CONSENT Probate Ruls 20
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IN THE SUPREME COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA

AT ANCHORAGE

In the Matter of ; ‘
)
)
3
ame of Appellant) )

o ppe ) Supreme Court Case No.

) Superior Court Case No.

_% NOTICE OF APPEAL

RE PETITION TO BYPASS
PARENTAL CONSENT

Instructions to trial court clerks: This notice of appeal may be filed in an district
or superior court, or directly with the clerk of the appellate courts. If it is filed in 2
district or superior court, the clerk must immediately call the clerk of the appellate
courts for instructions.

Instfuctiom to supreme court clerks: This is a confidential matter requiring
immediate action by the supreme court, No filing fee is reg;xired. See Appellate Rule
220 for the procedure that must be followed when one of these appeals is filed.

Appellant appeals from the order of the superior court denying her request for authorization
to consent to an abortion without obtaining the consent of a parent, guardian or custodian. A
copy of the superior court’s order is attached.

]  Appellant waives the right to oral argument.

Date Signature of Appellant’s Attorney

Attorney’s Name:
Address:

Telephone:

Fax:

If filed by fax, appellant's attorney should call the court to confirm that the Notice of Appeal
has been received. Supreme Court Fax: 264-0878. Supreme Court Phone: 264-0609.

P-520 (7/97Xcs) AS 18.16.030()
NOTICE OF APPEAL Appellate Rule 220
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Citation/Title
PROB Rule 20, Judicial Bypass Procedure to Authorize Minor to Consent to an Abortion

Probate Rules, Rule 20

WEST'S ALASKA STATUTES ANNOTATED
ALASKA COURT RULES
PROBATE RULES
PART III. PROTECTIVE PROCEEDINGS

Current with amendments received through 8/22/2008
Rule 20. Judicial Bypass Procedure to Authorize Minor to Consent to an Abortion

(a) Petition. An action for an order authorizing a minor under age 17 to consent to an abortion without the consent of a
parent, guardian, or custodian is commenced by filing a petition. The petition must be under oath and must include the information
required by AS 18.16.030(b). The petitioner is not required to provide an address or telephone number. Blank petition forms will be
available at all court locations and will be mailed or faxed to a petitioner upon request. No fee will be charged for this service or other

services provided to a petitioner.

(b) Filing. The petition may be filed in any district or superior court location in person, by mail, or by fax. No filing fee will
be charged. If a petition is filed in a district court location, the clerk or magistrate shall immediately notify the clerk of the nearest
superior court and fax the petition to that court, unless the local judicial officer has been appointed as a master to conduct these

proceedings.

(c) Appointment of Counsel. If the petitioner is not represented by a private attorney, the clerk shall appoint the Office of
Public Advocacy to represent the petitioner. The clerk shall immediately notify the Office of Public Advocacy of the appointment.

(d) Expedited Hearing. Upon receipt of the petition, the court shall schedule a hearing to be held within 48 hours, including
weekends and holidays, after the petition is filed. At the hearing, the court shall follow the procedure specified in AS 18.16.030(¢)-
(g). Upon request, the petitioner will be allowed to participate telephonically at court system expense.

(e) Findings and Order. The court shall enter an order immediately after the hearing is concluded. The court shall grant the
petition if the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that one of the statutory grounds for dispensing with parental consent
exists. Otherwise, the court shall deny the petition. If the petition is denied, the court shall inform the petitioner of her right to an

expedited appeal to the supreme court.

*1051 (f) Constructive Order. If the court fails to hold a hearing within five days after the petition is filed, the presiding judge
of the judicial district, or another judge designated by the presiding judge, shall issue a certificate stating that (1) no hearing was held
within five business days after the petition was filed; and (2) under AS 18.16.030(c), the failure to hold a hearing constitutes a
constructive order of the court authorizing the minor to consent to an abortion without the consent of a parent, guardian, or custodian.
A certificate should not be issued if the hearing was not held because it was postponed at the petitioner's request or because the

petitioner failed to appear at the hearing.

(g) Confidentiality. Petitions filed under AS 18.16.030 and all hearings, proceedings, and records are confidential. Court
personnel are prohibited from notifying a minor's parents, guardian, or custodian that a minor is pregnant or wants to have an abortion,
or from disclosing this information to any member of the public.

(h) Appeal. A petitioner may appeal an order denying or dismissing a petition to bypass parental consent by filing a notice of
appeal in any district or superior court, or directly with the clerk of the appellate courts. If the notice of appeal is filed in a district or
superior court, the clerk or magistrate shall immediately notify the clerk of the appellate courts that the notice of appeal has been filed.
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PROB Rule 20, Judicial Bypass Procedure to Authorize Minor to Consent to an Abortion

The procedure for appeals is governed by Appellate Rule 220. This rule supersedes the appeal procedure established by AS
18.16.030().

[Adopred effective July 31, 1997.]

REFERENCES

CROSS REFERENCES

AS 18.16.030
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Citation/Title
RAP Rule 220, Judicial Bypass Appeals

Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule 220

WEST'S ALASKA STATUTES ANNOTATED
ALASKA COURT RULES
RULES OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE
PART II. PROCEDURE ON APPEALS AS OF RIGHT

Current with amendments received through 8/22/2008

Rule 220. Judicial Bypass Appeals

(a) Scope. This rule applies to an appeal from an order denying or dismissing a petition filed by a minor under age 17 to
bypass parental consent to an abortion under AS 18.16.030. In such appeals, this rule supersedes the other appellate rules to the
extent they may be inconsistent with this rule. It also supersedes the procedure for bypass appeals established by AS 18.16.030().

(b) Jurisdictional Limitation. This rule does not permit an appeal to be taken in any circumstances in which an appeal would
not be permitted by Appellate Rule 202.

(c) Notice of Appeal.

(1) A minor may appeal an order denying or dismissing a petition to bypass parental consent by filing a notice of appeal in any
district or superior court, or directly with the clerk of the appellate courts. The notice of appeal may be filed in person, by mail, or by
fax, and must be accompanied by a copy of the order from which the appeal is taken. No filing fee will be charged. If the notice of
appeal is filed in a district or superior court, the clerk or magistrate shall immediately notify the clerk of the appellate courts that the

appeal has been filed.

(2) The notice of appeal must indicate that the appeal is being filed pursuant to this rule, but the court will apply this rule to
cases within its scope whether they are so identified or not.

(3) Blank notice of appeal forms will be available at all court locations and will be mailed or faxed to a minor upon request.
No fee will be charged for this service or other services provided to a minor in an appeal under this rule.

(d) Record on Appeal. The record on appeal consists of the superior court file, including all papers and exhibits filed in the
superior court, and, unless otherwise ordered, a recording of the proceedings before the superior court. The clerk of the appellate
courts shall request the record immediately upon receiving notice that the appeal has been filed. Upon receiving this request, the clerk
of the trial court shall immediately transmit the record to the supreme court by overnight mail or in another manner that will cause it to

arrive within 48 hours after the notice of appeal is filed.

*656 (c) Brief. A brief is not required. However, the minor may file a typewritten memorandum in support of the appeal.

(f) Oral Argument. Unless the minor waives the right to oral argument in the notice of appeal, oral argument will be held
within 72 hours, including weekends and holidays, after the notice of appeal is filed. Upon request, the minor will be allowed to

participate telephonically at court system expense.

(g) Disposition. The court shall enter an order stating its decision immediately after oral argument or, if oral argument has
been waived, within three days after the date the notice of appeal is filed. The court may issue an opinion explaining the decision at

any time following entry of the order.
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(h) Constructive Order. If the court fails to enter an order within five days after the date the clerk of the appellate courts
receives the record on appeal, the clerk shall issue a certificate stating that (1) no order was entered within five days after the appeal
was docketed; and (2) under AS 18.16.030(j), the failure to enter an order constitutes a constructive order of the court authorizing the
minor to consent to an abortion without the consent of a parent, guardian, or custodian. For purposes of AS 18.16.030(j), an appeal is
deemed to be docketed on the date the clerk of the appellate courts receives the record on appeal.

(i) Confidentiality. Documents and proceedings in an appeal under this rule are confidential. Court personnel are prohibited
from notifying the minor's parents, guardian, or custodian that the minor is pregnant or wants to have an abortion, or from disclosing
this information to any member of the public.

(j) Attorney. If the minor is not represented by an attorney, the clerk of the appellate courts shall appoint the Office of Public
Advocacy to represent the minor in the appeal. If the Office of Public Advocacy was appointed to represent the minor in the trial
court, the appointment continues through the appeal.

(k) Filing Defined. For purposes of this rule only, a document is deemed filed on the date it is received by the district court,
the superior court, or the clerk of the appellate courts if the appeal is filed directly with the clerk.
*657

[Adopted effective July 31, 1997.]

HISTORICAL NOTES
NOTE

Under AS 18.16.030(j), the failure to enter a judgment in the appeal within five days after the appeal is docketed constitutes a constructive order of the
court authorizing the appellant to consent to an abortion without the consent of a parent, guardian, or custodian.
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