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Sectional Analysis

An Act relating to elections; relating to voters; relating to the crime of unlawful interference with
voting; and providing for an effective date.

Section 1 — Removes language from AS 15.05.010 requiring a qualified voter to register before an
election as stipulated in AS 15.07.

Section 2 — Amends AS 15.07.060 by adding a new subsection that requires applicants who register
within 30 days before an election to provide: an affidavit stating that they have established residency at
least 30 days before the desired election; a copy of government issued identification that displays the
applicant’s Alaska residence address; or government document showing applicant’s name and Alaska
residence.

Section 3 — Amends AS 15.07.070(c) by adding that an applicant whose registration does not meet the
requirements for placement on the master register for the next election may vote an absentee in-person,
special needs, or questioned ballot in that election.

Section 4 — Amends AS 15.07.070(d) to stipulate that a qualified voter who registers within 30 days
before or on the day of an election may vote only an absentee in-person, special needs or questioned
ballot at that election. It removes the language making the person ineligible to vote at that election and
restricts the division from rejecting the absentee in-person, special needs, or questioned ballot of a
qualified voter who registered within 30 days of election or on the day of an election on the grounds the
voter is not on an official registration list.

Section 5 — Amends AS 15.07.070(h) requiring the voter’s certificate used for voting an absentee in-
person or questioned ballot to include instructions that a person registering to vote using the voter’s
certificate and wishing to declare the person’s affiliation should complete the affiliation section on the
certificate. This subsection is also amended to include special needs ballots in this requirement.
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Section 6 - Amends AS 15.07.090(b) to stipulate that a person who has reregistered under this
subsection may vote only an absentee in-person, special needs, or questioned ballot until the next
election occurs, at least 30 days after re-registration. The division may not reject the absentee in-
person, special needs, or questioned ballot of a qualified voter who reregisters within 30 days before
election day because the voter’s name is not on the official registration list.

Section 7 — Amends AS 15.07.090(c) to stipulate that if a voter’s request to transfer registration is
made within 30 days before or on election day, that voter may vote only in absentee in-person, special
needs, or questioned ballot. The division may not reject the ballot of a voter who satisfies these
requirements on the basis that they are not on the official registration list for the election. A voter must
reside in the new house district for at least 30 days to vote a ballot for that district.

Section 8 —~Amends AS 15.07.090(d) to stipulate that a qualified voter who registers within 30 days of
election and for whom no evidence of registration in the precinct can be found may only vote an
absentee in-person, special needs, or questioned ballot and that the division may not reject said ballot
on the grounds the voter is not on the official registration list for the election.

Section 9 — Amends AS 15.07.130(e) to rename “absentee voting stations” to “early voting stations.”

Section 10 - Amends AS 15.15.370 to add a stipulation requiring that, when the director of Elections
publishes unofficial election results, they will include the subsequent rankings selected by the voters
who ranked that candidate as the voters’ first choice.

Section 11 — Amends AS 15.20.030 to include a postage-paid return envelope with the mail-in ballot
and materials. It also adds space for recording the date of the voter’s signature declaring the person is a
qualified voter. This section prohibits the identification of a voter’s party affiliation on the ballot
envelope and also removes reference to the requirement of witness signatures.

Section 12 — Amends AS 15.20.045 to rename absentee voting stations as early voting stations and
stipulates that the director shall provide locations designated as early voting stations with the
appropriate ballots at least 30 days before the election, in line with extending early voting options to 30
days before an election.

Section 13 — Amends AS 15.20.050 with conforming language in line with renaming absentee voting
stations as early voting stations.

Section 14 — Amends AS 15.20.061 extending the period that a qualified voter may apply in person for
an absentee ballot from the 15™ day before an election up to and including the date of the election to on
or after the 30" day.

Section 15 — Amends AS 15.20.064(a) permits a qualified voter who meets the requirements set out in
this section to vote 30 days before an election or on election day.

Section 16 — Amends AS 15.20.064 to add a stipulation permitting a voter who fails to meet the voter
verification requirements of this section to vote an absentee ballot.
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Section 17 — Amends AS 15.20.072(b) extending the time from 15 days to 30 days in which a voter,
through a representative, requests a special needs ballot. Also provides conforming language that aligns
AS 15.20.072(b) with renaming “absentee voting station” as “early voting station” for uniformity.

Section 18 — Amends AS 15.20.081(d) to eliminate the witness requirement for absentee ballots.

Section 19 — Amends AS 15.20.201(a) to require the election supervisor to begin reviewing voter
certificates and envelopes for absentee ballots ten days before election day, which is three days earlier
than the current seven days in law. This section also adds the requirement that an absentee ballot may
not be counted until the voter certificate has been reviewed.

Section 20 — Amends AS 15.20.203(b) to require the election board to reject an absentee ballot if the
voter has not signed the certificate, if the ballot envelope and certificate are delivered, postmarked, or
has a tracking barcode showing it was mailed after election day. This section removes the requirement
of a witness signature on the certificate.

Section 21 — Amends AS 15.20.220(b) to add absentee ballots properly cured to the list of ballots to be
reviewed by the state review board.

Section 22 — Adds a new subsection that creates a process for curing ballots that were rejected because
of a missing signature or insufficient voter identification. It requires the Division of Elections to make a
reasonable effort to contact those voters, explain the ballot deficiency, and explain how to fix the
deficiency by the required deadline. A voter with a notice of deficiency must confirm they sent in the
ballot and provide the required identification within 14 days after the election to have their ballot
counted. It also states that if a voter says they didn’t send in a ballot, the election office will send that
information to the attorney general.

Section 23 — Amends AS 15.56.030(d), which concerns the definition of “other valuable thing” about
unlawful interference with voting. It clarifies that the definition does not include postage-paid return
envelopes required in AS 15.20.030.

Section 24 — AS 15.58.030(h), which pertains to the publication of candidate information on the
division’s website. The amendment requires the lieutenant governor to publish a candidate’s
photograph and statement on the website at least 30 days before an election, rather than 15 days,
aligning with extending the early voting period.

Section 25 — Amends AS 29.20.380(c), which permits the municipal clerk to act as an absentee voting
official under AS 15.20.045(c), with conforming language changing “absentee voting station” to “early
voting station” under AS 15.20.045(b).

Section 26 — Amends AS 29.26.050 by adding a new subsection to allow people who have lived in a
town for at least 30 days, but have not yet registered to vote there, may vote with an absentee, special
needs, or questioned ballot in that election. The municipality may not reject the absentee, special needs,
or questioned ballot of a qualified voter registered within 30 days before or on the day of an election
based on the voter not being on the official registration list for the election. This section aligns with
allowing voters to register to vote within 30 days of an election.
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Section 27 — Repeals AS 29.26.050(a)(3), which permitted a person to vote in person at a municipal
election only if they had registered to vote in state elections at a residence address within a municipality
at least 30 days before the election at which the person seeks to vote.

Section 28 — Adds a new section to uncodified law on the applicability of AS 15.56.030(d), stipulating
that sec. 23 of this act applies to offenses committed on or after the effective date of this act.

Section 29 — Provides an effective date of January 1, 2026, for the provisions in this act.
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