Payday Lending in Alaska

It's time for reform.

Many Alaskans living paycheck to paycheck turn to payday loans to fill a gap
between their income and basic living expenses. However, the high cost of these
short-term loans leaves many families trapped in a cycle of chronic debt and
poverty.

The Basics — What is a Payday Loan?

In Alaska, payday loans are loans of $500 or less ($750 or less at pawn shops), with a
minimum loan term of two weeks. To ensure repayment, borrowers must provide a
post-dated check or direct access to their bank account as collateral.

The Facts — Payday Loans Cost Alaskans

Payday lending is a relatively new experiment in our state, and the result is hurting
low-income Alaskans more than helping.
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Nationally, data shows that borrowers take an average of five months to repay payday
loans. When a borrower can’t pay, the loan can be rolled over, or a new loan can be
created, causing interest to compound.

Did You | over the last five years (2017-2022), payday lenders garnished over
Know? | $3.7 million from Alaskans’ PFDs.
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card debt in Alaska - an $8,000 balance paid over 14 months -
would cost nearly $37,000 to pay off.

In Context

In total, payday loans, most of which are made online by out-of-state
companies, extract an average of $29 million from Alaskans each year.

In 2017, a Texas study revealed that nearly half (45%) of Veterans had taken
out a payday loan, compared with only 7% of the general population.

The Fix — Remove Special Rules for Payday Loans

There’s a simple and proven solution that would help protect the wealth of
our Veterans, families, and everyday hardworking Alaskans.

Alaska law already sets a 36% annual percentage rate (APR) limit on most
other small dollar loans (up to $850). Payday loans have a special exception
from this limit, resulting in borrowers paying 194.7% to 521.4% APR.

By removing this unnecessary carve-out, Alaska could join 18 other states,
including South Dakota, New Mexico, Montana, West Virginia, and
Nebraska, that have established a 36% APR rate cap for payday loans.

In effect? This would mean an Alaskan borrowing $500 would pay the same
interest rate as an Alaskan borrowing $800. Common sense? We think so.

By treating payday loans the same as all other small dollar loans, we could
protect all Alaskans with a common-sense 36% APR limit.



