SB 167

Granting past PFDs to those who were
wrongfully convicted
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PED Ineligibility

Under AS 43.23.005 subsection (d) An individual is not eligible for a
permanent fund dividend for a dividend year when:

(1) During the qualifying year, the individual was sentenced as a result of conviction in this
state [Alaska] of a felony

(2) During all or part of the qualifying year, the individual was incarcerated as a result of the
conviction in this state [Alaska] of a

(A) felony; or
(B) Misdemeanor if the individual has been convicted of

(i) A prior felony as defined in AS 11.81.900

(i1) Two or more prior misdemeanors as defined in AS
11.81.900
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PFD for the Exonerated

SB 167 seeks to reimburse the PFD to people who have been
exonerated for the years they were previously deemed ineligible under
AS 43.23.005 (d) if:

The individual’s conviction is vacated or reversed, and

(1) The charges are later dismissed, or
(2) The individual is retried and found not guilty

The reimbursement would not apply to those who take plea deals

Time Frame:
Those eligible would have one year to apply after the dismissal or not guilty finding

Those who were exonerated before enactment of this policy would have one year after the effective
date of this legislation to apply



Money Matters

Source of the PFD money: Prior Years Liability Fund
Current Amount in Fund: $1,707,719.81

Cost to Fund for the Fairbanks Four: $103,450.96
Percentage of Fund for the Fairbanks Four: 6.06%

The Fairbanks Four were ineligible for a PFD for 18 years while incarcerated

The Alaska Innocence Project estimates that less than 10 individuals who were
incarcerated for two years or less would also qualify for past PFDs

The Prior Years Liability Fund would most likely cover the cost of SB 167



Comparison to Other States

Alaska is one of only 12 states that provide no compensation for wrongful
convictions

Other States’ compensation for exonerees often include

Monetary Compensation
College Tuition/Job Training
Housing Assistance
Mental Health Services

Presence of State Statute
Regarding Compensation for
Wrongful Incarceration

[l States that have neither passed
nor have pending legislation
regarding compensating for
wrongful incarceration

[ States that currently have
legislation pending regarding
compensating for wrongful
incarceration

[ States that have statutes
compensating for wrongful
incarceration




Example: Texas

Texas’s Compensation Statutes include
- $80,000/year or $100,000/year for death row
- Compensation for child support payments owed while the claimant was wrongfully incarcerated
- Up to $10,000 in reintegration financial assistance
- Attorneys’ fees

- Tuition for up to 120 credit hours, including tuition and fees

Note: SB 167 bill is not a compensation bill — it is a reimbursement bill.



Thank You
Questions?
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