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Alaska’s 
Constitution, 
Amended 
1976



Governor 
Hammond’s 
Plan (1980)

“In 1980, the state legislature enacted the 
Permanent Fund dividend program (ch. 21 SLA 
1980, hereinafter "the 1980 Act") to distribute 
annually a portion of the Permanent Fund's 
earnings directly to the state's adult residents. 
Under the 1980 Act, each Alaska resident 18 years 
of age or older would receive one dividend per 
each year of residency since 1959, the year of 
statehood. The dividends would be paid yearly, 
starting with a value of $50 per dividend in 1979. 
The initial payment to long-term residents would 
be $1,050 each, while a new resident, having lived 
only one month of 1979 in Alaska, would receive 
$4 (1/12th of the $50 dividend for 1979).”

- Beattie Through Beattie v. United States, 
March 13, 1986



First Dividend = 
$1000

1982 Statute:



Historic 
Average 
Dividends

• 1982 – 2015 
Average: 
$1,149.98

• 2016 – 2024 
Average: 

    $1,525.78



Legislative 
Finance 
Models

• Statutory Dividend: Not affordable without 
massive taxes

• 50/50 Dividend: Not affordable without 
massive taxes

• 75/25 Dividend: Not affordable without 
significant taxes

• $1,000 Dividend = Not affordable without 
taxes, or means-testing





Questions?
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