ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE

SESSION
State Capitol, Suite 516
Juneau, Alaska 99801-1182
(907) 465-3873 Phone
Sen.Bert.Stedman@akleg.gov



INTERIM 1900 1st Avenue, Suite 510 Ketchikan, AK 99901-6442 Phone (907) 225-8088 www.BertStedman.com

SENATOR BERT K. STEDMAN

CO-CHAIRMAN, SENATE FINANCE COMMITTEE

Sponsor Statement

Senate Joint Resolution 17

Senate Joint Resolution 17 celebrates The Energy Council's five decades of distinguished contributions to advancing energy policy collaboration. Established in 1975 as a nonpartisan platform for state legislators, the Council originally consisted of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. Over time, its membership expanded to include Alabama, Alaska, Wyoming, Mississippi, Kansas, North Dakota, West Virginia, Montana, and Utah. In recognition of the interconnected nature of energy markets, the Council also extended its membership to the Canadian provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan.

This resolution recognizes the Council's pivotal role in promoting reliable energy as a foundation for economic stability and its ongoing efforts to educate lawmakers on emerging energy trends. It highlights the Council's notable contributions to federal energy and environmental policymaking, as well as its dedication to developing legislative policies that balance energy security, reliability, efficiency, and affordability.

Senate Joint Resolution 17 commends the Council for fostering constructive dialogue and enhancing policymakers' understanding of critical energy issues relevant to their states, provinces, and nations.