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Gunther
4/7/25
AMENDMENT
OFFERED IN THE SENATE BY SENATOR(IRAY ~JACKSON
TO: SB 99

Page 1, line 1, following "conservators;":

Insert "amending Rule 17(e), Alaska Rules of Probate Procedure;"

Page 4, following line 7:

Insert new bill sections to read;

"* Sec. 6. AS 13.26.465(g) is amended to read:

(g) In addition to any other requirement of this section, [WHEN
APPOINTING A RELATIVE OR FRIEND OF THE PROTECTED PERSON AS
THE CONSERVATOR OF THE PROTECTED PERSON,] the court shall require that
a [THE] proposed conservator complete one hour of mandatory education on the
basics of conservatorship before the appointment or within 30 days after the

appointment if the proposed conservator is a

(1) relative or friend of the protected person; or

(2) private professional conservator who obtained a private

professional conservator license by satisfving the licensure requirement provided
under AS 08.26.030(4)(B) and has not previously completed the mandatory
education required by the court under this subsection. [[F THE PERSON IS
APPOINTED BASED ON THE PERSON'S AGREEMENT TO COMPLETE THE
MANDATORY EDUCATION AND THE PERSON FAILS TO COMPLETE THE
MANDATORY EDUCATION WITHIN THE 30 DAYS, THE COURT SHALL
REMOVE THE CONSERVATOR AND APPOINT A SUCCESSOR.]

* Sec. 7. AS 13.26.465 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:

(h) If a person is appointed as a conservator based on the person's agreement
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to complete the mandatory education within 30 days under (g) of this section and the
person fails to complete the mandatory education within 30 days, the court shall
remove the conservator and appoint a successor.
* Sec. 8. The uncodified law of the State of Alaska is amended by adding a new section to
read:
DIRECT COURT RULE AMENDMENT. Rule 17(e), Alaska Rules of
Probate Procedure, is amended to read:

(¢) Mandatory Education. A person required to complete one hour of

mandatory education on the basics of conservatorship under AS 13.26.465(g)
[RELATIVE OR FRIEND OF THE PROTECTED PERSON WHO IS APPOINTED
AS A CONSERVATOR] must complete the [ONE HOUR OF] mandatory education
[ON THE BASICS OF CONSERVATORSHIP] before [THE] appointment or within
30 days after [THE] appointment as provided by AS 13.26.465(g)."

Renumber the following bill section accordingly.



