ALASKA STATE SENATE

Session: State Capitol Building, Room 418 Juneau, AK 99801 Phone: (907) 465-4527



Interim:
P.O. Box 658
Tok, AK 99780
Tok: (907) 883-4527
Fairbanks: (907) 465-4527

Senator Mike Cronk

Sectional Analysis for SB 63

"An Act relating to the Local Boundary Commission."

Section 1:

- Changes the number of seats on the Local Boundary Commission from 5 seats to 6 seats.
- Changes the terms for the commissioner seats from 5 years to 6 years.
- Establishes that at least one Commissioner be from the unorganized Borough.
- Requires a commissioner appointed from a Judicial District to be domiciled and registered to vote in that District.
- Establishes that the Chair of the Local Boundary Commission be elected from among its members, rather than the Chair being the member at-large by default.

Section 2:

Amends the uncodified law of the State of Alaska to state that members appointed to the Local Boundary Commission will serve six-year terms, and this act will not affect the term of a member appointed prior to January 31, 2026.

Section 3:

Establishes an effective date of January 31, 2026.

Staff Contact: Paul Menke (907) 465-4527