

## **Department of Public Safety**

OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER James E. Cockrell

5700 East Tudor Road Anchorage, Alaska 99507-1225 Main: 907.269.4542

February 5, 2025

The Honorable Kelly Merrick Chair Senate Community and Regional Affairs Alaska State Legislature State Capitol Room 504 Juneau, AK 99801

Subject: Follow-up for Senate Community and Regional Affairs hearing February 4, 2025

Senator Gray-Jackson requested confirmation that a Village Public Safety Officer is currently serving Akutan.

Yes, a Village Public Safety Officer (VPSO) is serving Akutan.

Chair Merrick requested a list of State Troopers and their assigned areas.

Location	Count of Trooper Positions
Anchor Point	10
Anchorage	58
Aniak	5
Bethel	24
Cantwell	4
Coldfoot Camp	1
Cordova	2
Craig	6
Delta Junction	5
Dillingham	7
Dutch Harbor	1
Emmonak	5
Fairbanks	57

Location	Count of Trooper Positions
Galena	3
Glennallen	7
Haines	1
Healy	2
Hoonah	1
Hooper Bay	2
Juneau	10
Kenai	1
Ketchikan	11
King Salmon	4
Kodiak	15
Kotzebue	8
McGrath	1
Nenana	1
Nome	8
Palmer	37
Petersburg	2
St. Mary's	8
Selawik	2
Seward	8
Sitka	11
Soldotna	34
Togiak	2
Tok	6
Unalakleet	3
Valdez	1
Wasilla	36
Wrangell	1
Total	411