

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS
AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING
Juneau Office

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

HB 158: Professional Licensing; Temp Permits Sectional Analysis, Version A

Section 1

Adds a new section AS 08.01.061 – *temporary license* – to allow the department to issue a temporary license to practice an occupation in AS 08.01.010 (*Centralized Licensing: applicability of chapter*) if the applicant:

- Either
 - Is licensed/credentialed to practice in another U.S. jurisdiction that has substantially equivalent license requirements to Alaska's and authorizes a scope of practice substantially equivalent to Alaska's; or
 - Does not hold licensure in a U.S. jurisdiction, but meets the qualifications and requirements through military education, training, and service under AS 08.01.064 (Centralized Licensing: military education, training, and service credit; temporary license); and
- Is not the subject of disciplinary action in another jurisdiction; and
- Has not committed an act in another jurisdiction that would constitute grounds for denial or revocation of a license in Alaska; and
- Pays the required fees.

If Alaska law requires a background check for the permanent license, the background check will also be required for the temporary license, but the department may opt to grant a temporary license before obtaining the resulting report.

If a temporary license is obtained through deceit, fraud, or intentional misrepresentation, the department may take disciplinary action, including revocation.

A temporary license is valid for up to 180 days, with an option to apply for a one-time 180-day extension to be approved at the department's discretion.

A person can work at the full scope of practice for the occupation for which they hold the temporary license. Temporary licenses are not available for occupations regulated under AS 08.54 (Big Game Guides and Related Occupations) or AS 08.62 (Marine Pilots); as those professions require Alaska-specific training.

- Amends AS 08.01.062 *courtesy licenses* to remove the department's authority to create courtesy licenses, since those are no longer required with the creation of temporary licenses in Section 1. Professional licensing boards are still allowed to create courtesy licenses, but they are designed to be available for a limited purpose as established by the board in regulation.
- Section 3 Repeals and reenacts AS 08.01.063 portability of professional licenses for servicemembers and their spouses to ensure Alaska's military licensing provisions comply with the federal Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (SCRA) licensure portability provisions, which took effect in January 2023 and were amended in March 2025.

In compliance with the SCRA laws, this section requires the department to issue a professional license to a servicemember or servicemember's spouse if the applicant:

- Applies to the department; and
- Has military orders to a duty station in Alaska; and
- Holds a license/certificate in another U.S. jurisdiction; and
- Is in good standing in all U.S. jurisdictions where they've ever been licensed; and
- Submits a notarized affidavit affirming that: and
 - o The applicant is the person described and identified in the application; and
 - o All statements made in the application are true and correct; and
 - O The applicant has read and understands the requirements to receive the license and the scope of practice for the relevant license type; and
 - O The applicant will comply with the requirements to practice under the license, including requirements related to discipline and fulfillment of continuing education; and
 - o The applicant is in good standing with all U.S. jurisdictions where they've been licensed;
- If the applicant is a military spouse, a copy of their marriage license; and
- Payment of any applicable fees.

In compliance with the SCRA laws, if an applicant meets the requirements above, the department shall issue the license within 30 days unless additional time is required to complete a criminal background check, in which case the department must issue a temporary license within the 30 days while awaiting the background check.

This section only applies to licenses set out under AS 08.01.010 (*Centralized Licensing: applicability of chapter*), and in compliance with the SCRA laws, does not apply to a profession that's subject to an interstate licensing compact that has been entered into by the state.

The terms "license," "licensing authority," "military orders," "military service," "scope of practice," and "servicemember" are defined as they are listed in the SCRA in 50 U.S.C. 3911.

- Sections 4-22 Make conforming changes to replace existing references to temporary licenses, temporary permits, etc. with references to temporary permits under AS 08.01.061 (create by Section 1). These conforming changes are made in the following statutes:
 - AS 08.13.070 Barbers and Hairdressers: license required
 - AS 08.13.120(b) under Barbers and Hairdressers: shop license
 - AS 08.13.130(a) under Barbers and Hairdressers: display of license or permit
 - AS 08.13.150 Barbers and Hairdressers: disciplinary sanctions and grounds for refusal of a license or permit
 - AS 08.13.175 Barbers and Hairdressers: temporary license
 - AS 08.13.185(a) under Barbers and Hairdressers: fees
 - AS 08.13.190 Barbers and Hairdressers: failure to possess a license or permit
 - AS 08.20.180(a) under *Chiropractors: fees*
 - AS 08.36.100 Dentistry: license required
 - AS 08.64.279 Medicine: interview for permit or temporary license
 - AS 08.64.315 *Medicine: fees*
- Section 23 Makes conforming changes by repealing all existing statutes on temporary licenses/permits for professions identified in AS 08.01.010 except those under AS 08.54 and AS 08.62.
- Section 24 Makes conforming changes by annulling all regulations specific to temporary military courtesy licenses.

- Section 25 Adds a new *Transition: Regulations* section to uncodified law to allow the department to adopt regulations necessary to implement this Act.
- Adds a new *Transition: Savings Clause* section to the uncodified law to clarify that pending litigation, hearings, investigations, appeals, and other proceedings continue in effect not withstanding a transfer, amendment, or repeal provided in this Act; that existing licenses, certificates, orders, regulations, and permits issued under a law amended or repealed by this Act will remain in effect for the term issued; and that contracts, rights, liabilities, and obligations created under a law amended or repealed by this act that are in effect as of the effective date will remain in effect.
- Section 27 Provides an immediate effective date for Section 3, 25, and 26.
- Section 28 Provides a July 1, 2026, effective date for Sections 1-2 and Sections 4-24.