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This memo provides a comparison of Alaska H.B. 193 and other state paid family and
medical leave (PFML) programs in terms of covered purposes, duration of leave, wage
replacement rates, and funding mechanisms.

Policy Comparison of H.B. 193 and State Paid Leave Programs

Covered Purposes

e H.B. 193 would provide paid parental leave for employees to bond with a new child
within the first 12 months following the birth, adoption, or foster care placement of
the child.

e In contrast, all 14 states with PFML programs cover leave for bonding with a new
child, caring for a loved one with a serious heath condition, and addressing a
worker’s own serious health needs.

o Most state programs also cover leave for military family needs in connection
with deployment, including military exigency leave and military caregiving
leave.

Duration of Leave

e H.B. 193 would provide up to 26 weeks of paid parental leave for eligible employees.
e In the states with paid leave programs, all parents are allowed to take between 7 and
12 weeks off work to bond with a new child. The most common duration of family
leave is up to 12 weeks. However, in many states, a parent who gave birth can take

more leave by stacking medical leave and family leave. (See the table below for more
details.)

e The most rigorous research to date shows a state policy that provides at least 12
weeks of paid leave for parents who give birth and at least 6 weeks for all other
parents with a new child leads to positive impacts.


https://www.akleg.gov/PDF/34/Bills/HB0193A.PDF
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Paid Family and Medical Leave
Maximum Duration of Leave (Weeks)

Family Leave | Medical Leave GAEL S 2 SRl ) Total Post-Birth Leave
Leave Prenatal Leave
8 52

S - Parents who give birth: 14 to 16;
California Not specified All other parents: 8
4 (prenatal or Parents who give birth: 16;
Colorado 12 12 - postnatal leave) | All other parents: 12
. Parents who give birth: 12;
Connecticut 12 12 12 2 All other parents: 12
6 (caregiving); 6 (caregiving, medical); Parents who give birth: 12;
Delaware 12 (bonding) 6 12 (bonding) All other parents: 12
. . Parents who give birth: 12;
District of Columbia 12 12 12 2 All other parents: 12
. Parents who give birth: 12;
Maine 12 E e All other parents: 12
Parents who give birth: 18 to 20;
* ;
Maryland e L 2 All other parents: 12
Parents who give birth: 18 to 20;
Massachusetts 12 20 26 All other parents: 12
) Parents who give birth: 18 to 20;
Minnesota 12 12 20 All other parents: 12
- Parents who give birth: 18 to 20;
New Jersey 12 26 Not specified All other parents: 12
Parents who give birth: 18 to 20;
New York 12 A = All other parents: 12
2 (prenatalor | Parents who give birth: 14;
Oregon 12 2 L postnatal leave) | All other parents: 12
Parents who give birth: 13 to 15;
Rhode Island 7 30 30 All other parents: 7
. Parents who give birth: 16;
Washington 12 12 16 2 All other parents: 12

Notes: Additional prenatal leave refers te any additional leave that may be taken for qualifying conditions that is not subjected to the annual cumulative maximum. Duration of
farnily and medical leave may include unpaid waiting periods.

* In the case that a worker has a new child and a serious personal medical issue, Maryland permits a cumulative maximum of 24 weeks of leave.

Source: As of January 1, 2025. State paid family and medical leave laws and A Better Balance.
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Wage Replacement

H.B. 193 would provide a weekly benefit amount for eligible employees based on a
set schedule outlined in the bill. The maximum weekly benefit would be S675.

Currently, maximum weekly benefits range from $900 to $1,681 in states with
existing PFML programs. (See the table below for more details.)

Paid Family and Medical Leave
Maximum Weekly Benefits

Max. Weekly
Benefit

Delaware* $900

Connecticut $981

Maryland* $1,000
Rhode Island $1,070
New Jersey 51,081
Massachusetts $1,171

Maine* $1,145
District of Columbia 51153
New York S1177
Colorado S1,324
Minnesota* $1,372
Washington $1,542
Oregon 51,569
California 51,681

Note: * means the state has not yet begun
implementing benefits to families.

Source: As of January 1, 2025. State paid family and
medical leave laws and A Better Balance.

Funding Mechanism

H.B. 193 would create a new paid parental leave trust fund. Eligible employees in
Alaska would contribute 0.15% of wages, up to a specific wage threshold (which is
$51,700 in 2025). To offset the cost, the employee contribution for Ul would then
decrease by the same amount. The bill does not increase the payroll contribution
for employees beyond the amount currently collected for Ul (which is 0.5% of wages
in 2025).
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e Three PFML programs are funded by contributions collected from employees only.
The majority of programs (10) are funded through both employee and employer
contributions.! Total contributions currently range from 0.39% to 1.3%. (See the
chart below for more details.)

Paid Family and Medical Leave

2025 Contribution Rates for Employers and Employers
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+ Employer contribution rate varies by employer size; cited rate reflects midpoint of range
* Indicates the state has not yet begun collecting PFML contributions.
Note: States are listed in order of implementation.

'In New York, employees and employers share the cost of medical leave (called temporary disability insurance)
and employees cover the full cost of family leave. However, the contribution rate for medical leave is so low
that it’s not represented on the chart below.
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