Department of Labor and Workforce Development

HB 61- Employment of Minors House State Affairs



Tanya Keith, Director, Labor Standards and Safety February 6, 2025



Purpose

- Allows work up to 12 hours per day under a voluntary flexible work hour plan for all employees
- Makes changes to youth employment laws to allow businesses to employ 14-15 year-olds with written approval from the department
- Exempts 16-year-olds and minors in family-owned businesses from written approval requirement
- Increases daily hours allowed for combined school/work for 14-15 year-olds from 9 to 10 hours
- Allows 14-15 year-olds to work fulltime (40 hours/week) when school is not in session









Summary of Flexible Work Hour Changes

- Would allow employees to work up to 12 hours
- Requires overtime for work over 8 hours in a day not included in flex plan
- Remains voluntary on behalf of the employee
- Available to all industries in Alaska





Overtime/Flexible Work Hour Plan Laws

Employees must be paid overtime for work over 8 hours per day and 40 hours per week per *Alaska Statute 23.10.060*, unless otherwise exempt

Flexible Work Hour Plans

- Allows employees to work up to 10 hours without overtime (*Alaska Statute 23.10.060(14)*)
- Must be voluntary for the employee and can not be made a condition of employment
- Are reviewed and approved by the Department of Labor (8 AAC 15.102)
- Requires overtime payment for hours worked outside the agreement



Flex Work Hour Plans 2020-2024

- Department approved flex plans for 1,348 employers; once approved, multiple employees can be added to the plan
- Department estimates between 5,300 13,500 employees working alternate work schedules
- Department received a total of 563 wage claims
 - Of those, one wage claim related to violation of flex plan



Benefits of Flexible Work Hour Plans

- Employers: flexible staffing options, consistent scheduling for 24hour facilities, and healthcare industry employers will be able to offer competitive schedules when recruiting employees
- Workers: negotiate a schedule that offers a better work/life balance, reduces commute costs, and eliminates or reduces the need for childcare



Youth Employment Changes

- Exempts 16-year-olds and youth working in family-owned businesses from approval requirements
- Moves from individual work permits to requiring approval for businesses to employ 14-15 year-olds
- Adds one hour to the total number of combined school/work hours 14–15
 year-olds can work from 9 to 10 hours
- Allows 14-15 year-olds to work up to 40 hours per week during summer and school breaks



Work Permits 2020-2024

- 29,719 work permits received for 3,345 employers
 - Average of 5,944 per year
- 63% of work permits are received May-August
- Peak season wait time to approve work permits is 4 days to 5 weeks
- 402 child labor worksite inspections conducted
 - Average of 80 per year (1.5 per week)



Youth Employment Registration Process*

- Employer will submit an application to the department for approval for each location employing youth
- Employer will be required to review and follow State and Federal child labor requirements
- Supervisors of youth employees will be required to take child labor training provided by department
- Employer must have written approval to work from child's parent in child's personnel file

*Through regulation



HB61 Child Labor Improvements

- Encourages businesses to hire youth workers by removing administrative hurdles
- Allows youth workers to start work immediately
- Allows youth workers to advance without need for additional department approval, providing more job opportunities
- Allows the department to target resources on monitoring youth worksites through on-site inspections to ensure child labor laws are being followed
- Allows the department to focus on providing employer education, compliance assistance, and enforcement of child labor laws



Contact



Tanya Keith, Director, Labor Standards and Safety



(907) 269-4920



tanya.keith@alaska.gov

