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“An Act establishing a student loan repayment pilot program;
and providing for an effective date.”

Section 1: Adds a new section to the uncodified law creating a student loan repayment pilot
program:

a)

The program will be developed and administered by the Alaska Commission on
Postsecondary Education. Subject to appropriation, the commission may award a grant to
a person who:

1) applies not later than October 31, 2025;

2) is a full-time state employee or public school teacher;

3) has a degree or certificate from a higher education institution from outside Alaska;

4) was an Alaska resident for at least a year before attending the out-of-state
institution;

5) or has completed a degree or certificate through the University of Alaska system
and has resided outside of the state for 12 months or more prior to returning to
Alaska to work as a full-time state employee or public school teacher;

6) owes payment on a student loan taken to obtain their degree or certificate.

The Commission will establish an application process, along with policies to determine the
efficiency and success of the program in recruiting and retaining grant recipient employees
with the state and school districts. The commission will report to the legislature yearly.
To participate, applicants may be required to refinance their existing student loans through
the commission.

Grants awarded are only for full-time teachers or state employees, and payable only at the
completion of a year of work.

Participants may receive a grant each year for a maximum of three years in an amount not
to exceed $8,000 per year. If the balance of the participant’s outstanding loan is less than
$24,000, the grant will be equal to one-third of the balance in each year of participation in
the program.

Up to 125 grants will be awarded each fiscal year. The total dollar amount awarded may
not exceed $1,000,000 in a fiscal year. If the amount appropriated in a fiscal year is
insufficient to meet the amounts awarded, the commission will reduce the amounts
awarded.

Section 2: Adds a new section to the uncodified law requiring the commission to submit a report
on December 21 of 2025, 2026, and 2027 that describes the effects of the pilot program on
recruitment and retention of teachers and state employees. The last report will include an analysis
of the overall success rate and effectiveness of the program.

Section 3: This bill sunsets on December 31, 2027.

Section 4: This Act takes effect immediately.
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