CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 4(RLS)

IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA

THIRTY-FOURTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

BY THE HOUSE RULES COMMITTEE

Offered: 1/27/25

Referred: Today's Calendar

Sponsor(s): REPRESENTATIVES DIBERT, Galvin, Mina, Kopp, Carrick

SENATORS Kawasaki, Wielechowski, Dunbar, Tobin, Kiehl, Gray-Jackson, Claman

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Urging the President of the United States, the United States Secretary of the Interior, the
- 2 United States Board on Geographic Names, and the members of the state's delegation in
- 3 Congress to maintain Denali as the official name for the tallest mountain in North
- 4 America.

5 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- WHEREAS the name Denali is deeply ingrained in the state's culture and identity;
- 7 and
- 8 **WHEREAS** residents of the state believe that the names of the geographic features in
- 9 the state should be determined by state residents and representatives; and
- 10 **WHEREAS** the Athabaskan people and their ancestors have lived in the Interior of
- the state for more than 10,000 years; and
- WHEREAS Denali, the traditional Koyukon Athabaskan name, meaning "the high
- one," was designated as the official name for North America's tallest mountain in 1975 by the
- 14 state; and
- WHEREAS, on June 7, 1913, Walter Harper, a 20-year-old man of Athabaskan

1	descent, became the first person to stand on the summit of the mountain; and
2	WHEREAS state lawmakers petitioned the United States Board on Geographic
3	Names to change the mountain's name to "Denali" in 1975, and, in 2015, the United States
4	officially adopted the name Denali for the mountain; and
5	WHEREAS residents of the state from all backgrounds and political persuasions
6	embrace Denali as the rightful name for the tallest mountain in North America; and
7	WHEREAS residents of the state take pride in the fact that people outside the state
8	also recognize Denali as the mountain's well-established name; and
9	WHEREAS both Denali National Park and the mountain are well-known and
10	established landmarks, and changing the mountain's name could cause confusion and
11	negatively affect tourism in the state; and
12	WHEREAS there were once hundreds of languages spoken by Alaska Native peoples,
13	many of which are still used by their descendants today; and
14	WHEREAS the use of, and names and terms from, Athabaskan languages have a rich
15	legacy in the Interior and Canada; and
16	WHEREAS traditional Indigenous names for certain geographic features, places, and
17	communities are commonly used by local, state, and federal government agencies in the state;
18	and
19	WHEREAS residents of the state understand that the use of Indigenous names
20	throughout the state reflects the long history, diverse cultures, traditions, and languages of the
21	state's Alaska Native peoples; and
22	WHEREAS the Alaska State Legislature supports efforts to recognize the heritage of
23	the state's Alaska Native peoples and the continuing importance of the mountain to Alaska
24	Native culture;
25	BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature respectfully urges the President
26	of the United States, the United States Secretary of the Interior, and the United States Board
27	on Geographic Names to maintain Denali as the name for the tallest mountain in North
28	America and that action to rename the mountain not be taken; and be it
29	FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature respectfully urges the
30	members of the Alaska delegation in Congress to advocate on behalf of, and work to preserve,
31	Denali as the name for the tallest mountain in North America.

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Donald J. Trump, President of the United States; the Honorable J. D. Vance, Vice President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Walter Cruickshank, Acting United States Secretary of the Interior; the Domestic Names Committee, United States Board on Geographic Names; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Nick Begich, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.