

Chairperson of the Board Marsha Jones

President
Keith Churchwell, MD, FAHA

Chairperson-elect Lee Shapiro

President-elect Stacey E. Rosen, MD, FAHA

*Immediate Past Chairperson*Raymond P. Vara, Jr.

Immediate Past President
Joseph C. Wu, MD, PhD, FAHA

Treasurer

Linda Gooden

Directors

Michelle A. Albert, MD, MPH, FAHA Cheryl A.M. Anderson, PhD, MPH, MS, FAHA Regina M. Benjamin, MD, MBA Tom Greco

Mindy Grossman Robert A. Harrington, MD, FAHA Donald M. Lloyd-Jones, MD, ScM, FAHA

Katie Miller-Smith
Manesh Patel, MD, FAHA
Cheryl Pegus, MD, MPH
James J. Postl
Vicente Reynal
Marcella Roberts
Jorge Saucedo, MD, MBA, FAHA
Bertram L. Scott
Svati Shah, MD, MS, MHS, FAHA
Bob Swan
John J. Warner, MD, FAHA

Chief Executive Officer
Nancy A. Brown

Chief Operating Officer Suzie Upton

Chief Science and Medical Officer Mariell Jessup, MD, FAHA

Chief Administrative Officer and Corporate Secretary Larry D. Cannon March 5, 2025

Senator Gray-Jackson State Capitol Bldg., Room 30 Juneau, AK 99801

Dear Senator Gray-Jackson:

The American Heart Association is proud to support Senate Bill 20 which would establish CPR training as part of the state's health curriculum. Thank you for your leadership in sponsoring this legislation.

More than 350,000 people experience cardiac arrest outside of a hospital every year, and only 1 in 10 survive. When CPR is started right away, it can double or triple survival rates. Cardiac arrest is survivable for most people if it's treated within a few minutes.

Training students in CPR ensures that they learn lifesaving skills, preparing them to give people who experience cardiac arrest the immediate help they need to survive until EMTs arrive.

Let's create a nation of lifesavers by ensuring all of Alaska's students are trained in CPR and AED use prior to graduating high school.

With heartfelt thanks,

Lindsay Hovind

Vice President, Advocacy – Western Region