
Naturopathic Doctor (ND) Prescribing Rights by State

State Prescriptive Rights Supervised/Independent

Alaska None

Arizona Legend drugs, Sch. II (limited), Sch. III-V; medical
marijuana (see below for details & limitations )1

Independent

California Legend drugs and Sch. III-V (see notes below) Hormones, independent
Legend drugs and Sch. III-V

with supervision**

Colorado None2

Connecticut None

Hawaii Legend drugs per naturopathic formulary Independent

Idaho Noncontrolled legend drugs and testosterone3 Independent

Kansas No legend drugs or controlled substances4

Maine Limited noncontrolled legend drugs5 Independent, one-year
supervision required**

Maryland None6 Independent

Massachusetts None

Minnesota None7

Montana Legend drugs and Sch. II-V per formulary Independent

New Hampshire Legend drugs and Sch. III per formulary Independent

New Mexico Legend drugs and Sch. III-V, excluding all
benzodiazapines, opioids, and opioid derivatives8

Independent

North Dakota None

Oregon Legend drugs and Sch. II-V, with limited exceptions9 Independent

9 See https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=254159.

8 See https://www.nmlegis.gov/Sessions/19%20Regular/final/SB0135.pdf.

7 See https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/147E.05#stat.147E.05.

6 See http://www.dsd.state.md.us/comar/comarhtml/10/10.32.21.08.htm.

5 See http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32sec12522.html, paragraph 4B.

4 There is a formulary for IV administration only. http://www.ksbha.org/statutes/booklets/naturopath.pdf. It requires a written protocol
with an MD/DO. However, due to the corporate practice of medicine act in KS, it is dicey to have physician collaboration. While legal by
statute to have oversight and provide via written protocol with an MD/DO, according to the corporate practice of medicine, it is not legal
for NDs to pay MDs/DOs. It is a gray area the Kansas association hopes to fix. Source: Aug. 2020 email from Dr. Laura Rues.

32 See https://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/current/24/243304.pdf.

2 NDs cannot generally prescribe legend drugs in Colorado - with very limited exceptions. See naturopathic formulary (pages 7-8). Per Dr.
Denise Clark in Colorado, NDs are limited to vaccines for those over 18 years of age, oxygen, and epinephrine, no supervision required.

11 See AZ prescriptive authority chart 2019. Sch. II: Only Morphine (no IV doses) and Hydrocodone combos previously Sch. III. NDs cannot
prescribe IV medications (except vitamins, chelation therapy, and drugs used in emergency resuscitation and stabilization), cancer
chemotherapeutics, or antipsychotics. NDs can prescribe medical marijuana, and they need a Certificate to Dispense natural substances,
drugs, and devices. See https://nd.az.gov/forms/certificate-dispense.
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State Prescriptive Rights Supervised/Independent

Pennsylvania None

Puerto Rico None

Rhode Island None

US Virgin
Islands

None

Utah Noncontrolled legend drugs in formulary and
testosterone

Independent

Vermont Legend drugs and Sch. II-V (must have “special
endorsement” to prescribe )10

Independent after
supervision for one year or

100 prescriptions**

Wisconsin None

Washington Legend drugs + codeine and testosterone products in
Sch. III-V ; medical marijuana11

Independent

Washington DC Limited legend drugs per formulary and12

testosterone
Independent

Note: A legend drug is an FDA approved drug that can only be dispensed with a prescription from a
licensed practitioner (MD, DO, ND, PA, NP, etc.). Within legend drugs, there are scheduled substances
(Schedules I-IV) that may have potential for abuse and have different levels of control.

*To access individual state statutes & rules, see https://fnmra.org/ras.
See also https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/drugreg/practioners/mlp_by_state.pdf.

**Details regarding supervision requirements:

● California requires NDs to be supervised by an MD or DO to prescribe legend and scheduled
drugs, but NDs can independently prescribe epinephrine for anaphylaxis, natural and
synthetic hormones, including testosterone with a DEA license, as well as vitamins,
minerals, amino acids, glutathione, and other similar substances if they are chemically
identical to those for sale without a license.  13

● NDs have a limited scope of prescriptive authority in Maine, which requires a collaborative
relationship for one year for NDs to prescribe. In an ND’s first year of practice, prescribed
medications must be reviewed (quarterly) by an MD or DO, and an ND must submit
paperwork from the supervising MD/DO when renewing his/her ND license.14

● Vermont requires a naturopathic physician to take and pass the NPLEX elective
pharmacology exam (EPE) to have “open prescribing” rights via a prescriptive authority

14 Sources: August 2020 emails with Dr. Anne Jacobs and Dr. Elizabeth Yori, president of the Maine Association of Naturopathic Doctors.
See also http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/32/title32sec12522.html, paragraph 4C.

13 Sources: August 2020 emails with Kathy Konst, Executive Director of the California Naturopathic Doctors Association, and Dr.
Stephanie Berg, ND, JD, in California. See also
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&division=2.&title=&part=&chapter=8.2.&article=4.

12 DC’s limited formulary includes very few legend drugs, specifically naturally-derived, which are bio-identical hormones and select
antimicrobials. Source: August 2020 email from Dr. Anne Berkeley.

11 See https://apps.leg.wa.gov/WAC/default.aspx?cite=246-836-210.

10 See https://sos.vermont.gov/media/hrmngtty/nat_rules.pdf.
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“special” endorsement. The state discontinued use of a formulary as it was too costly and
burdensome to maintain, and no other physicians had formularies. After a new NDs’ first
year of prescribing or first 100 prescriptions, whichever comes later, his or her prescribing
practices are evaluated by an MD, DO, or ND with at least five years of open prescribing
rights in Vermont to ensure that the naturopathic physician is prescribing appropriately. For
a naturopathic physician to evaluate NDs’ prescribing practices, s/he must have been
evaluated himself or herself, and it must be five years after the date of evaluation and
sign-off on his or her prescribing rights.15

Additional note regarding the NPLEX Elective Pharmacology Examination (EPE):

Four states, Idaho, New Mexico, Oregon, and Vermont, require NDs to take and pass the NPLEX EPE.

15 Sources: August 2020 emails and calls with Dr. Joshua Green, president of the Vermont Association of Naturopathic Physicians. See also
https://sos.vermont.gov/media/hrmngtty/nat_rules.pdf.
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