Alaska State Legislature

SESSION ADDRESS: Alaska State Capitol Room 11 Juneau, Alaska 99801 907-465-3743 800-565-3743



INTERIM ADDRESS: 600 E Railroad Avenue Wasilla, Alaska 99654 907-376-3725 Sen.Shelley.Hughes@akleg.gov

Senator Shelley Hughes

District M – Palmer, Butte, Lazy Mountain, Gateway, Knik-Fairview, Settlers Bay

January 29, 2025

SB 52, Election Ballot Deadline Sectional Analysis

<u>Section 1 – AS 15.15.350(b) – Page 1, Line 4 through Line 7</u>

- Current Statute: Ballots may not be counted before 8:00 p.m. local time on election day.
- **Change**: Ballots must be tabulated by 11:59 p.m. Alaska time on election day. This provides a specific, uniform deadline.

<u>Section 2 – AS 15.15.370 – Page 1, Line 8 through Page 2 Line 18</u>

- Current Statute:
 - Election boards must complete ballot counts promptly but no later than the following day after the election.
 - All ballots properly cast must be <u>mailed</u> to the director in a separate, sealed package.
- Change:
 - Adds flexibility for the director to delay certification to count ballots delivered under new subsection (b) in Sec. 3.
 - Requires all ballots to be **<u>delivered</u>** to the director in a separate, sealed package.

Section 3 – AS 15.15.370(b), New Subsection – Page 2, Lines 19 through 24

- **Current Statute**: No explicit protocol for handling undelivered ballots due to weather or mechanical issues.
- Change:
 - Requires ballots delayed by weather or mechanical issues to be stored in a transparent, secured container monitored by a video recording device.
 - Mandates delivery of these ballots to the director the first day the conditions permit.

Section 4 – AS 15.20.064(a) – Page 2, Lines 25 through 29

Anneliese Roberts Chief of Staff Anneliese.Roberts@akleg.gov Eleilia Preston Legislative Aide Eleilia.Preston@akleg.gov

- **Current Statute**: Allows early voting for 15 days before an election and on election day.
- **Change**: Early voting begins 15 days before an election and ends on the Saturday immediately preceding election day.

Section 5 – AS 15.20.064(c) – Page 2 Line 30 through Page 3 Line 7

- **Current Statute**: Tabulation of early voting ballots may not begin before 8:00 p.m. local time on election day.
- **Change**: Early voting ballots shall be tabulated not later than 11:59 p.m. Alaska time on election day.

Section 6 – AS 15.20.081(e) Page 3 Lines 8 through 19

- **Current Statute**: Absentee ballots (non-oversees) must be postmarked by election day, but ballots could be received up to 10 days after the election or after special primary election.
- **Change**: An absentee ballot (non-oversees) may not be counted if received after the day of the election.

Section 7 – AS 15.20.081(h) Page 3 Lines 20 through Line 30

- **Current Statute**: An overseas absentee ballot could be counted if received up to 10 after the primary election or 15 days after the general election or after special primary election.
- **Change**: An overseas absentee ballot must be received by the close of business on election day (for both primary, special primary, and general election) to be counted.

Section 8 – AS 15.20.081(k) Page 3 Lines 31 through Page 4 through Line 11

- **Current Statute**: Requires absentee ballots and other voting material to be mailed not later than 45 days before an election for absent uniformed services and overseas voters.
- **Change**: Requires the director to send an absentee ballot and other voting material to an absent uniformed services or overseas voter at least 60 days before an election if the voter applies to the division at least 60 days before an election or at least 45 days before an election.

Section 9 – AS 15.20.201 (b) Page 4 Lines 12 through Line 22

• **Current Statute**: Absentee ballot counting begins at 8:00 p.m. local time on the day of the election and continues until all absentee ballots reviewed and eligible are counted. Continuation shall be at times designated by the election supervisor until all absentee ballots have been counted. Typically day 7 till day10 and day 15 if overseas absentee.)

• **Change**: Counting of absentee ballots must conclude by 11:59 p.m. Alaska time on election day, and ballots may not be counted after 11:59 p.m. Alaska time on election day.

Section 10 – AS 15.20.201 (c) Page 4 Lines 23 through Line 26

- **Current Statute**: The district absentee ballot counting board shall certify the absentee ballot review not later than the 15th day following the day of election.
- **Change**: Certification must occur not later than 11:59 p.m. Alaska time on election day.

Section 11 – AS 15.20.203 (b) Page 4 Lines 27 through Page 6 Line 4

- **Current Statute**: Absentee ballots may not be counted if the ballot was delivered by a means other than mail.
- **Change**: Absentee ballots may not be counted if the ballot is received after the day of the election.

Section 12 – AS 15.20.220 (b) Page 6 Lines 5 through Line 8

- **Current Statute**: The state review board may count absentee ballots postmarked by election day but received after election day if received 10 days following a primary or special primary election, or 15 days following a general or special election.
- **Change**: Requires absentee ballots to be received by election day to be counted.

Section 13 – AS 15.20.480 Page 6 Lines 9 through Line 25

- **Current Statute**: In conducting a recount, absentee ballots shall be counted if received before the completion of the recount.
- **Change**: Limits recounts to include only ballots received on or before the day of the election.