

Senator Scott Jiu Wo Kawasaki

Alaska State Legislature

Senate District P

SB 102

Sponsor Statement

"An Act Exempting the State from Daylight Saving Time"

Senate Bill 102 would exempt the State of Alaska from the practice of Daylight-Saving Time every year. Daylight-Saving Time traditionally is observed between the second Sunday of March and the first Sunday of November.

While Daylight-Saving Time has been observed in Alaska since 1966, this bill aims to switch Alaska to an observation of permanent Standard Time. This would benefit Alaskans mental and physical health, the Alaskan economy, no longer require a clock change twice a year.

Arizona, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa and the U.S. Virgin Islands have exempted themselves from Daylight-Saving Time. Many other states including Washington and Oregon introduced similar legislation this session.

I look forward to discussing this issue with the committee.