2/24/24

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT AT ANCHORAGE

In the Matter of: AMENDED
PJ Order # 1006
Anchorage Superior Court Felony
Pre-Trial Order

ANCHORAGE SUPERIOR COURT FELONY PRE-TRIAL ORDER

The Anchorage Superior Court issued PJ Order #773 on August 28, 2019,
instituting a pilot pre-trial program. This pre-trial order set timelines on case disposition
that has not been followed, primarily due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Beginning on May
1, 2024, the Anchorage Superior Court intends to follow the pre-trial order with respect
to Class C and Class B felony offenses. See PJ Order #773, paragraphs 9(d)~(f).

Felony offenses subject to this order will only remain in PIH for a max period of
60 days. The prosecution shall provide discovery to the defendant’s counsel no later than
30 days after arraignment in superior court. All pretrial motions shall be filed by all
parties no later than 90 days after arraignment in superior court. All other motion
deadlines set in PJ Order #773 will remain in effect. See paragraphs 14(a)-(c).

Deviations from the above timeline will only be granted for good cause.
Substitution of new counsel will result in no more than a 60-day continuance unless good
cause is found for more time. P

IT IS SO ORDERED.
DATED at Anchorage, Alaska this 14th day of February, 2024, Nun¢ Pro Tunc to

February 7, 2024,
N
-~ Z '

Thomas A. Matthews
Presiding Judge
Third Judicial District
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/ Catherine M. Easter
Deputy Presiding Judge
Anchorage Superior Court
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IN THE SUPERIOR COURT FOR THE STATE OF ALASKA
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT AT ANCHORAGE

In the Matter of:
PJ Order # 1009

Anchorage Pre-Indictment Hearing
Calendar

ORDER REGARDING OFF-RECORD CONTINUANCES OF ANCHORAGE
PRE-INDICTMENT HEARINGS
Starling May 1, 2024, off-record continuances of pre-indictment hearings will no
longer be permitted in any case, regardless of the offense classification. This Order
modifies PJO 3AN-AQ-24-9, which allowed the practice to continue in an A or ‘
Unclassified felony case filed after 2022. As of May 1, 2024, the process will be /

discontinued in all cases on the Anchorage pre-indictment calendar.

IT IS SO ORDERED.
DATED at Anchorage, Alaska this 18" day of April, 2024.

R )

Thomas A. Matthews
Presiding Judge
Third Judicial District




RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE
Excerpt Rules 5 and 5.1

Rule §.

(a) Appearance Before Judicial Officer After Arrest.

Proceedings Before the Judicial Officer.

(1) Except when the person arrested is issued a citation
for a class C felony, misdemeanor, or a violation and
immediately thereafter released, the arrested person shall
appear before a judicial officer without unnecessary delay and
in any event within 24 hours after arrest, absent compelling
circumstances, including weekend days and holidays.

(2) If

(A) the judicial officer commits the arrested person to jail
for a purpose other than to serve a sentence, and

(B) the jail is situated in a different community from the
place where the judicial officer committed the arrested person
to jail, and

(C) the arrested person is not represented by counsel, and

(D) the arrested person has not previously had a bail
review, and

(E} the arrested person has no date, time and place
established for his or her next court appearance,

then the arrested person shall appear before a judicial
officer the next business day

(i) in order for bail to be reviewed, and

(it) in order to determine if the person is represented by
counsel, and

(iti) in order for counse! to be appointed, if appropriate.

(3) The responsibility for ensuring that the arrested
person appears before a judicial officer as specified in
paragraphs (1) and (2) of this subsection shall be borne
equally by
and municipal jail

(A) municipal officers

personnel, and by

police

(B) state troopers, state jail personnel, and all other peace
officers.

No distinction shall be drawn between cases in which
arrest was made pursuant to a warrant and cases in which
arrest was made without a warrant.

(4) Whenever the person arrested on a warrant appears
before a judicial officer other than the one who issued the
warrant, the complaint and any other statement or deposition
on which the warrant was granted must be furnished to the
defendant and must be communicated to the judicial officer
before whom the person arrested appears,

(5) Whenever a person arrested without a warrant
appears befere a judicial officer, a complaint shall be filed

forthwith.

(6) Judicial officers and jail facilities shall be available at
all times to receive bail, and each judicial officer individually
shall have authority to delegate this duty to the person
admitting the defendant to jail, or to such other person as shail
in the determination of a judicial officer be qualified for this
purpose,

(b) Rights of Prisoner to Communicate with Attorney
and Other Person. Immediately after arrest, the prisoner shall
have the right forthwith to telephone or otherwise to
communicate with both an attorney and any relative or friend.
Any attorney at law entitled to practice in the courts of Alaska,
at the request of either the prisoner or any relative or friend of
the prisoner, shall have the right forthwith to visit the prisoner
in private. This subsection does not provide a prisoner with the
right to initiate communication or attempt to initiate
communication under circumstances proscribed under AS
11.56.755.

(c) Misdemeanor Arraignment or Felony First

Appearance. The judicial officer

(1) shall inform the defendant of the complaint and of
any affidavit filed therewith, and

(2) shall require that a copy of the complaint and of any
affidavit filed therewith be delivered to the defendant if this
has not already been done, and

(3) shall inform the defendant
(A) of the right to retain counsel, and

(B) of the right to request the appointment of counsel at
public expense if the defendant is financially unable to employ
counsel and could

(i) be sentenced to jail, or
(ii} suffer the loss of a valuable license, or

(iii) suffer a fine sufficiently severe to indicate

criminality; and
(C) of the right to be admitted to bail.

(4) shall inform the defendant that the defendant is not
required to make a statement and that any statement may be
used against the defendant, and

(5) shall allow the defendant reasonable time and
opportunity to consult counsel and shall admit the defendant to
bail as provided by law and by these rules.

(d) Initial Determination of Probable Cause at
Arraignment or Felony First Appearance.

(1) If the defendant was arrested without a watrant, the
Judicial officer at the first appearance shall determine whether
the arrest was made with probable cause to believe that an
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offense had been committed and that the defendant had
committed jt. This determination shall be made from the
complaint, from an affidavit or affidavits filed with the
complaint, or from an oral statement under oath of the
arresting officer or other person which is recorded by the
judicial officer, The determination shall be noted in the file,

(2) If the defendant was arrested on a warrant for a
failure to appear at a prior proceeding, the judicial officer shail
determine from the file whether the defendant’s injtial arrest
was pursuant to0 a warrant and, if not, whether at a prior
proceeding the court made an initjal determination of probable
Cause as required by paragraph (d)(1). If there has been no
Judicial determination of probable cause, the Jjudicial officer
shall proceed as under paragraph (d)(1).

(3) If probable cause is not shown, the judicial officer
shall discharge the defendant.

(e) Felonies—Other First

Appearance.

Requirements  at

(1) If the charge against the defendant is a felony, the
defendant shall not be called upon to plead.

(2} The judicial officer shalj inform the defendant of the
right to a preliminary examination. A defendant is entitled to a
preliminary examination if the defendant is charged with a
felony for which the defendant has not been indicted, unless

(A) the defendant waives the preliminary examination, or

(B} an information has been filed against the defendant
with the defendant’s consent jn the superior court,

(3) If the defendant after having had the opportunity to
consult with counsel waives preliminary examination, the
judicial officer shall forthwith hold the defendant to answer in
the superior court.

(4) If the defendant does not waive pretiminary
examination, the judicial officer shall schedule a preliminary
€xamination, Such examination shall be held within a
reasonable time, but in no event later than

(A) 10 days following the initial appearance, if the
defendant is in custody, or

(B) 20 days following the initial appearance, if the
defendant is not in custody,

With the consent of the defendant and upon a showing of
good cause, taking into account the public interest in prompt
disposition of criminal cases, the judicial officer may extend
the time limits specified in this subsection one or more times.
In the absence of consent by the defendant, the Jjudicial officer
may extend these time limits only upon a showing that

extraordinary  circumstances exist and that delay s
indispensable to the interest of justice.
{f) Misdemeanors—Other Requirements at

Arraignment,

(1} The judicial officer shall ask the defendant to enter a
plea pursuant to Criminal Rule | 1.

(2) If the defendant pleads not guilty, the Jjudicial officer
shall fix a date for trial at such time as will afford the
defendant a reasonable opportunity to prepare.

(3) The judicial officer shall inform the defendant that
the case may not be tried before a magistrate judge without the
defendant’s written consent.

(4) The judicial officer shall inform the defendant that
the defendant may peremptorily disqualify the judicial officer
to whom the case is assigned pursuant to AS 22.20.022,

(g) Video or Telephonic Appearance. The appearances
referenced in this rule may be

(1) by court-approved video link under Criminal Rule
38.2; or

(2) by telephone if

(A) the proceeding is held on a weekend day, a holiday,
or otherwise outside the court’s regular business hours; or

(B) the proceeding is held during the court’s regular
business hours, but there is no judicial officer available where
the defendant is located.

(Adopted by SCO 4 October 4, 1959; amended by SCO 98
effective September 16, 1968; by SCO 157 effective February
15, 1973, by 8CO 165 dated June 25, 1973 and by directive
from the Clerk of the Court dated June 28, 1973; renumbered
by Amendment No. 3 to SCO 157 effective February 15, 1973;
by SCO 427 effective August 1, 1980; by SCO 458 effective
May 1, 1981; and by SCO 719 effective August 1, 1986; by
SCO 723 effective December 15, 1986; by SCO 1153 effective
July 15, 1994; by SCO 1189 effectjve July 15, 1995; by SCO
1339 effective June 13, 1998; by SCO 1739 effective nunc pro
tunc to July 1, 2010; by SCO 1763 effective nunc pro tunc to
July 1, 2011; by SCO 1799 effective October 15, 2013; by
SCO 1829 effective October 15, 2014; by SCO 1883 effective
July 1, 2016; by SCO 1898 effective January 1, 2017; and by
SCO 1927 effective nunc pro tunc to January 1, 2018)

Note to SCO 1339:  Criminal Rule 5(b) was amended by
§ 17 ch. 86 SLA 1998 o make it clear that the rule does not
give a prisoner the right to contact a victim or witness in
violation of AS 1].56.755. Section 1 of this order is adopted
for the sole reason that the legislature has mandated the
amendment,

Note: The Alaska Legislature amended Criminal Rule 5(a) to
change the time within which an arrested person must be
brought before a judicial officer for a firs appearance from 24
hours to 48 hours. Ch. 19, §§ 23 and 24, SLA 2010 (HB 324)
(eff. July 1, 2010). The changes to Criminal Rule 5 are adopted
for the sole reason that the legislature has mandated the
amendments, That legislative rule change creates an apparent
conflict with AS 12.25.150(a), which provides that an arrested
person must be taken before a judge or magistrate “jn any
event within 24 hours after arrest.”
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Excerpt Rules 5 and 5.1

Note: Chapter 20, section 25, SLA 2011 (HB 127), effective
July 1, 2011, amended Criminal Rule 5(a)(1) relating to time
for a first appearance. The changes to Criminal Rule 5(a)(1)
are adopled for the sole reason that the legislature has
mandated the amendments.

Cross References
{a) CROSS REFERENCE: AS 12.25.150
{b) CROSS REFERENCE: AS 12.25.150
{c) CROSS REFERENCE;: AS 12.30.010

Rule 5.1, Preliminary Examination in Felony Cases.

(3) Representation by Counsel. The defendant is
entitled to be represented by counsel. If the defendant cannot
secure counsel, counsel shall be appointed for the defendant.

(b) Order of Proof—Witnesses Called by the State.
The state shall first present the evidence in support of its case.
All witnesses called by the state shall be examined in the
presence of the defendant and may be cross-examined by the
defendant’s or by the defendant’s counsel.

(c) Witnesses Called by the Defendant. The defendant
may produce and examine witnesses on the defendant’s behalf,
All witnesses, including the defendant should the defendant
choose to testify, may be cross-examined. The production of
witnesses shall be governed by Rule 17, so far as it is

applicable.

(d) Evidence. At the preliminary examination, the
admissibility of evidence other than written reports of experts
shall be governed by the Alaska Rules of Evidence. Rulings
pertaining to the admissibility of evidence shall not be binding
upon any subsequent judicial proceeding.

(e) Telephonic Testimony.

(1) A witness may participate telephonically if the
witness:

(A) would be required to travel more than 50 miles to
court; or

(B) lives in a place from which people customarily travel
by air to the court.

(2) A witness who is not entitled to participate
telephonically under subparagraph (1) may participate
telephonically with approval of the court.

(f) Record. The proceedings shall be electronically
recorded.

(g) Exclusion of Witnesses. At the request of either
party, the judge or magistrate judge shall exclude from the
courtroom any witness of an adverse party, if at the time of the
request the witness is not under examination.

(h) Discharge of the Defendant, If from the evidence, it
appears that

(1) there is no probable cause to believe that an offense
has been committed, or

(2) if there is probable cause to believe that an offense
has been committed, but no probable cause to believe that
defendant committed the offense, then the Jjudge or magistrate
judge shall dismiss the complaint and discharge the defendant.
The discharge of the defendant shall not preclude the state
from instituting a subsequent prosecution for the same offense.

(i) Commitment of Defendant. If from the evidence it
appears that there is probable cause to believe that an offense
has been committed and that the defendant committed it, the
judge or magistrate judge shall enter an order holding the
defendant to answer to the charge and committing the
defendant to proper custody. The judge or magistrate judge
shall admit the defendant to bail as provided by law and by
these rules,

() Records. When a judge or magistrate judge has held
a defendant to answer, the judge or magistrate judge shall
transmit to the clerk of the superior court of the Jjudicial district
in which the offense is triable all papers in the proceedings,
any bail taken by the judge or magistrate judge, and all exhibits
introduced at the examination.

(k) Counsel for Complaining Witness—Counsel for
Prosecution. A complaining witness may be represented by
counsel at every stage of the preliminary hearing. The attorney
general or some attorney authorized to act for the attorney
general may appear on behalf of the State of Alaska and
control the conduct of the prosecution.

(Added by SCO 157 effective February 15, 1973; amended by
SCO 368 effective August 1, 1979; by SCO 1153 effective
July 15, 1994; by SCO 1460 effective October 15, 2003; by
SCO 1799 effective October 15, 2013; and by SCO 1829
effective October 15, 201 4)



