WORK DRAFT

34-LS0443\N Bullard 1/27/25

CS FOR SENA	TE JOINT RESOLUTION NO). 7(STA)
IN THE LEGISI	LATURE OF THE STATE OF A	ALASKA
THIRTY-FOUF	RTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST S	ESSION
BY THE SENATE STATE AFFAIRS CO	OMMITTEE	
Offered: Referred:		
Sponsor(s): SENATOR KAWASAKI		
	A RESOLUTION	
Urging the President of the Unite	ed States, the United States Sec	cretary of the Interior, the
United States Board on Geograp	ohic Names, and the members	of the state's delegation in
Congress to maintain Denali a	s the official name for the t	allest mountain in North
America.		
BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LE	GISLATURE OF THE STAT	E OF ALASKA:
WHEREAS the name De	nali is deeply ingrained in the	state's culture and identity;
and		
WHEREAS residents of the	he state believe that the names o	f the geographic features in
the state should be determined by s	state residents and representative	es; and
WHEREAS the Athabask	an people and their ancestors h	ave lived in the Interior of
the state for more than 10,000 year	rs; and	
WHEREAS Denali, the t	raditional Koyukon Athabaskar	name, meaning "the high
one," was designated as the officia	l name for North America's tall	est mountain in 1975 by the
state; and		
WHEREAS, on June 7,	1913, Walter Harper, a 20-yea	ar-old man of Athabaskan
Drafted by Legal Services	-1-	CSSJR 7(STA)

1

2

3

4

5

6 7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

L

Ш

New Text Underlined [DELETED TEXT BRACKETED]

WORK DRAFT

descent, became the first person to stand on the summit of the mountain; and

WHEREAS state lawmakers petitioned the United States Board on Geographic Names to change the mountain's name to "Denali" in 1975, and, in 2015, the United States officially adopted the name Denali for the mountain; and

WHEREAS residents of the state from all backgrounds and political persuasions embrace Denali as the rightful name for the tallest mountain in North America; and

WHEREAS residents of the state take pride in the fact that people outside the state also recognize Denali as the mountain's well-established name; and

WHEREAS both Denali National Park and the mountain are well-known and established landmarks, and changing the mountain's name could cause confusion and negatively affect tourism in the state; and

WHEREAS there were once hundreds of languages spoken by Alaska Native peoples, many of which are still used by their descendants today; and

WHEREAS the use of, and names and terms from, Athabaskan languages have a rich legacy in the Interior and Canada; and

WHEREAS traditional Indigenous names for certain geographic features, places, and communities are commonly used by local, state, and federal government agencies in the state; and

WHEREAS residents of the state understand that the use of Indigenous names throughout the state reflects the long history, diverse cultures, traditions, and languages of the state's Alaska Native peoples; and

WHEREAS the Alaska State Legislature supports efforts to recognize the heritage of the state's Alaska Native peoples and the continuing importance of the mountain to Alaska Native culture;

BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature respectfully urges the President of the United States, the United States Secretary of the Interior, and the United States Board on Geographic Names to maintain Denali as the name for the tallest mountain in North America and that action to rename the mountain not be taken; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature respectfully urges themembers of the Alaska delegation in Congress to advocate on behalf of, and work to preserve,Denali as the name for the tallest mountain in North America.

CSSJR 7(STA)

WORK DRAFT

WORK DRAFT

CSSJR 7(STA)

7

COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Donald J. Trump, President of the United States; the Honorable J. D. Vance, Vice President of the United States and President of the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Walter Cruickshank, Acting United States Secretary of the Interior; the Domestic Names Committee, United States Board on Geographic Names; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Nick Begich, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.