
 

Department of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic Development 

 
DIVISION OF COMMUNITY AND REGIONAL AFFAIRS 

Juneau Office 
 

P.O. Box 110809 

Juneau, Alaska 99811-0809 

Main: 907.465.4501 

Fax: 907.465.4761 
 

SECTIONAL ANALYSIS 
HB 60: Alaska Grown Procurement Policy and Product Preference 

Version A 
 

 Section 1 – Amends AS 29.71.040(a) – under Procurement preference for state agricultural and 
fisheries products – to increase the preferences for price percentage for an agricultural product 
produced or harvested in the state that can be purchased by a municipality. Raises the 
threshold requiring a municipality to purchase the product from seven percent to ten percent 
and raises the threshold for optional purchase from 15 percent to 25 percent. 

 
 Section 2 – Amends AS 29.71.040(b) – under Procurement preference for state agricultural and 

fisheries products – to increase the preferences for price percentage above a fisheries product 
produced or harvested in the state can be purchased by a municipality. Raises the threshold 
requiring a municipality to purchase the product from seven percent to ten percent and 
raises the threshold for optional purchase from 15 percent to 25 percent. 

 
 Section 3 – Amends AS 36.15.050(a) – under Use of local agricultural and fisheries products required 

in purchases with state money – to increase the preferences for price percentage above an 
agricultural product produced or harvested in the state must be applied when product is 
purchased by the state or a school district. Increases the minimum preference from seven 
percent to ten percent and increases the maximum preference from 15 percent to 25 
percent. 

 
 Section 4 – Amends AS 36.15.050(b) – under Use of local agricultural and fisheries products 

required in purchases with state money – to require a procurement preference of between 10% - 
25% must be applied when reviewing quotes or proposals. The procurement preference for 
a fisheries product produced or harvested in the state must be applied when product is 
purchased by the state or a school district. Increases the minimum preference from seven 
percent to ten percent, and increases the maximum preference from 15 percent to 25 
percent. 

 
Section 5 – This Act takes effect on July 1, 2025. 

 
 

 


