## **HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 3**

# IN THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA THIRTY-FOURTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION

#### BY REPRESENTATIVE CARRICK

Introduced: 1/22/25 Referred: Rules

# **A RESOLUTION**

- 1 Opposing efforts to change the name of the tallest mountain in North America from
- 2 Denali to Mt. McKinley, and supporting efforts to recognize the heritage and continuing
- 3 importance of the mountain and of Alaska Native peoples.

## 4 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA:

- 5 WHEREAS the Koyukon Athabaskan name Denali, which translates to "the high
- one," has been used as the name for the tallest mountain in the state for thousands of years;
- 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS the name Denali evokes the appropriate respect and recognition
- 9 throughout the world for the tallest mountain in North America, with an elevation of 20,310
- 10 feet; and
- WHEREAS, in 1896, prospector William Dickey christened the mountain Mt.
- 12 McKinley after William McKinley of Ohio, then a candidate for President of the United
- 13 States, who never visited the state; and
- 14 **WHEREAS**, on June 7, 1913, Walter Harper, a 20-year-old Athabaskan man from the
- interior of the state, became the first person to stand on the summit of the mountain; and

1	WHEREAS, in 2015, after decades of advocacy, the United States Department of the
2	Interior changed the name from Mt. McKinley to the Koyukon Athabaskan name Denali; and
3	WHEREAS using the Koyukon Athabaskan name Denali respects thousands of years
4	of the tradition and culture of and stewardship by Alaska Native peoples in the state;
5	BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature opposes efforts to change the
6	name of the tallest mountain in North America from Denali to Mt. McKinley; and be it
7	FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports efforts to
8	recognize the heritage and continuing importance of the mountain and of Alaska Native
9	peoples.
10	COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Donald J. Trump, President
11	of the United States; the Honorable J. D. Vance, Vice President of the United States and
12	President of the U.S. Senate; United States Secretary of the Interior; and the Honorable Lisa
13	Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senators, and the Honorable Nick Begich,
14	U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.