Legislature(1995 - 1996)

04/18/1996 02:12 PM Senate TRA

Audio Topic
* first hearing in first committee of referral
+ teleconferenced
= bill was previously heard/scheduled
  SUMMARY INFORMATION                                                          
 (TAPES 96-15, 16 & 17 AND TAPE LOG AVAILABLE IN LEGISLATIVE                   
           SB 290 APPROPRIATIONS: CAPITAL & OTHERS                           
  CHAIRMAN RIEGER  called the Senate Transportation Committee meeting          
 to order at 2:12 p.m.  Due to the lack of a quorum, he stated the             
 meeting would be recessed to a call of the chair.                             
  CHAIRMAN RIEGER  called the April 18 meeting back to order on April          
 20 at 11:15 a.m.  He noted the presence of Senator Green and                  
 Senator Taylor.  SB 290 was back before the committee, and he                 
 stated the committee would not be discussing the portion of the               
 bill relating to AHFC projects because they had been discussed as             
 a subcommittee in Senate Finance.  The committee then proceeded to            
 go through the general government, the Department of Transportation           
 & Public Facilities, the University of Alaska, and the Alaska Court           
 System categories of the budget.                                              
 Appearing before the committee to explain the projects and respond            
 to questions were BOB BARATCO, Director, Administrative Services              
 Division, Department of Revenue;  NANCY SLAGLE, Director, Director,           
 Division of Administrative Services, Department of Transportation             
 & Public Facilities; GLENDA STRAUBE, Director, Child Support                  
 Enforcement Division, Department of Revenue; NANCY JONES, Director,           
 Permanent Fund Dividend Division, Department of Revenue; GARY                 
 HAYDEN, System Director, Alaska Marine Highway System, Department             
 of Transportation & Public Facilities; NICO BUS, Division of                  
 Support Services, Department of Natural Resources; TOM BRIGHAM,               
 Director, Division of Statewide Planning, Department of                       
 Transportation & Public Facilities; SAM KITTO III, Legislative                
 Liaison, Department of Transportation & Public Facilities; MARY LOU           
 BERTON, University of Alaska; CHRIS CHRISTENSEN, Staff Counsel,               
 Alaska Court System; KEN WEAVER, City Manager, Bethel, AK; and KURT           
 PARKAN, Deputy Commissioner, Department of Transportation & Public            
 No formal action was taken on SB 290, and the meeting was adjourned           
 at 4:10 p.m.                                                                  

Document Name Date/Time Subjects