SB 97: "An Act authorizing lump sum payments for certain teachers as retention and recruitment incentives; and providing for an effective date."

00 SENATE BILL NO. 97 01 "An Act authorizing lump sum payments for certain teachers as retention and 02 recruitment incentives; and providing for an effective date." 03 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA: 04 * Section 1. The uncodified law of the State of Alaska is amended by adding a new section 05 to read: 06 LUMP SUM PAYMENT FOR CERTAIN TEACHERS. (a) Subject to appropriation 07 for the fiscal years ending June 30, 2025, June 30, 2026, and June 30, 2027, a certificated full- 08 time teacher occupying a position requiring teaching on a regular basis for the normal work 09 period per day or week at a classroom teaching assignment in a public elementary or 10 secondary school, excluding a person teaching as an assistant or graduate assistant or teaching 11 on a substitute, temporary, or per-diem basis, is entitled to receive a lump sum payment as a 12 retention and recruitment incentive within a reasonable time period on or after July 1, 2024, 13 July 1, 2025, and July 1, 2026, provided that the teacher was employed in a full-time 14 classroom teaching position for the entirety of the school term for the school year

01 immediately preceding the date of payment. The retention and recruitment incentive shall be 02 reduced by amounts necessary to pay mandatory employee and employer deductions, 03 including any deductions required under AS 14.25. 04 (b) Subject to the application and certification requirements in (c) of this section, the 05 retention and recruitment incentives identified in (a) of this section shall be paid out by the 06 Department of Education and Early Development as grants to school districts as follows: 07 (1) $5,000 for each eligible certificated full-time teacher teaching in the 08 following districts: 09 (A) Anchorage School District; 10 (B) Fairbanks North Star Borough School District; 11 (C) Juneau Borough School District; 12 (D) Kenai Peninsula Borough School District; 13 (E) Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District; 14 (2) $10,000 for each eligible certificated full-time teacher teaching in the 15 following districts: 16 (A) Alaska Gateway School District; 17 (B) Aleutian Region School District; 18 (C) Aleutians East Borough School District; 19 (D) Annette Island School District; 20 (E) Chugach School District; 21 (F) Copper River School District; 22 (G) Cordova City School District; 23 (H) Delta/Greely School District; 24 (I) Denali Borough School District; 25 (J) Galena City School District; 26 (K) Haines Borough School District; 27 (L) Ketchikan Gateway Borough School District; 28 (M) Kodiak Island Borough School District; 29 (N) Mount Edgecumbe High School; 30 (O) Nenana City School District; 31 (P) Nome Public Schools;

01 (Q) Petersburg Borough School District; 02 (R) Saint Mary's School District; 03 (S) Sitka School District; 04 (T) Skagway School District; 05 (U) Unalaska City School District; 06 (V) Valdez City School District; 07 (W) Wrangell Public School District; 08 (X) Yakutat School District; 09 (3) $15,000 for each eligible certificated full-time teacher teaching in the 10 following districts: 11 (A) Bering Strait School District; 12 (B) Bristol Bay Borough School District; 13 (C) Chatham School District; 14 (D) Craig City School District; 15 (E) Dillingham City School District; 16 (F) Hoonah City School District; 17 (G) Hydaburg City School District; 18 (H) Iditarod Area School District; 19 (I) Kake City School District; 20 (J) Kashunamiut School District; 21 (K) Klawock City School District; 22 (L) Kuspuk School District; 23 (M) Lake and Peninsula Borough School District; 24 (N) Lower Kuskokwim School District; 25 (O) Lower Yukon School District; 26 (P) North Slope Borough School District; 27 (Q) Northwest Arctic Borough School District; 28 (R) Pelican City School District; 29 (S) Pribilof School District; 30 (T) Southeast Island School District; 31 (U) Southwest Region School District;

01 (V) Tanana City School District; 02 (W) Yukon Flats School District; 03 (X) Yukon-Koyukuk School District; 04 (Y) Yupiit School District. 05 (c) To be eligible for the retention and recruitment incentive identified in (a) of this 06 section, a certificated full-time teacher must apply during each eligible calendar year to the 07 Department of Education and Early Development on a date not later than the final day in 08 session for the school term established by the governing body of that teacher's school district 09 or regional educational attendance area. Application for payment shall be made on a form 10 designated by the commissioner of education and early development. For each teacher who 11 applies, the school district or regional educational attendance area shall certify the teacher's 12 eligibility for payment under (a) of this section to the Department of Education and Early 13 Development. 14 (d) Payment made under this section will be considered compensation for the 15 purposes of AS 14.25. 16 (e) The Department of Education and Early Development may adopt regulations 17 necessary to carry out the purposes of this section. 18 * Sec. 2. This Act takes effect July 1, 2023.