CSHJR 5(TRA) am: Recognizing the Academy of Model Aeronautics for establishing safety guidelines and best practices.

00 CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 5(TRA) am 01 Recognizing the Academy of Model Aeronautics for establishing safety guidelines and 02 best practices. 03 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA: 04 WHEREAS the Academy of Model Aeronautics is a community-based organization 05 that has a long history of overseeing the nation's expansive aeromodeling community and that 06 has achieved an exceptional safety record; and 07 WHEREAS the Academy of Model Aeronautics has had an active presence in the 08 state since 1957 through flying sites and organized flying clubs; and 09 WHEREAS the Task Force on Unmanned Aircraft Systems, created by the Twenty- 10 Eighth Alaska State Legislature, has been working with the Federal Aviation Administration, 11 the University of Alaska, the Association for Unmanned Vehicles Systems International, the 12 Academy of Model Aeronautics, and other stakeholders to address a broad range of concerns 13 related to operations, safety, and privacy rights associated with unmanned aircraft systems; 14 and 15 WHEREAS the state intends to continue to work with those organizations and other 16 stakeholders to develop meaningful regulation of unmanned aircraft systems in the state; and

01 WHEREAS the Academy of Model Aeronautics has, since 1936, published, 02 maintained, and established safety standards and best practices that follow national guidelines 03 and regulations of the Federal Aviation Administration, the Federal Communications 04 Commission, and other agencies for the benefit of Academy of Model Aeronautics members 05 and the greater aeromodeling community; and 06 WHEREAS the Academy of Model Aeronautics has provided insurance coverage for 07 operators and flying field locations that is consistent with national guidelines and regulations; 08 and 09 WHEREAS the Academy of Model Aeronautics is recognized nationally by the 10 National Aeronautic Association and internationally by the Federation Aeronautique 11 Internationale as the nationwide, community-based organization for recreational and sport 12 aeromodeling activity in the United States; 13 BE IT RESOLVED by the Alaska State Legislature that the Legislative Task Force 14 on Unmanned Aircraft Systems recognizes the Academy of Model Aeronautics as a 15 community-based organization that promotes industry and community safety guidelines and 16 best practices in the state for the recreational, hobby-related, and sport-related use of model 17 aviation and unmanned aircraft systems; and be it 18 FURTHER RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the state to work 19 with federal agencies to promote best practices and communications that result in meaningful 20 guidelines and regulations for community-based aeromodeling organizations that protect 21 personal privacy and safety and that can be understood by the public. 22 COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Michael P. Huerta, 23 Administrator, Federal Aviation Administration; the Honorable Tom Wheeler, Chairman, 24 Federal Communications Commission; the Honorable Patrick K. Gamble, President, 25 University of Alaska; Brian Wynne, President and Chief Executive Officer, Association for 26 Unmanned Vehicle Systems International; Dave Mathewson, Executive Director, Academy of 27 Model Aeronautics; Jonathan Gaffney, President and Chief Executive Officer, National 28 Aeronautic Association; Dr. John Grubbstrom, President, Federation Aeronautique 29 Internationale; and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski and the Honorable Dan Sullivan, U.S. 30 Senators, and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska 31 delegation in Congress.