CSHJR 41(RES): Relating to support for the Federal Land Recreational Visitor Protection Act.

00 CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 41(RES) 01 Relating to support for the Federal Land Recreational Visitor Protection Act. 02 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA: 03 WHEREAS winter recreation activities are an integral part of the Alaska way of life; 04 and 05 WHEREAS many of the state's popular winter recreation areas are subject to 06 avalanche danger; and 07 WHEREAS highway, city, and railroad maintenance crews, power plant and line 08 workers, loggers, rescue personnel, ski patrollers, and guides are frequently exposed to 09 avalanche danger when houses, highways, and facilities are located in avalanche zones; and 10 WHEREAS Alaska has the highest avalanche death rate per capita in the nation; and 11 WHEREAS Alaska contains approximately 54,000,000 acres of national parks, which 12 are visited by thousands of people for winter recreation; and 13 WHEREAS avalanche danger is a true risk in our national parks to both Alaskans and 14 visitors; and 15 WHEREAS there is no avalanche forecasting in most areas of Alaska; and 16 WHEREAS Senators Stevens and Murkowski along with senators of other Western

01 states have introduced S. 931, the Federal Land Recreational Visitor Protection Act of 2003; 02 and 03 WHEREAS S. 931 directs the United States Secretary of the Interior to establish a 04 coordinated avalanche control program in the National Park System to increase the safety of 05 visitors, recreational users, neighboring communities, and transportation corridors; and 06 WHEREAS S. 931 provides for grant funding to assist in the prevention, forecasting, 07 detection, and mitigation of avalanches; 08 BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature supports efforts by the Alaska 09 congressional delegation to pass the Federal Land Recreational Visitor Protection Act of 10 2003. 11 COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Gale Norton, United States 12 Secretary of the Interior; the Honorable Pete V. Domenici, Chairman, and the Honorable Jeff 13 Bingaman, Ranking Member, U.S. Senate Committee on Energy and Natural Resources; and 14 to the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and the 15 Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in Congress.