CSHJR 8(MLV): Relating to a national ballistic missile defense system.

00CS FOR HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 8(MLV) 01 Relating to a national ballistic missile defense system. 02 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA: 03 WHEREAS the collapse of the Soviet Union has rendered obsolete the treaty 04 constraints and diplomatic understandings that limited the development and deployment of 05 weapons of mass destruction and their delivery systems during the Cold War; and 06 WHEREAS the world has consequently witnessed during this decade an unprecedented 07 proliferation of sophisticated military technology, including nuclear, chemical, and biological 08 weapons and ballistic missiles; and 09 WHEREAS the United States has recognized that it currently has no means of 10 protecting persons living in all 50 states from attack by these new threats and has initiated a 11 program to develop and deploy a national ballistic missile defense system; and 12 WHEREAS four locations in Alaska are currently being considered as sites for 13 deployment of the intercept vehicles for this system; and 14 WHEREAS each of these locations provides the unmatched military value of a

01 strategic location from which persons living in all 50 states can be defended as required by 02 the United States Constitution; and 03 WHEREAS, throughout Alaska's history as a territory and a state, Alaska's citizens 04 have been unwavering in their support of a strong national defense while warmly welcoming 05 the men and women of our armed forces stationed in Alaska; 06 BE IT RESOLVED that the Twenty-First Alaska State Legislature calls upon the 07 President, as Commander In Chief of the Armed Forces of the United States, to provide for 08 the common defense of our nation by selecting an Alaska site for the deployment of the 09 intercept vehicles for the national ballistic missile defense system. 10 COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Bill Clinton, President of the 11 United States; the Honorable William Cohen, Secretary of the U.S. Department of Defense; 12 the Honorable Floyd D. Spence, Chair, Committee on Armed Services, U.S. House of 13 Representatives; the Honorable John Warner, Chair, Committee on Armed Services, U.S. 14 Senate; and to the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Frank Murkowski, U.S. Senators, 15 and the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in 16 Congress.