SCR 4: Naming the Poet Laureate of Alaska.

00SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 4 01 Naming the Poet Laureate of Alaska. 02 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA: 03 WHEREAS literary expression in the form of poetry is a pursuit that reaches and 04 enriches human beings in all walks of life and circumstances; and 05 WHEREAS poets laureate have been recognized by the state since 1963; and 06 WHEREAS the term of the current Poet Laureate of Alaska, Joanne Townsend, 07 expired last year; and 08 WHEREAS the Alaska State Council on the Arts has nominated Thomas Sexton for 09 a two-year term as Poet Laureate of Alaska; and 10 WHEREAS Thomas Sexton was selected unanimously by an Alaska State Council 11 on the Arts committee composed of the Council's Literature Panel and the living Poets 12 Laureate of Alaska; and 13 WHEREAS Thomas Sexton has a distinguished record as a teacher, poet, and state 14 citizen; and

01 WHEREAS Thomas Sexton received his Master's Degree from the University of 02 Alaska Fairbanks in 1970, taught for 24 years at the University of Alaska Anchorage, and 03 retired last year; and 04 WHEREAS Thomas Sexton was honored with the title, Emeritus Professor of English, 05 by the University of Alaska Anchorage when he retired; and 06 WHEREAS Thomas Sexton has written four books of prose and poetry, his poetry has 07 been published widely in journals across the United States and has been included in four 08 anthologies, and he has won several awards and honors; and 09 WHEREAS Thomas Sexton has contributed generously of his time and talents to 10 public service; 11 BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature names Thomas Sexton the Poet 12 Laureate of Alaska for a term of two years.