CSHB 439(L&C): "An Act establishing the Alaska Surface Coal Mining Advisory Commission as a temporary commission."

00CS FOR HOUSE BILL NO. 439(L&C) 01 "An Act establishing the Alaska Surface Coal Mining Advisory Commission as 02 a temporary commission." 03 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA: 04 * Section 1. ALASKA SURFACE COAL MINING ADVISORY COMMISSION. (a) The 05 Alaska Surface Coal Mining Advisory Commission is established in the Department of Natural 06 Resources. 07 (b) The commission is composed of nine members. The commission shall be composed 08 of individuals not employed by government at any level who have experience in the various 09 aspects of the surface coal mining industry in the state and experience working with the 10 representatives of agencies having responsibility for surface coal mining enforcement and 11 restoration activities. Three members of the commission shall be appointed by the governor, 12 three by the speaker of the house of representatives, and three by the president of the senate. 13 Each member serves at the pleasure of the person making the appointment. 14 (c) The commission shall make recommendations to the governor and to the legislature

01 on ways to amend AS 27.21 to conform to amendments in applicable federal law, changing 02 conditions in the coal industry in the state, and changing appropriate technologies. 03 (d) The commission shall 04 (1) report its recommendations each year to the governor during the first 10 days 05 of the regular session of the legislature; and 06 (2) notify the legislature that the report prepared and submitted under (1) of this 07 subsection is available. 08 * Sec. 2. Section 1 of this Act is repealed July 1, 1998.