HJR 20: Urging modification of the North American Free Trade Agreement.

00HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 20 01 Urging modification of the North American Free Trade Agreement. 02 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF ALASKA: 03 WHEREAS great uncertainty exists regarding the effect of the proposed North 04 American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) on state laws and regulations; and 05 WHEREAS environmental protection laws and regulations of Alaska and other states 06 could be interpreted under NAFTA as trade barriers; and 07 WHEREAS NAFTA could potentially preclude preferential treatment of Alaska 08 residents and Alaska products in state procurement; and 09 WHEREAS NAFTA could limit a state's flexibility when offering special programs, 10 subsidies, or investment incentives to its domestic industries, such as fish hatcheries; and 11 WHEREAS NAFTA could allow the use of banned chemicals on food imported into 12 the United States; 13 BE IT RESOLVED that the Alaska State Legislature urges the United States Congress 14 to obtain modifications to the North American Free Trade Agreement in order to protect the

01 existing rights of states, where not precluded by federal law, to manage their natural resources 02 and environment, to encourage their economic development, and to protect their citizens. 03 COPIES of this resolution shall be sent to the Honorable Bill Clinton, President of the 04 United States; the Honorable Al Gore, Vice-President of the United States and President of 05 the U.S. Senate; the Honorable Robert C. Byrd, President Pro Tempore of the U.S. Senate; 06 the Honorable Thomas S. Foley, Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives; the Honorable 07 Ron Brown, Secretary of the U.S. Department of Commerce; the Honorable Bruce Babbitt, 08 Secretary of the U.S. Department of the Interior; the Honorable Mike Espy, Secretary of the 09 U.S. Department of Agriculture; the Honorable Carol M. Browner, Administrator of the U.S. 10 Environmental Protection Agency; the Honorable Mickey Kantor, U.S. Trade Representative; 11 and to the Honorable Ted Stevens and the Honorable Frank Murkowski, U.S. Senators, and 12 the Honorable Don Young, U.S. Representative, members of the Alaska delegation in 13 Congress.