HOUSE JOURNAL

ALASKA STATE LEGISLATURE

THIRTY-FIRST LEGISLATURE

FIRST SESSION

Juneau, Alaska Thursday January 17, 2019

Third Day

Pursuant to Uniform Rule 13 the House was called to order by Lieutenant Governor Meyer at 2:07 p.m.

Roll call showed 39 members present. There was one vacancy.

The invocation was offered by the Chaplain, the Reverend Michael Grubbs of Holy Trinity Episcopal Church. Representative Tuck moved and asked unanimous consent that the invocation be spread on the journal. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

With the deepest respect for the religious beliefs of all Alaskans, I offer the following prayer:

Gracious and loving God,

Teach us to love all that is good and beautiful in this world. Teach us to honor the dignity of difference. Teach us that compromise empowers all. Bless the members of this House of Representatives and guide their deliberations that they may, in these challenging days, gift this great state with wisdom and justice, grace, and compassion. Challenges abound; yet with the challenges bring opportunity for empathy, cooperation, and compromise. Grant to our Representatives the opportunity for right action. Grant to us, gracious God, that what is said and what is done here may encourage our people to honor one another, to be a people at peace among ourselves and a blessing for the future of our beloved Alaska and its people. Eternal God, source of all wisdom, give our

Representatives the courage, wisdom, and foresight to provide right action in addressing the legislative challenges ahead. Bless and guide them as they strive for the common good. All this we ask in your name. Amen.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Representative Johnson.

SPEAKER PRO TEMPORE

Lieutenant Governor Meyer stated that nominations for Speaker pro tempore were now in order.

Representative Talerico nominated Representative Neuman as Speaker pro tempore.

Representative Tuck nominated Representative Foster as Speaker pro tempore.

Representative Talerico moved and asked unanimous consent that nominations be closed. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

Representative Eastman rose to a point of order regarding the District 13 vacancy.

Representative Eastman moved and asked unanimous consent to waive Uniform Rules 1, 2, and 4.

Representative Tuck objected.

Lieutenant Governor Meyer ruled the motion out of order.

Representative Eastman appealed the ruling of the Chair.

The question being: "Shall the ruling of the Chair be sustained?" The roll was taken with the following result:

Waive Uniform Rules 1, 2, 4 Sustain Ruling of the Chair

YEAS: 38 NAYS: 1 EXCUSED: 0 ABSENT: 0 VACANT: 1

January 17, 2019

Yeas: Carpenter, Claman, Drummond, Edgmon, Fields, Foster, Hannan, Hopkins, Johnson, Johnston, Josephson, Knopp, Kopp, Kreiss-Tomkins, LeBon, LeDoux, Lincoln, Merrick, Neuman, Ortiz, Pruitt, Rasmussen, Rauscher, Revak, Shaw, Spohnholz, Story, Stutes, Sullivan-Leonard, Talerico, Tarr, Thompson, Tilton, Tuck, Vance, Wilson, Wool, Zulkosky

Nays: Eastman

And so, the ruling of the Chair was sustained.

The question being: "Shall Representative Neuman be elected Speaker pro tempore?" The roll was taken with the following result:

Representative Neuman Speaker Pro Tempore

YEAS: 19 NAYS: 20 EXCUSED: 0 ABSENT: 0 VACANT: 1

Yeas: Carpenter, Eastman, Johnson, Johnston, Kopp, LeBon, Merrick, Neuman, Pruitt, Rasmussen, Rauscher, Revak, Shaw, Sullivan-Leonard, Talerico, Thompson, Tilton, Vance, Wilson

Nays: Claman, Drummond, Edgmon, Fields, Foster, Hannan, Hopkins, Josephson, Knopp, Kreiss-Tomkins, LeDoux, Lincoln, Ortiz, Spohnholz, Story, Stutes, Tarr, Tuck, Wool, Zulkosky

And so, the motion failed.

The question being: "Shall Representative Foster be elected Speaker pro tempore?" The roll was taken with the following result:

Representative Foster Speaker Pro Tempore

YEAS: 35 NAYS: 4 EXCUSED: 0 ABSENT: 0 VACANT: 1

Yeas: Carpenter, Claman, Drummond, Edgmon, Fields, Foster, Hannan, Hopkins, Johnson, Johnston, Josephson, Knopp, Kopp, Kreiss-Tomkins, LeBon, LeDoux, Lincoln, Merrick, Ortiz, Pruitt, Rasmussen, Revak, Shaw, Spohnholz, Story, Stutes, Talerico, Tarr, Thompson, Tilton, Tuck, Vance, Wilson, Wool, Zulkosky

Nays: Eastman, Neuman, Rauscher, Sullivan-Leonard

And so, Representative Foster was elected Speaker pro tempore.

Lieutenant Governor Meyer appointed Representatives Rasmussen and Fields to escort Representative Foster, Speaker pro tempore, to the rostrum.

Speaker pro tempore Foster appointed Representatives Rasmussen and Fields to escort the Lieutenant Governor from the House Chamber.

Speaker pro tempore Foster stated that, pursuant to AS 24.05.120, the Uniform Rules in effect during the previous legislature would serve as the rules of the Thirty-first Alaska State Legislature until adoption of permanent rules.

CERTIFICATION OF THE JOURNAL

Representative Tuck moved and asked unanimous consent that the journal for the first and second legislative days be approved as certified by the Chief Clerk. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

* * * * *

Representative Tuck moved and asked unanimous consent to waive Uniform Rules 1(b) and 4 to read a message from the Governor regarding the District 13 vacancy. There being no objection, it was so ordered

The following letter dated January 15 was read:

"Dear Republican Members:

Pursuant to my authority under Article II, Section 4 of the Alaska Constitution, I have appointed Sharon Jackson to fill the vacancy in the Alaska State House of Representatives, District 13.

Subject to confirmation by the House Republicans, Sharon Jackson will hold this office for the term of the 31st Legislature beginning on January 15, 2019, for the House District 13.

Sincerely, /s/ Michael J. Dunleavy Governor"

* * * * *

Representative Tuck moved and asked unanimous consent to waive Uniform Rules 1(b) and 4 to read a message from the Republican Caucus. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

The following letter dated January 15 was read:

"Dear Governor Dunleavy,

This letter affirms that a majority of the Republican members of the 31st Alaska State House of Representatives have confirmed your appointment of Sharon Jackson to fill the vacant seat in House District 13.

I sign this letter on behalf of the House Republican Caucus and other Republican members of the Alaska State House.

Sincerely, /s/ Rep. Dave Talerico House Republican Leader"

* * * * *

Representative Tuck moved and asked unanimous consent to waive Uniform Rules 1(b), 2, and 4 to administer the oath of office by the Speaker pro tempore to Sharon Jackson. There being no objection, it was so ordered.

OATH OF OFFICE

Speaker pro tempore Foster appointed Representatives Story and Vance to escort Sharon Jackson to the rostrum.

Speaker pro tempore Foster administered the oath of office to Sharon Jackson.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

The following letter dated January 15 was received:

"Dear Representatives:

Pursuant to AS 24.10.030 and Uniform Rule 1(c), I have authorized House Chief Clerk Crystaline Jones and Sergeant At Arms Micaela Bradner and their respective staff to continue to assist the Lieutenant Governor and temporary presiding officer until the House is organized to do business and formally reappoints or replaces them.

Regards, /s/ Jessica Geary Executive Director"

ANNOUNCEMENTS

House committee schedules are published under separate cover.

ADJOURNMENT

Representative Tuck moved and asked unanimous consent that the House adjourn until 1:00 p.m., January 18. There being no objection, the House adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

Crystaline Jones Acting Chief Clerk