* HONORING *

* WOMEN'S HISTORY MONTH 2018 *

The members of the Thirtieth Alaska State Legislature are honored to recognize National Women's History Month for 2018 and the theme of "Nevertheless, She Persisted: Honoring Women Who Fight All Forms of Discrimination Against Women." The National Women's History Project honors all the women who have shaped America's history and its future through their public service and government leadership, despite facing discrimination.

No time seems more appropriate to recognize the number of women who have been appointed or elected to legislative office in Alaska's history, 19 women are currently serving. Never has the voice of Alaskan women been so strongly represented. We proudly recognize our sitting women legislators: Senators Mia Costello, Berta Gardner, Cathy Giessel, Anna MacKinnon, Shelley Hughes, and Natasha Von Imhof, and Representatives Harriet Drummond, Delana Johnson, Jennifer Johnston, Gabrielle LeDoux, Charisse Millett, Lora Reinbold, Ivy Spohnholz, Louise Stutes, Colleen Sullivan-Leonard, Geran Tarr, Cathy Tilton, Tammie Wilson, and Tiffany Zulkosky-the highest number of women elected and appointed to the Alaska State Legislature since statehood.

We celebrate their commitment to progress for women throughout the state by using their voices for change, while facing adversity with tenacity and courage.

This year's theme honors women who have persevered despite cultural and societal norms to fight for gender equality, criminal justice reform, immigrant rights, education equality, racial justice, and economic equality. "Nevertheless, She Persisted" has been taken up by millions of women across the nation as a rallying cry unifying them while they break down barriers, raise their voices, and fight for economic, social, racial, legal, and political justice for women.

Each year, the National Women's History Project honors outstanding women, and this year one of those women is Alaska's own Kaaxal.aat, or Elizabeth Peratrovich, a Tlingit woman who shamed the Territorial Senate into passing the Alaska Civil Rights Act, 20 years before the United States Congress established the Civil Rights Act of 1964. Elizabeth Peratrovich, through a powerful speech delivered to the body, was one of the driving forces that ensured the passing of such an important and key piece of Alaska history. We honor her courageous, unceasing efforts to eliminate discrimination and bring equal rights to Alaska.

The members of the Thirtieth Alaska State Legislature congratulate all the women, especially Alaska's women in leadership, who continue to shape our state's history and future.

BRYCE EDGMON SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE PETE KELLY PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

REP. GERAN TARR PRIME SPONSOR

Date: March 9, 2018

REP. HARRIET DRUMMOND PRIME SPONSOR

Cosponsors: Representatives Edgmon, Birch, Chenault, Claman, Eastman, Foster, Gara, Grenn, Guttenberg, Johnson, Johnston, Josephson, Kawasaki, Kito, Kreiss-Tomkins, LeDoux Lincoln, Millett, Neuman, Ortiz, Parish, Pruitt, Rauscher, Saddler, Seaton, Spohnholz, Stutes, Talerico, Thompson, Tilton, Tuck, Wilson, Wool; Senators Kelly, Begich, Bishop, Coghill, Costello, Egan, Gardner, Giessel, Hoffman, Hughes, MacKinnon, Meyer, Micciche, Olson, Shower, Stedman, Stevens, von Imhof, Wielechowski, Wilson